We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in a very expensive town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value in a very expensive town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying the long weekend on July 4th so you can imagine the price of hotels in San Francisco was ridiculous. Buena Vista was a less expensive option in a good location. We walked to the nearby sights of fisherman's wharf, the marina, lombard street etc. Got buses easily enough to places further out.

My minimal requirements for a hotel are 2 queen beds, clean rooms and bathroom, wifi and a neighbourhood i feel safe in. This hotel passed all those requirements. Rooms could definitely do with update but were clean so I was happy.

Positives - wifi, clean spacious rooms, good location, friendly responsive staff, free breakfast (not great but kids liked it)

negatives - key to room played up throughout our stay, breakfast was very very basic (some average pastries and some 'past its best' fruit) and the ice machine outside our door was a little noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing lombard street - we did and I couldn't hear traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Adelaide,

We are happy you felt that we were a good value in San Francisco, With a special thank you for your kind recognition of our staffs hard work. Our breakfast service will be expanded once we have remodeled our Lobby to expand room for our guests.
We strive to give our guests the best service and when our renovations are completed we hope that you may want to return to visit with us again for an even better value.

Best Regards

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    222
    134
    28
    14
See reviews for
114
210
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights, and was happy with the service upon arrival. The hotel is located close to the wharf and only 3.5 miles from the Golden Gate bridge (but take the bus, there is a bus stop close by). Easy to get around SF by public transport, and there are a number of lines passing by close to the hotel. Not much of a breakfast, few number of seats, but the food was ok. Parking may be an issue if you have a larger car like we did (a Ford van), but it worked out fine - free parking is a bonus in SF!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want luxury in San Francisco -- go spend buckets of money on one of the bigger chains. If you want clean, comfortable and friendly this is the place. Reasonably priced, pillows and bed just right and it was pretty quiet too. I left my camera charger & battery in the bathroom and the front desk called before we left town so I could pick it up! Nice!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Terry,

I have to thank you for pointing out how great my staff is. I is nice to be reminded how much they care abut the service they provide. I hope you can visit us again and be pleasantly surprised at what we are doing to make your stay even better.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow GM and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location on the corner of Gough and Lombard. Easy to walk to wide range of restaurants in Union Street or Chestnut Street. Can walk to Fishermans' Wharf in about twenty-five minutes. Own car park is a bonus! Staff enormously friendly and helpful, pleased to give good advice and very welcoming. Breakfast slightly uninspired but better than adequate. Has small top-floor lounge wth view over rooftops to distant Golden Gate bridge, also has outside terrace at same level.
Reception area has had relatively recent make-over, but corridors and bedrooms haven't! Our bedroom badly needed redecorating and much of the making-good where small alterations had been made was amateurish. It was at the back of the building and its window looked out on a blank wall about 8 ft away. As a result, the bedroom was dark. However, there was plenty of space in the room, and plenty of drawer and cupboard space and we didn't go to San Francisco to stay in our room, so the advantages well outweighed the not-so-good bits! Would use again. Definitely!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Since taking over last year we have changed all of the bed, new flat screen TVs' and sound proof windows. We appreciate that our kind guests have been patient while to take care of each new phase of our updating. Our next phase is repairing and painting of the rooms as well as the exterior building. The staff and I thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel has a good location within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the famous zig zag Lombard street. The hop on hop off bus stops outside which is ideal if you don't want to walk. Breakfast was good and plentiful, fresh pastries were brought out regularly. Even though the hotel was basic it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend as a good value place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Beverley,
My staff and I are happy that you found our accommodations and service to your liking. We are undergoing renovations for the Lobby and will upgrade the breakfast as we make more space in the new design. We are continuing our total reservation as our occupancy allow.

Best Regards

Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights whilst exploring San Francisco. Hotel is in a good location to get around, walking distance to fisherman's wharf and the zigzag street on Lombard. The rooms were lovely nice and big . This hotel is ideal for those on a budget and the breakfast in the morning is good as well (the only thing i will say it gets very busy for breakfast so make sure you get down there early). The hotel is a few blocks away from a Mels Diner which was handy to get dinner in the evening. Staff are very helpful. Would definitely stay at this hotel if we ever go back to San Francisco :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Rolemodell,

We are truly blessed to be in one of the premier neighborhoods in San Francisco. Along with being close to the Wharf , we also have many of the finest restaurants within a few minutes walk on Union and Chestnut Streets. Our Union street is one of the favorite local districts with many unique boutique stores for your shopping pleasure.
I am happy you took the time to explore the area.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is situated just a few blocks from the start of fishermans wharf. It's a bit dated in the interior and rooms, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that's near to the tram and Fishermans Wharf then it's ideal. San Francisco hotels can be very expensive but I found this one to be good value for money with plenty of facilities nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you found us a good value for San Francisco. Many of our visitors do not take advantage of the great shopping and dining in the neighborhood which are also just a few minutes away. Fisherman's Wharf is the place that everyone need to see but take some time to visit the great boutiques' on Union Street along with the great restaurants that the locals have cherished for years.

Sincerely.

Andrew andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.