We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So thoughtful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So thoughtful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you want luxury in San Francisco -- go spend buckets of money on one of the bigger chains. If you want clean, comfortable and friendly this is the place. Reasonably priced, pillows and bed just right and it was pretty quiet too. I left my camera charger & battery in the bathroom and the front desk called before we left town so I could pick it up! Nice!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Terry,

I have to thank you for pointing out how great my staff is. I is nice to be reminded how much they care abut the service they provide. I hope you can visit us again and be pleasantly surprised at what we are doing to make your stay even better.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow GM and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    227
    139
    28
    14
See reviews for
116
216
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent location on the corner of Gough and Lombard. Easy to walk to wide range of restaurants in Union Street or Chestnut Street. Can walk to Fishermans' Wharf in about twenty-five minutes. Own car park is a bonus! Staff enormously friendly and helpful, pleased to give good advice and very welcoming. Breakfast slightly uninspired but better than adequate. Has small top-floor lounge wth view over rooftops to distant Golden Gate bridge, also has outside terrace at same level.
Reception area has had relatively recent make-over, but corridors and bedrooms haven't! Our bedroom badly needed redecorating and much of the making-good where small alterations had been made was amateurish. It was at the back of the building and its window looked out on a blank wall about 8 ft away. As a result, the bedroom was dark. However, there was plenty of space in the room, and plenty of drawer and cupboard space and we didn't go to San Francisco to stay in our room, so the advantages well outweighed the not-so-good bits! Would use again. Definitely!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Since taking over last year we have changed all of the bed, new flat screen TVs' and sound proof windows. We appreciate that our kind guests have been patient while to take care of each new phase of our updating. Our next phase is repairing and painting of the rooms as well as the exterior building. The staff and I thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel has a good location within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the famous zig zag Lombard street. The hop on hop off bus stops outside which is ideal if you don't want to walk. Breakfast was good and plentiful, fresh pastries were brought out regularly. Even though the hotel was basic it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend as a good value place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Beverley,
My staff and I are happy that you found our accommodations and service to your liking. We are undergoing renovations for the Lobby and will upgrade the breakfast as we make more space in the new design. We are continuing our total reservation as our occupancy allow.

Best Regards

Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights whilst exploring San Francisco. Hotel is in a good location to get around, walking distance to fisherman's wharf and the zigzag street on Lombard. The rooms were lovely nice and big . This hotel is ideal for those on a budget and the breakfast in the morning is good as well (the only thing i will say it gets very busy for breakfast so make sure you get down there early). The hotel is a few blocks away from a Mels Diner which was handy to get dinner in the evening. Staff are very helpful. Would definitely stay at this hotel if we ever go back to San Francisco :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Rolemodell,

We are truly blessed to be in one of the premier neighborhoods in San Francisco. Along with being close to the Wharf , we also have many of the finest restaurants within a few minutes walk on Union and Chestnut Streets. Our Union street is one of the favorite local districts with many unique boutique stores for your shopping pleasure.
I am happy you took the time to explore the area.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is situated just a few blocks from the start of fishermans wharf. It's a bit dated in the interior and rooms, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that's near to the tram and Fishermans Wharf then it's ideal. San Francisco hotels can be very expensive but I found this one to be good value for money with plenty of facilities nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you found us a good value for San Francisco. Many of our visitors do not take advantage of the great shopping and dining in the neighborhood which are also just a few minutes away. Fisherman's Wharf is the place that everyone need to see but take some time to visit the great boutiques' on Union Street along with the great restaurants that the locals have cherished for years.

Sincerely.

Andrew andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place can be very noisy if you get the room facing the street (our friends stayed there) so be aware. Our room was on the opposite side so no such a problem. Breakfast is quite poor with no place to sit except of the lobby sofa and the staff was not very friendly. Room was very dated but quite big. Free parking is a plus. Would probably choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: No view but quite -219
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you did not find out breakfast service to your liking. We understand that the space is limited but will soon have a new facelift with new furniture and more rooms for guests. Many of our guests are happy to take their breakfast upstairs to our sunroom and observation deck. They also enjoy being able to take it to their rooms where it is more relaxing.
We have just completed sound suppressing windows on the Lombard Street side but due to construction at the Golden Gate Bridge a number of large truck are presently part of our daily life.
For guests who are not city dwellers not used to this kind of noise, we will gladly place them on the back garden side of our property.

Best Regards
Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in two quad rooms. Rooms are a bit dated but were very comfortable. The airconditioner was a blessing because it was a bit warm in Sn Fo when we were there. There was also an ice machine along the hallway which was very helpful.

The staff in the Reception were friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast served in the reception area was made of pastries, coffee, tea and juice. You can just take them and bring them in your room because the area where it is at is really small.

Free parking is great and location of the inn is very strategic to all the touristy places. We walked to the wharf every morning.

This is a really nice inn to stay in Sn Fo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are doing he best that we can for what we have now but very soon will embark on a major updating of the property. With this and our excellent location we will be the excellent value of our neighborhood.

Yours truly.

Andrew Andow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.