We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We're frugal seniors,... We had a clean, large room . Friendly and helpful desk clerks, and great location on the border between Marina District and Fisherman's Wharf. Short walk to Union St. restaurants and shops. Breakfast was limited, with limited eating space.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are noisier, but larger (I believe), but noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    245
    151
    32
    16
See reviews for
128
234
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for 3nights at the end of our honeymoon after travelling up the coast from San Diego. The free parking attracted us initially but also the price of the hotel. It's on Lombard street which is very busy but we were offered a room overlooking the street or at the back with no view. We chose the back and it was really quiet.
It's about a 25 minute walk to fishermans wharf and we found this to be no problem. Coming back was uphill but we found a route which wasn't so steep!
The room was clean and of a good size and shower worked really well.
All in all excellent value for money for San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to explore San Fran and were happy with it generally. I think for the price and location we would of given it 5 stars, but due to the poor breakfast and having nowhere to eat it (foyer only) then we drop it to 4 stars.
We turned up in a Ford Escape and found the parking absolutely fine, there were spaces but I think there's plenty of room to fit a car even when full. The turning circles are a bit tight but much bigger than I was expecting reading some of the reviews.
The rooms were clean, the shower was great and it was about a 25 minute walk to the piers ( a bit further if you want to go to Alcatraz).
There is a tour bus which stops right outside the hotel, though I warn you that we read up on it and the reviews aren't great. Not only that, it's expensive! It also does not run after 6ish so you still have to purchase other means of transport or walk, when you've paid the high price that's not ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The good thing about it was that the parking is free because to park anywhere in San Francisco its a small fortune. We were only there for 2 days so it was ok but the pier and wharf where a hike...they say its close but its about a good 20-25 minute walk ...so the day we went to the wharf, we found a reasonable parking area and left the car there..The room was basic..they have a continental breakfast in the morning which is just muffins, pastries, apples, bananas, orange juice and coffee but if you get there a little late...its all gone!..Lots of europeans there the week we stayed. If we decide to go back, we'll try the Wharf Inn which also has free parking and is closer to all the action..all the other hotels get between $250-$300 a night and the $46 A DAY fee for parking..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was fair hotel for its price, location was good and in walking distance to Fisherman's wharf and not too far from Golden Gate Bridge and city centre. Rooms were spacious and clean.Staff were alson helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As other reviewers have noted this hotel provides free parking for one vehicle which is super convenient for SF. The outside of the hotel is attractive and our room was just as advertised. It was a nice size and had a large bathroom. The furnishings are out of date but the room was clean. The bed was okay. The front desk staff was nice. They also offer continental breakfast of fruit and pastries with good coffee and juice. The location is great - near lots of shops and restaurants and within walking distance of many of San Francisco's tourist spots. We would stay again if wanting to save some money on a hotel room just for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Lombard Street because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Free Parking=major plus. The rooms were pretty nice and clean. The walls were a bit scuffed with black marks from shoes or suit cases, and the paint in the bathroom (because there was no fan to reduce moisture) was pealing/flaking away. Our room faced Lombard, but we didn't have any bother with traffic noise. There is a hop on/hop off bus that stops right outside the hotel. Breakfast was nothing great, but better than nothing at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.