We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Free Parking=major plus. The rooms were pretty nice and clean. The walls were a bit scuffed with black marks from shoes or suit cases, and the paint in the bathroom (because there was no fan to reduce moisture) was pealing/flaking away. Our room faced Lombard, but we didn't have any bother with traffic noise. There is a hop on/hop off bus that stops right outside the hotel. Breakfast was nothing great, but better than nothing at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    277
    167
    36
    16
See reviews for
149
264
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Here are the pluses:
Free parking. Considering its San Francisco that's a great benefit.
Friendly service. The front desk was super helpful in providing us with maps for the area, suggesting places to eat, and just generally answering questions.
Near shops and restaurants. About 10 minutes walking distance to a host of eating places and boutique shops. The location is excellent.
On bus tour route: The Big Bus hop on bus stop is virtually at the door, so great to just purchase your ticket at the front desk and then hop on the bus for a tour of San Francisco.
The downside:
I wouldn't rave about the continental breakfast - pretty limited selection but you do get coffee and juice and some pastries.
The bedroom and bathroom are a little tired and in need of renovation. However, the room is fairly big, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, so that was a plus.

Overall a comfortable stay and good value for money

However, overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

the hotel is very simple, no frills. but the price was right. We didn't rent a car, but if you have a car parking is free (which is a great deal in San Fran). Our bed was a king, comfy enough. Furniture is dated, but if you want "heavenly beds" and modern furniture, you can pay more at a different hotel. Shower was good, water hot. Amenities were sufficient. Windows to the room open, and the rooms have a window a/c unit which worked well. Great coffee in the morning with the complimentary continental breakfast (sweet breads, fruit, coffee, juice). Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean enough (carpet is dated, bring slippers). I'd stay here again if I return. You can't beat the price for the location.

Room Tip: our room faced gough street which was fine. I was so tired from walking I slept hard so I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel end of August 2013. It's reasonably priced. It comes with free continental breakfast and WiFi. Though the hotel is oldish and the room is clean but small, the location is pretty central. The room we had was good as it was not facing Lombard Street. They offer free parking for one car as most hotels in San Francisco charges parking fee. There is a small, nice Chinese Restaurant called Hai Sun on Laguna Street (between Lombard and Greenwich Sts). They do takeaway and dine in. Overall, the hotel is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here with our 14 yr old son and friends who were travelling with their 14 yr old daughter for 3 nights whilst touring California. There was free parking which is a huge bonus in SF and the hotel is very conveniently located in a safe part of town within walking distance of all the main attractions - we did however us the busses which are really easy work out ( we went to the ATA&T stadium (and back) to watch a baseball game on the bus - dead easy and a great night out) and of course we used the trolley cars. The room was large,clean and comfortable but we had one slight problem. We had booked 2 adults and one child via Hotels.com but on arrival we had been allocated a room with a single queen sized bed. Apparently, they don't always get told by Hotels.com that 2 beds are required. When I went back down to reception, the young guy there (Robbie) could not have been more helpful. He immediately sorted out a z-bed for us and that was fine. The inclusive continental style breakfast was great with lots to eat including fresh fruit. We will definitely stay here again if driving to SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

staff unfriendly and inefficient. check in staff gave us room which wasnt clean yet, didnt apologise, etc. there are better hotels on lombard street for same price. we have stayed in those too and would not come back to buena vista again. staff very aloof, wifi didnt work all the time on 3rd floor. lift was a bit wobbly, saw on its sign it was out of date for its service! dodgy! not a terrible place but not great either.

Room Tip: see if you can get a non smoking non lombard street side room. entire 3rd floor stinks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewea, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our front desk agent did not provide you with an apology or more courteous greeting; I have spoken with this agent regarding this issue. I have also addressed the ADA lift you are referring to and have had it repaired to run more smoothly. We just installed a vastly improved WIFI system two weeks ago and was informed that adjustments have been to fix the problem. Having just taken over this property, I truly appreciate your comments so I may make this a better place for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms, nice continental breakfast. Very friendly staff. The only demerits would be the very small parking garage and Lombard Street is very noisy all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#117 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#116 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#125 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#108 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#111 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.