We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Greenville, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“decent hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

the hotel is very simple, no frills. but the price was right. We didn't rent a car, but if you have a car parking is free (which is a great deal in San Fran). Our bed was a king, comfy enough. Furniture is dated, but if you want "heavenly beds" and modern furniture, you can pay more at a different hotel. Shower was good, water hot. Amenities were sufficient. Windows to the room open, and the rooms have a window a/c unit which worked well. Great coffee in the morning with the complimentary continental breakfast (sweet breads, fruit, coffee, juice). Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean enough (carpet is dated, bring slippers). I'd stay here again if I return. You can't beat the price for the location.

Room Tip: our room faced gough street which was fine. I was so tired from walking I slept hard so I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    232
    141
    29
    14
See reviews for
120
220
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel end of August 2013. It's reasonably priced. It comes with free continental breakfast and WiFi. Though the hotel is oldish and the room is clean but small, the location is pretty central. The room we had was good as it was not facing Lombard Street. They offer free parking for one car as most hotels in San Francisco charges parking fee. There is a small, nice Chinese Restaurant called Hai Sun on Laguna Street (between Lombard and Greenwich Sts). They do takeaway and dine in. Overall, the hotel is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here with our 14 yr old son and friends who were travelling with their 14 yr old daughter for 3 nights whilst touring California. There was free parking which is a huge bonus in SF and the hotel is very conveniently located in a safe part of town within walking distance of all the main attractions - we did however us the busses which are really easy work out ( we went to the ATA&T stadium (and back) to watch a baseball game on the bus - dead easy and a great night out) and of course we used the trolley cars. The room was large,clean and comfortable but we had one slight problem. We had booked 2 adults and one child via Hotels.com but on arrival we had been allocated a room with a single queen sized bed. Apparently, they don't always get told by Hotels.com that 2 beds are required. When I went back down to reception, the young guy there (Robbie) could not have been more helpful. He immediately sorted out a z-bed for us and that was fine. The inclusive continental style breakfast was great with lots to eat including fresh fruit. We will definitely stay here again if driving to SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

staff unfriendly and inefficient. check in staff gave us room which wasnt clean yet, didnt apologise, etc. there are better hotels on lombard street for same price. we have stayed in those too and would not come back to buena vista again. staff very aloof, wifi didnt work all the time on 3rd floor. lift was a bit wobbly, saw on its sign it was out of date for its service! dodgy! not a terrible place but not great either.

Room Tip: see if you can get a non smoking non lombard street side room. entire 3rd floor stinks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewea, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our front desk agent did not provide you with an apology or more courteous greeting; I have spoken with this agent regarding this issue. I have also addressed the ADA lift you are referring to and have had it repaired to run more smoothly. We just installed a vastly improved WIFI system two weeks ago and was informed that adjustments have been to fix the problem. Having just taken over this property, I truly appreciate your comments so I may make this a better place for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms, nice continental breakfast. Very friendly staff. The only demerits would be the very small parking garage and Lombard Street is very noisy all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We asked for a view room, and got one on the top floor, with a view of the City. They have a nice breakfast with fruit, danish and cereal, and the room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi, great location on Lombard. Free parking was also appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a view of the bay or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Buena Vista in July and did not use transportation. The hotel was close to many areas of San Francisco which we wanted to see. We walked to Ghirardelli Square, crookedest street on Lombard St and even to Pier 33 for Alcatraz tour. There also was public transportation and tour buses which stopped in front of the hotel. The hotel room and bathroom were large, but had lot of street noise from Lombard. The staff was very helpful with directions and tips.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.