We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Oldish...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice But Oldish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel end of August 2013. It's reasonably priced. It comes with free continental breakfast and WiFi. Though the hotel is oldish and the room is clean but small, the location is pretty central. The room we had was good as it was not facing Lombard Street. They offer free parking for one car as most hotels in San Francisco charges parking fee. There is a small, nice Chinese Restaurant called Hai Sun on Laguna Street (between Lombard and Greenwich Sts). They do takeaway and dine in. Overall, the hotel is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    240
    148
    32
    14
See reviews for
126
230
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here with our 14 yr old son and friends who were travelling with their 14 yr old daughter for 3 nights whilst touring California. There was free parking which is a huge bonus in SF and the hotel is very conveniently located in a safe part of town within walking distance of all the main attractions - we did however us the busses which are really easy work out ( we went to the ATA&T stadium (and back) to watch a baseball game on the bus - dead easy and a great night out) and of course we used the trolley cars. The room was large,clean and comfortable but we had one slight problem. We had booked 2 adults and one child via Hotels.com but on arrival we had been allocated a room with a single queen sized bed. Apparently, they don't always get told by Hotels.com that 2 beds are required. When I went back down to reception, the young guy there (Robbie) could not have been more helpful. He immediately sorted out a z-bed for us and that was fine. The inclusive continental style breakfast was great with lots to eat including fresh fruit. We will definitely stay here again if driving to SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

staff unfriendly and inefficient. check in staff gave us room which wasnt clean yet, didnt apologise, etc. there are better hotels on lombard street for same price. we have stayed in those too and would not come back to buena vista again. staff very aloof, wifi didnt work all the time on 3rd floor. lift was a bit wobbly, saw on its sign it was out of date for its service! dodgy! not a terrible place but not great either.

Room Tip: see if you can get a non smoking non lombard street side room. entire 3rd floor stinks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewea, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our front desk agent did not provide you with an apology or more courteous greeting; I have spoken with this agent regarding this issue. I have also addressed the ADA lift you are referring to and have had it repaired to run more smoothly. We just installed a vastly improved WIFI system two weeks ago and was informed that adjustments have been to fix the problem. Having just taken over this property, I truly appreciate your comments so I may make this a better place for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms, nice continental breakfast. Very friendly staff. The only demerits would be the very small parking garage and Lombard Street is very noisy all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We asked for a view room, and got one on the top floor, with a view of the City. They have a nice breakfast with fruit, danish and cereal, and the room was clean and comfortable. Free wifi, great location on Lombard. Free parking was also appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a view of the bay or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Buena Vista in July and did not use transportation. The hotel was close to many areas of San Francisco which we wanted to see. We walked to Ghirardelli Square, crookedest street on Lombard St and even to Pier 33 for Alcatraz tour. There also was public transportation and tour buses which stopped in front of the hotel. The hotel room and bathroom were large, but had lot of street noise from Lombard. The staff was very helpful with directions and tips.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonbeach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you are in a city the location of your hotel is of paramount importance. We not only had a very convenient central location but free car parking for our four day visit to San Francisco. Using public transport made this hotel ideal as the Big Bus stop is right outside the front door, plus the public bus passes by regularly. Union Street around the corner has great restaurants and it is about 15 minutes from Fishermans Wharf.
The hotel itself is old and somewhat tired but we found our room at the back away from Lombard Street suited us as it was quiet and it had all the basic requirements. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had two queen beds with a desk area plus coffee making facilities so we had plenty of space.

Room Tip: We were given a choice... Front rooms on Lombard St sunnier but noisy so we decided on back room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.