We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Bonbeach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you are in a city the location of your hotel is of paramount importance. We not only had a very convenient central location but free car parking for our four day visit to San Francisco. Using public transport made this hotel ideal as the Big Bus stop is right outside the front door, plus the public bus passes by regularly. Union Street around the corner has great restaurants and it is about 15 minutes from Fishermans Wharf.
The hotel itself is old and somewhat tired but we found our room at the back away from Lombard Street suited us as it was quiet and it had all the basic requirements. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had two queen beds with a desk area plus coffee making facilities so we had plenty of space.

Room Tip: We were given a choice... Front rooms on Lombard St sunnier but noisy so we decided on back room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    222
    135
    28
    14
See reviews for
114
210
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I do not smoke and requested a room for non-smokers.
The first thing that I did not like my room smelled of cigarettes.
The second the pillows are not very comfortable, cheap.
The third - garage was very small and very difficult to park .
If you come back late then you are left with no space for parking!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Me, hubby and our 13 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our journey around the West Coast and had a pleasant stay at this hotel.
We stayed on the second floor which had a small dining area and outside patio.
The room was a bit on the small side but had everything we needed and was clean.
Location is great. It is at the bottom of Lombard street so you go straight up the giant mountain of a hill to the crooked street. If you're able I would recommend trying to walk up and down this at least once - it is hilarious! We went on a city tour which picked us up outside our hotel, saw a few buses that done that.
Everything is in blocks and so easy to use the map from this hotel. We walked to 'Little Italy', 'Chinatown', 'Japantown' and Fishermans Wharf/Pier 39.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Breakfast is pastries, coffee and bananas/apples. Lovely pastries but may be nice to have cereal as an option too?
We were able to find a parking space although the reviews are right, they are tight. We had a Jeep Liberty and was able to find and fit into a space though so not too bad.
Only negative would be that the hairdryer in our hotel room didn't work. We mentioned it to the reception who allowed me to use one from another (vacant I might add) room which was great, but the hairdryer wasn't fixed during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

For San Francisco, this motel was a good deal. It was within walking distance to the waterfront, affordable, and in a safe neighborhood. The room was clean, and service was very good. Our granddaughter enjoyed the pastries at the continental breakfast every morning (there's no room the lobby, but we bought them back to the room). There is free parking underneath the building, which we really appreciated especially when we noticed that nearby motels were charging extra for parking. There were many European visitors, and they seemed to also think this was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastad, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really nice place. The room was big enough for us 3. The price, clean room, free parking, free wifi and safe area and also the nearness to the Wharf area make our decision to certainly recommend and even go back some time. Well the breakfast was not what we wanted but there are good breakfast places nearby.

Room Tip: there is a view place on top of the hotel, nice view to the "Gate"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this is just a cute old, but very clean and accommodating little inn on Lombard street. It is very well located and close to most things you would want to visit/do. parking is free!!!!, even though limited, but it's a nice perk. there is a coffee shop and restaurant within one and two blocks. different tour buses stop right at the inn. would stay again on our next trip. one of the best priced in the city (most are very expensive).

Room Tip: All rooms would be good, just book well ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANCHO PALOS VERDES
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked four nights at the Buena Vista Motor Inn as a short little family vacation. I had previously stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn (sister property), but unable to get the room type this trip. Our room was a bit dated, but ok. Parking, which is included, was a bit difficult with the layout of the garage (two levels, minimal/tight spaces). Our room had an air conditioning unit that would blow hot air. We asked to move rooms after the first night and thank goodness they took care of us! The breakfast is juice, coffee, apples/bananas, and pastries. Good enough to get you to lunch time. It's about a twenty minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, short walk to the famous Lombard tourist street, and a block away from the bus to take you over to Chinatown. Front desk was pleasant. The big concern is parking, yes, it's available, but very difficult to maneuver in and out. Not exactly an inexpensive stay, but I guess for San Francisco, it's reasonable...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.