We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Bonbeach
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When you are in a city the location of your hotel is of paramount importance. We not only had a very convenient central location but free car parking for our four day visit to San Francisco. Using public transport made this hotel ideal as the Big Bus stop is right outside the front door, plus the public bus passes by regularly. Union Street around the corner has great restaurants and it is about 15 minutes from Fishermans Wharf.
The hotel itself is old and somewhat tired but we found our room at the back away from Lombard Street suited us as it was quiet and it had all the basic requirements. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had two queen beds with a desk area plus coffee making facilities so we had plenty of space.

Room Tip: We were given a choice... Front rooms on Lombard St sunnier but noisy so we decided on back room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I do not smoke and requested a room for non-smokers.
The first thing that I did not like my room smelled of cigarettes.
The second the pillows are not very comfortable, cheap.
The third - garage was very small and very difficult to park .
If you come back late then you are left with no space for parking!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalinaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Me, hubby and our 13 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our journey around the West Coast and had a pleasant stay at this hotel.
We stayed on the second floor which had a small dining area and outside patio.
The room was a bit on the small side but had everything we needed and was clean.
Location is great. It is at the bottom of Lombard street so you go straight up the giant mountain of a hill to the crooked street. If you're able I would recommend trying to walk up and down this at least once - it is hilarious! We went on a city tour which picked us up outside our hotel, saw a few buses that done that.
Everything is in blocks and so easy to use the map from this hotel. We walked to 'Little Italy', 'Chinatown', 'Japantown' and Fishermans Wharf/Pier 39.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Breakfast is pastries, coffee and bananas/apples. Lovely pastries but may be nice to have cereal as an option too?
We were able to find a parking space although the reviews are right, they are tight. We had a Jeep Liberty and was able to find and fit into a space though so not too bad.
Only negative would be that the hairdryer in our hotel room didn't work. We mentioned it to the reception who allowed me to use one from another (vacant I might add) room which was great, but the hairdryer wasn't fixed during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

For San Francisco, this motel was a good deal. It was within walking distance to the waterfront, affordable, and in a safe neighborhood. The room was clean, and service was very good. Our granddaughter enjoyed the pastries at the continental breakfast every morning (there's no room the lobby, but we bought them back to the room). There is free parking underneath the building, which we really appreciated especially when we noticed that nearby motels were charging extra for parking. There were many European visitors, and they seemed to also think this was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vabeachgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastad, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really nice place. The room was big enough for us 3. The price, clean room, free parking, free wifi and safe area and also the nearness to the Wharf area make our decision to certainly recommend and even go back some time. Well the breakfast was not what we wanted but there are good breakfast places nearby.

Room Tip: there is a view place on top of the hotel, nice view to the "Gate"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123CIB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this is just a cute old, but very clean and accommodating little inn on Lombard street. It is very well located and close to most things you would want to visit/do. parking is free!!!!, even though limited, but it's a nice perk. there is a coffee shop and restaurant within one and two blocks. different tour buses stop right at the inn. would stay again on our next trip. one of the best priced in the city (most are very expensive).

Room Tip: All rooms would be good, just book well ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANCHO PALOS VERDES
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked four nights at the Buena Vista Motor Inn as a short little family vacation. I had previously stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn (sister property), but unable to get the room type this trip. Our room was a bit dated, but ok. Parking, which is included, was a bit difficult with the layout of the garage (two levels, minimal/tight spaces). Our room had an air conditioning unit that would blow hot air. We asked to move rooms after the first night and thank goodness they took care of us! The breakfast is juice, coffee, apples/bananas, and pastries. Good enough to get you to lunch time. It's about a twenty minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, short walk to the famous Lombard tourist street, and a block away from the bus to take you over to Chinatown. Front desk was pleasant. The big concern is parking, yes, it's available, but very difficult to maneuver in and out. Not exactly an inexpensive stay, but I guess for San Francisco, it's reasonable...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#121 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#82 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#76 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#127 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#123 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#17 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing