We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Bastad, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really nice place. The room was big enough for us 3. The price, clean room, free parking, free wifi and safe area and also the nearness to the Wharf area make our decision to certainly recommend and even go back some time. Well the breakfast was not what we wanted but there are good breakfast places nearby.

Room Tip: there is a view place on top of the hotel, nice view to the "Gate"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    237
    144
    30
    14
See reviews for
124
224
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this is just a cute old, but very clean and accommodating little inn on Lombard street. It is very well located and close to most things you would want to visit/do. parking is free!!!!, even though limited, but it's a nice perk. there is a coffee shop and restaurant within one and two blocks. different tour buses stop right at the inn. would stay again on our next trip. one of the best priced in the city (most are very expensive).

Room Tip: All rooms would be good, just book well ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANCHO PALOS VERDES
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked four nights at the Buena Vista Motor Inn as a short little family vacation. I had previously stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn (sister property), but unable to get the room type this trip. Our room was a bit dated, but ok. Parking, which is included, was a bit difficult with the layout of the garage (two levels, minimal/tight spaces). Our room had an air conditioning unit that would blow hot air. We asked to move rooms after the first night and thank goodness they took care of us! The breakfast is juice, coffee, apples/bananas, and pastries. Good enough to get you to lunch time. It's about a twenty minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, short walk to the famous Lombard tourist street, and a block away from the bus to take you over to Chinatown. Front desk was pleasant. The big concern is parking, yes, it's available, but very difficult to maneuver in and out. Not exactly an inexpensive stay, but I guess for San Francisco, it's reasonable...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had prebooked a two night stay at the Buena Vista as part of our road trip around California. We had read reviews on Tripadvisor, and felt pretty confident it would suit us, and it did. We had booked a two queen bed room with breakfast.

We arrived mid morning as we wanted to get a full day sightseeing in, and we didn't expect to be able to check in, but our room was ready and they let us. Excellent service. So we parked up in the main car park on Lombard Street, which is free. This is a real bonus as parking in San Francisco is very expensive. The car park is on different levels with the entrance on Lombard St, we found a sopace on ground level, stuck it in a space and as we didn't need to use it during our stay that was that. Secure and free, smashing!

On going up to our room we were happy enough with it. There were two queen beds with enough pillows, enough wardrobe space, but not enough hangers, a separate bathroom with shower and plenty of towels. Yes the decor is tired, and the view was non existant, but we hadn't come to San Francisco to stay in the room looking at the walls. The room was clean, airy with a good air conditioning unit, and tea and coffee making facilities. The location was great for us, near to reataurants, bus route and, crucially, convenient for a walk down to the piers, 39 in particular. It was also a short walk to the 'crooked' section of Lombard St with it's hairpin turns and beautiful flower displays, well worth a visit. Don't forget though that San Francisco is hilly and the walks whilst not long can be quite hard work, so if you don't want that you might want to consider another hotel. For us it was fine. We had also booked a tour of San Francisco combined with a trip to Alcatraz and the hotel is on their list of pickups, so we were picked up right oputside the front door which was great. We had a comfortable quiet night in the hotel, and the breakfast of cakes, juice and tea/coffee was fine. Just note that this is served in front of the reception area, is quite small with a few seats. We were lucky and got a seat both mornings, but it wouldn't take many people to fill it. We were perfectly content with our stay and would recommend it for the reasons I have stated.

Room Tip: Good value because of the location and the free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place to stay in San Francisco. You can walk a few blocks to Fisherman's Wharf, shorter to cable cars, and the world's crookedest street is just up the road.
The room was large and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with local restaurant choices. After reading a few other reviews I was slightly concerned about the parking. This turned out to be no problem. The parking garage had two areas and if you had an issue finding a spot the front desk asked to let them know and they would handle your parking. It was no tighter then any other big city parking garage but we're from the east coast so maybe it's considered a tight squeeze locally in SF. Continental breakfast here is the norm of most US motels, pastries, coffee, OJ, tea and fresh fruit from 7-10am. Our room was clean quiet and was very comfortable, the bath was updated and the shower was strong. Great place to stay in the Marina area of SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wasnt expecting much but was OK i suppose.

As i kind of knew what i was getting myself into i was prepared for the hotel.

Great location and free parking with a pastry breakfast and a cup of coffee in the morning.

The person that checked us in had a terrible personality not that he was rude or anything just not engaging or friendly. However the other person that we delt with at reception was friendly i think he was the manager cause he seemed to care a little bit more.

The room smelled of stale smoke and was a little dated. the sheets of the bed actually had cigarette holes burned in it and the carpet was very old i wouldnt be walking around in my bear feet on it anyway

we had a smoking room which none of us smoke im nit actually sure if there is a non smoking room because every corridor smelt of smoke

we ended up just spraying deodorant to mask the smell every day as leaving the window open was not an option due to the noise from the street

also the air-conditioner unit is really noisy we didnt use it as was not that warm but if you did need to use it you would not be able to sleep with the noise of it

We just put up with it as the price was right parking was free and location was good.

If money was not as tight as it is i would stay well away from this place.

Room Tip: If there is a non smoking room request it as the place stinks of smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Checky 88,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time of writing a comment about your stay. We are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations. We are going through a lot of changes at the moment and are working on improving the service at the Buena Vista Motor Inn. All the details that you pointed out regarding housekeeping have been addressed, thank you for letting us know.
We would be very glad if you were willing to give us another chance next time you stay in San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfddfl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout stay. Location was within reasonable walking distance of several attractions. Open Top Bus tour stops directly in front of hotel lobby. Room was clean and suitable for family. Stayed in a Lombard St. side room. Some traffic noise early in the evening but definitely nothing to prevent a nights sleep. Safety and Security was not an issue during our stay. Lobby and breakfast area is small but adequate for the limited time we spent in the hotel. The interior finishes could use some work and updates. WiFi worked well. Parking was tight for larger vehicles but free! Would definitely consider staying again on future trips to SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.