We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
lfddfl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout stay. Location was within reasonable walking distance of several attractions. Open Top Bus tour stops directly in front of hotel lobby. Room was clean and suitable for family. Stayed in a Lombard St. side room. Some traffic noise early in the evening but definitely nothing to prevent a nights sleep. Safety and Security was not an issue during our stay. Lobby and breakfast area is small but adequate for the limited time we spent in the hotel. The interior finishes could use some work and updates. WiFi worked well. Parking was tight for larger vehicles but free! Would definitely consider staying again on future trips to SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    264
    160
    33
    16
See reviews for
141
249
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a very nice clean motel with parking space, which is a must in San Francisco since the parking is so expensive! the motel also give FREE wifi and a complimentary breakfast! I would highly recommend this motel to anyone that wants somewhere decent at a good location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear YRS55,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review about the Buena Vista Motor Inn. Our goal is to help our customer having the best stay possible, we are very happy that you liked our hotel and all the amenities we offer including Free Parking and Free Breakfast.
Please let us know if you ever plan to come back to San Francisco, we would be more than happy to accommodate you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best thing here was easy walking to cable car, Fisherman's Wharf. Room could have been cleaner but bed was very comfy. We did get a parking space w/ our room but WOW - tight quarters! We didn't move the car during our stay for fear of not having a space to use on our return. I guess by San Fran prices, it was a good value. Breakfast was just pastries, beverages, apples/bananas. And only available at 7am. Not early enough for an east coaster that just got in the afternoon before!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Easy to find on Lombard St (highway 101) and conveniently located for walking to many of the cities attractions. Also a stop out front for hop on/hop off tourist buses. We had a non street facing room which is recommended although friends using earplugs in street facing room had no major problem with street noise. Place is showing its age but everything clean and tidy and in working order. Room is a good size. Free wifi worked well and while no laundry, nearby laundrette (one block away) was good. Parking is entered off Lombard Street, 2 levels with separate entrances. It was a bit tight for my larger SUV but worked out OK. Could improve quality of towels, many showing age and over stay, 2 towels developed tears/holes in them while being used. Breakfast very basic with pastries, muffins and fresh fruit. No refrigerator in room but ice available. Location worked for us with 3 block walk to Union St and its bars, shops and restaurants, walking to Fishermans Wharf took 20mins, Alcatraz wharf 30 mins and 30mins to Washington Sq. Overall we had a comfortable stay but place needs some TLC and would not be my first choice if returning to San Francisco.

Room Tip: ask for room that doesn't face Lombard St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Considering the location and how inexpensive the rate was, this was a great place to stay. Not much of a breakfast but that was ok, because we already knew that due to the review. Walking distance to Golden Gate Bridge, Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Finding two rooms together in San Francisco, on a June weekend was tough unless we wanted to pay multiple hundreds of dollars a night. The booking agent helped me find a place and this one was the only one left in the area we needed to be in, near the wharf.
She requested neighboring rooms as we needed two for our number of guests. That didn't happen though we were only a few doors away. Still, they had plenty of time to accommodate our request and were originally booked on different floors. So much for honoring a request...
We got a room on the side of the bldg with a very close neighbor who decided that this was the night for a noisy get together on their small deck area. Went well past midnight and they might as well have been in the room with us... The room was cramped and old. All aspects of it were old and worn. Paint job was crappy, peeling patches, bed mattress was noisy, even! Scrunch,scrunch all night long. Traffic echoed through the space between bldgs. Bathroom is not well vented so you immediately have a sauna taking a shower and cannot get dry in there or see yourself in the bathroom mirror.
Parking was quite cramped, though it was free and in the ground and basement levels of the building.
The bill was over three hundred dollars for two rooms taxes, etc included. Not worth it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a back room on the west side, away from both cross streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed here for a week 30th april - 6th may, recpetion staff were ignorant and didnt speak when they saw you, the hotel smelt musty and is very old and dated, even after a shower you didnt feel clean, breaksfast was of very poor standard, we went else where for ours, hubby went to use a towel and it was all holey, decor is poor not welcoming at all, good location tho, wish i had checked on trip adviser before booking this, cos i wouldnt of gone near it. ONE WORD, AVOID!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience, We are sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and be certain that some actions have been taken. Our staff is usually friendly and helpful but it seems that it wasn’t the case during your stay, I would like to apologize for the service that was given to you, rest assured that some corrections have been done and our training will continue to reach the best costumer service possible. The towels are checked when washed and you shouldn’t have found a damaged in your room, this issue has been addressed as well with the housekeeping team. We are currently working on the betterment of our breakfast and hope we will find the right formula to please the biggest number.
We would really appreciate to have another chance to show you what The Buena Vista Motor Inn is about, please contact me next time you plan to stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.