We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word, AVOID!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
wiltshire england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“one word, AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed here for a week 30th april - 6th may, recpetion staff were ignorant and didnt speak when they saw you, the hotel smelt musty and is very old and dated, even after a shower you didnt feel clean, breaksfast was of very poor standard, we went else where for ours, hubby went to use a towel and it was all holey, decor is poor not welcoming at all, good location tho, wish i had checked on trip adviser before booking this, cos i wouldnt of gone near it. ONE WORD, AVOID!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience, We are sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and be certain that some actions have been taken. Our staff is usually friendly and helpful but it seems that it wasn’t the case during your stay, I would like to apologize for the service that was given to you, rest assured that some corrections have been done and our training will continue to reach the best costumer service possible. The towels are checked when washed and you shouldn’t have found a damaged in your room, this issue has been addressed as well with the housekeeping team. We are currently working on the betterment of our breakfast and hope we will find the right formula to please the biggest number.
We would really appreciate to have another chance to show you what The Buena Vista Motor Inn is about, please contact me next time you plan to stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    290
    168
    40
    16
See reviews for
112
207
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The only reason we booked here was for the parking as we were on a roadtrip. For some reason one of the car parks was shut (think they were decorating) There were only 2 disabled spaces left so we went and asked where to park. The guy at the front desk was very unhelpful, but told us to park in the shaded area in a tight corner. We did as we were told, but felt uneasy about this. The next day 2 cars had completely blocked us in, good job we weren't needing the car until the next day. Thank goodness that the other car park appeared to open that day as we were no longer blocked in.

Check-in was OK- the guy seemed disinterested and had no customer service skills whatsoever. He obviously did not want to be there. Not a good start to our San Fan.

Our room was OK- dated but relatively clean and comfortable. The location was good right on Lombard street and 10 minutes walk from Fishermans wharf. Was good that we could have coffee or orange juice and some pastries in the foyer for breakfast. Very basic but did the job.

We had an OK stay in the end, but they could make the hotel so much better with some improvements and if they hired staff who actually care then that would make the experience so much better for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice hotel located on Lombard Street.
Easy to reach by car to the main sights of San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street convoluted, Telegraph Hill, Golden Gate Bridge, etc.).
Indoor parking is also free for hotel guests.
There is free internet in rooms with good signal.
Rooms are clean and equipped with television and ironing set.
Reasonable price.

No fridge in the rooms.
Breakfast is poor and consists of coffee, cakes, fruit and juice only.
Breakfast is served in the lobby and you can eat sitting on the couches in the lobby (if they are not busy).
If there is no room in the lobby, you can take the elevator to the third floor and eat a small dining room.
If you want to take something more to eat, you will have to take the elevator down to the lobby and then go up again to the third floor.

Room Tip: Better to choose the rooms facing south backyard. Northern rooms facing the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve the breakfast in the limited space we have in the hotel. I hope on your next visit that you will find some improvements in thebreakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our primary reason for staying at the Buena Vista was to get a suite for our family of 5 and the fact that the parking was free. We were very disappointed in the room which was old, outdated and not clean. We decided to stay because everyone was exhausted from traveling and the car was parked - very tight parking spots.
The first night was spent laying awake in bed with the upstairs patrons making so much noise you could not sleep. In the morning my daughter woke up with a bit on her body. I looked at it and thought it was probably just a spider bite so we ignored it.
The staff was not very helpful in directing you around a city that is very difficult to locate attractions if you are not familiar with the area.
The last morning we quickly got ready and left. My daughter had tons of bites, followed by myself and our 2 yr old. The bites got worse and we came home trying to prevent this from entering our house but we have still been dealing with the bites almost 2 months later.

Room Tip: The rooms are very noisy from the road traffic all night long but found it to be a comfort over hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are sincerely sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Here at Buena Vista Motor Inn we take that kind of matter very seriously, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that the room you stayed in was fully inspected by a professional exterminator as was the rest of our property. Our hotel is inspected on a regular bais and our employees are constantly on the lookout for unwanted pests.

Once again, we are sorry and if you are ever in San Francisco again, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lombard street is a good location for sightseeing in the bay area. Either by car or walking fisherman's wharf is an easy fun walk. By car Muir Woods is great as is a drive to Tiburon. Take a day out and drive to Carmel.
Hotel is clean, well run with free parking and good rooms. Breakfast is a bit of a basic affair but roof terrace is fun to look at Golden Gate Bridge. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The prime reason for staying here is the free parking and the location. The place is old and need s a rehab. Beds are comfortable and breakfast is o.k. at best. Given the price and the location we would stay again if necessary. Staff was fairly friendly and were helpful when asked specific questions, the offered nothing without a direct question. Was adequate for our needs and nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was chosen because of it's free parking which is valued 30-40 USD a day (parking in San Francisco is very expensive!)
Ignore Breakfast- although it's included in the price it is not good (the best thing actually is the banana)
Across the street is a bus station apart from this the location is not very good.
We had a suitק (2 rooms) with 2 large king size beds and microwave which was very comfortable.
The air condition was very noisy.

Room Tip: choose the suitק
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your input. We always value your opinion. Most guests find the breakfast a good start for the day, those who do not we offer a package that includes a hot breakfast. We check the air conditioner regularly, I apologize that you was noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.