We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our primary reason for staying at the Buena Vista was to get a suite for our family of 5 and the fact that the parking was free. We were very disappointed in the room which was old, outdated and not clean. We decided to stay because everyone was exhausted from traveling and the car was parked - very tight parking spots.
The first night was spent laying awake in bed with the upstairs patrons making so much noise you could not sleep. In the morning my daughter woke up with a bit on her body. I looked at it and thought it was probably just a spider bite so we ignored it.
The staff was not very helpful in directing you around a city that is very difficult to locate attractions if you are not familiar with the area.
The last morning we quickly got ready and left. My daughter had tons of bites, followed by myself and our 2 yr old. The bites got worse and we came home trying to prevent this from entering our house but we have still been dealing with the bites almost 2 months later.

Room Tip: The rooms are very noisy from the road traffic all night long but found it to be a comfort over hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are sincerely sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Here at Buena Vista Motor Inn we take that kind of matter very seriously, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that the room you stayed in was fully inspected by a professional exterminator as was the rest of our property. Our hotel is inspected on a regular bais and our employees are constantly on the lookout for unwanted pests.

Once again, we are sorry and if you are ever in San Francisco again, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    241
    148
    32
    14
See reviews for
127
230
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lombard street is a good location for sightseeing in the bay area. Either by car or walking fisherman's wharf is an easy fun walk. By car Muir Woods is great as is a drive to Tiburon. Take a day out and drive to Carmel.
Hotel is clean, well run with free parking and good rooms. Breakfast is a bit of a basic affair but roof terrace is fun to look at Golden Gate Bridge. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The prime reason for staying here is the free parking and the location. The place is old and need s a rehab. Beds are comfortable and breakfast is o.k. at best. Given the price and the location we would stay again if necessary. Staff was fairly friendly and were helpful when asked specific questions, the offered nothing without a direct question. Was adequate for our needs and nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was chosen because of it's free parking which is valued 30-40 USD a day (parking in San Francisco is very expensive!)
Ignore Breakfast- although it's included in the price it is not good (the best thing actually is the banana)
Across the street is a bus station apart from this the location is not very good.
We had a suitק (2 rooms) with 2 large king size beds and microwave which was very comfortable.
The air condition was very noisy.

Room Tip: choose the suitק
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your input. We always value your opinion. Most guests find the breakfast a good start for the day, those who do not we offer a package that includes a hot breakfast. We check the air conditioner regularly, I apologize that you was noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Value for money. Clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. Great location for exploring the City, near Fisherman's Wharf but Downtown is easily walkable. Breakfast limited but ok. Highly recommended for anyone staying on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Terrible place. Smells Like a nursing home. Looks like one. Staff act like they work in one.

Room was decent size. Dated but functional. Bed was awful...mattress was on its last legs and we were unable to sleep. The room door didn't close fully unless you jammed it hard.
Shower decent but shower curtain didn't fit so water goes all over the floor.

Staff... Well, I asked how long it would take to walk to pier 39. 40 min he told me. Then said he wasn't sure. Ten said he wasn't really from here / or new? When asked a question he gave a lethargic stare and mumbled some half baked answer. Left him alone after that and we navigated our way around SF without motels assistance. Car parking is very tight!

Wireless works well.

Breakfast...few cakes/ pasties and coffee and juice. Okay affair.

The motel is conveniently placed but there are many others on the same road.
Poor customer service, awful decor & condition & smells literally like a nursing home.

AVOID.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We make every effort to keep the hotel fresh. We regret you found such bad smell. We are replacing the beds with more comfortable beds. Our staff is known as friendly and helpful, unfortunately the clerks you encounterd was new..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

2 night stay at this hotel
clean but older hotel
well located, just a few blocks from Crookedest street in the world
few restaurants nearby
Continental breakfast, fresh pastries, fruits,cereal, juice, coffee and tea
courteous and helpful staff
onsite parking, very convenient
nice view from rooftop

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.