We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buena Vista Motor Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Buena Vista Motor Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The prime reason for staying here is the free parking and the location. The place is old and need s a rehab. Beds are comfortable and breakfast is o.k. at best. Given the price and the location we would stay again if necessary. Staff was fairly friendly and were helpful when asked specific questions, the offered nothing without a direct question. Was adequate for our needs and nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    264
    160
    33
    16
See reviews for
141
249
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was chosen because of it's free parking which is valued 30-40 USD a day (parking in San Francisco is very expensive!)
Ignore Breakfast- although it's included in the price it is not good (the best thing actually is the banana)
Across the street is a bus station apart from this the location is not very good.
We had a suitק (2 rooms) with 2 large king size beds and microwave which was very comfortable.
The air condition was very noisy.

Room Tip: choose the suitק
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your input. We always value your opinion. Most guests find the breakfast a good start for the day, those who do not we offer a package that includes a hot breakfast. We check the air conditioner regularly, I apologize that you was noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Value for money. Clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. Great location for exploring the City, near Fisherman's Wharf but Downtown is easily walkable. Breakfast limited but ok. Highly recommended for anyone staying on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Terrible place. Smells Like a nursing home. Looks like one. Staff act like they work in one.

Room was decent size. Dated but functional. Bed was awful...mattress was on its last legs and we were unable to sleep. The room door didn't close fully unless you jammed it hard.
Shower decent but shower curtain didn't fit so water goes all over the floor.

Staff... Well, I asked how long it would take to walk to pier 39. 40 min he told me. Then said he wasn't sure. Ten said he wasn't really from here / or new? When asked a question he gave a lethargic stare and mumbled some half baked answer. Left him alone after that and we navigated our way around SF without motels assistance. Car parking is very tight!

Wireless works well.

Breakfast...few cakes/ pasties and coffee and juice. Okay affair.

The motel is conveniently placed but there are many others on the same road.
Poor customer service, awful decor & condition & smells literally like a nursing home.

AVOID.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We make every effort to keep the hotel fresh. We regret you found such bad smell. We are replacing the beds with more comfortable beds. Our staff is known as friendly and helpful, unfortunately the clerks you encounterd was new..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

2 night stay at this hotel
clean but older hotel
well located, just a few blocks from Crookedest street in the world
few restaurants nearby
Continental breakfast, fresh pastries, fruits,cereal, juice, coffee and tea
courteous and helpful staff
onsite parking, very convenient
nice view from rooftop

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Buena Vista is comfortable, and clean, and the front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The free parking is a total bonus for this area of San Fran, and we found that the breakfasts were simple but more than adequate, with fresh fruit, good coffee and a a variety of pastries every morning . There is a sun terrace which has a great skyline view of san fran and the golden gate bridge, and its within easy walking distance of the bay and fishermans wharf - in fact we walked everywhere from here. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are lighter. Those at the back of the hotel are quieter as are away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Were able to walk to restaurants and the waterfront. The employees were helpful and friendly. I will probably stay there again next time I get to San Francisco. The breakfast was not really healthy but it was not bad. Some fruit but mostly donuts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.