We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
“Great service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms were clean and the front desk agent was extremely helpful with directions, attractions, etc. He was super friendly. We left a shirt behind and he immediately called us. Super nice to know they are so trustworthy. The only downfall is that there isn't a view from the room. But it's a great prices hotel and a good location.

Stayed January 2016
Helpful?
Thank KaylaD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for two reason. The price was very good and plus they had FREE parking. Most hotels in SF are $40-$90 a night to park your car.

Buena Vista was a quick Uber or cab ride to most of the places we planned on seeing or eating at. If the places were further away, we drove our rental car, then came back to hotel and parked for free. Parking is horrible in San Fran.

Our room was clean and staff was very friendly. The morning breakfast bar had quite a nice selection for a hotel.

Would defiantly stay here in future visits.

  • Stayed October 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Buena Vista Inn during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Buena Vista offers free covered parking, free continental breakfast and great views of the city from the rooftop terrace and sunroom. It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was awesome! It was two rooms. First room had a tv, fridge, microwave, table and chairs, love seat (pull out bed), a murphy bed, desk and two chairs for relaxing. The second room had two comfy queen beds and the bathroom. This hotel room was spacious, affordable and comfortable along with great views. We could see the Golden gate bridge from our window. You can hear the traffic, but to me that is part of the charm of the city life. It actually lulled me to sleep. The location was good. The crooked street on Lombard was a 15 min. walk and there are plenty of dining places within walking distance as well. You can catch the muni just a block away. This hotel is also part of the hop on hop off tours. The staff was really nice here. I love the fresh pastries for breakfast and they also had fresh fruit and yogurt, coffee, juice etc. My favorite was the rooftop terrace where you could look out over the city.

Room Tip: Room 203 was a suite with views of the city, close to elevator, slight street sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JdyJdyJdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Buena Vista Inn for your next stay in San Francisco.

Warm regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Stayed at the Buena Vista for two nights with two friends while on a road trip along the PCH. The Buena Vista is a good budget option offering free parking and basic breakfast in what is an expensive city. Location was good, easy for us to find as we came into San Francisco over the Golden Gate Bridge and directly onto Lombard Street. Our room was compact but clean and modern. We had a rollaway bed which was extremely uncomfortable because of a very thin inadequate mattress, however for the second night of our stay we requested an extra mattress and this was a great improvement. Breakfast was basic but OK - we chose to eat in the 3rd floor roof terrace area which was preferable to eating in a fairly crowded foyer. Great views from the terrace.

Good shopping and restaurants along Union Street which is only a short (if a little steep!) walk away.

  • Stayed September 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talulah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

Check in staff were friendly and helpful.Room ( No 219 ) did'nt have a great view...it was the next building but was clean and comfortable and the air con worked,its also more away from the main road so little quieter too.
Big Bus tours stop directly outside but Fishermans wharf is only a 20 min walk away if you are able and the neighbourhood feels very safe.
If you come out of the front entrance turn left and walk up approx 2 blocks there are several bars/restaurants where we found some nice places to eat and have a couple of drinks again felt perfectly safe walking about the area.
A continental breakfast is served 7 - 10am
We booked this hotel because of the price/location and the fact it has private bathrooms....there seems to be a lot of places that do shared bathrooms at the mid to lower priced range.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back much quieter...busy road and traffic noise starts early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Buena Vista Inn during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Considering the hotel is a "2 star" establishment, our stay was pleasant. The front desk staff was very friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was reasonably clean and the air-conditioner worked. Our friends room did not have air-conditioning that worked and it also had some type a rodent trap. Both rooms had a view of the building next-door that you could actually touch. I would suggest to pass on the "free breakfast and go across the street to "Golo Café". For a sports weekend with the guys the place was OK.

Stayed September 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shreder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Dear Shredder,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately as we are sold out we rent the rooms that are to the side adjoining apartment to the last guests to arrive. Actually many guest prefer these rooms because they are the quietest in the hotel.
I am sorry that your friends air conditioner was not working. We have replaced it with a new unit as it could not be repaired. We also had to replace the control box that you may have thought was a rodent trap but happily we have never had that problem hereI am also happy you found Golo's Café such a good choice over our continental breakfast. Some people like myself need the bacon, ham and eggs for breakfast and Golo's is although a hole in the wall has some of the best reviews in the city.
We would be happy to serve you the next time you visit again.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights here in August. We chose the Bona Vista because it offered free under covering parking, but were happy with our choice all round.
We had room 120 at the back of the hotel overlooking the little yard/garden. Although the rooms are a bit small they are very clean and comfy and well serviced.
We were able to go down the back stairs and exit the hotel from a gate at the side of the building too which was handy. There is also a deck & sitting area up on the roof if you just want to relax.
There are snack machines, drink machines & ice machines available on various floors and a few nice deli's within walking distance.
Breakfast is provided in the front foyer area each morning and is a welcome surprise to most of the places we have stayed where you get nothing or you pay extra.
There is a stop for the Hop on/Hop of bus directly out the front of the hotel and it is a great way to see this beautiful city as it covers a large area.
The waterside area of Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 & the Embarcado are about a 20 minute walk away, but it is pleasant and easy walk.
The famous 'squiggly bit' of Lombard Street is a few blocks away up the hill, but is definitely worth a walk if you are able.
The staff were very friendly and always helpful, which makes any stay a better one.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2015
Dear Elisa493,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Buena Vista Inn for your next stay in San Francisco.

Kind regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#127 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#80 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#120 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#117 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#105 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing