We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nursing home or motel?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nursing home or motel?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Terrible place. Smells Like a nursing home. Looks like one. Staff act like they work in one.

Room was decent size. Dated but functional. Bed was awful...mattress was on its last legs and we were unable to sleep. The room door didn't close fully unless you jammed it hard.
Shower decent but shower curtain didn't fit so water goes all over the floor.

Staff... Well, I asked how long it would take to walk to pier 39. 40 min he told me. Then said he wasn't sure. Ten said he wasn't really from here / or new? When asked a question he gave a lethargic stare and mumbled some half baked answer. Left him alone after that and we navigated our way around SF without motels assistance. Car parking is very tight!

Wireless works well.

Breakfast...few cakes/ pasties and coffee and juice. Okay affair.

The motel is conveniently placed but there are many others on the same road.
Poor customer service, awful decor & condition & smells literally like a nursing home.

AVOID.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We make every effort to keep the hotel fresh. We regret you found such bad smell. We are replacing the beds with more comfortable beds. Our staff is known as friendly and helpful, unfortunately the clerks you encounterd was new..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    287
    167
    40
    16
See reviews for
110
205
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

2 night stay at this hotel
clean but older hotel
well located, just a few blocks from Crookedest street in the world
few restaurants nearby
Continental breakfast, fresh pastries, fruits,cereal, juice, coffee and tea
courteous and helpful staff
onsite parking, very convenient
nice view from rooftop

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Buena Vista is comfortable, and clean, and the front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The free parking is a total bonus for this area of San Fran, and we found that the breakfasts were simple but more than adequate, with fresh fruit, good coffee and a a variety of pastries every morning . There is a sun terrace which has a great skyline view of san fran and the golden gate bridge, and its within easy walking distance of the bay and fishermans wharf - in fact we walked everywhere from here. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are lighter. Those at the back of the hotel are quieter as are away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Were able to walk to restaurants and the waterfront. The employees were helpful and friendly. I will probably stay there again next time I get to San Francisco. The breakfast was not really healthy but it was not bad. Some fruit but mostly donuts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very basic rooms but clean and hotel staff very friendly. We chose this place due to location, price and there was free parking. Luckily for us we got the last parking space, there aren't many spaces so not sure where you would park if they run out! Parking was secure though. Location was very good for looking around SF. Coffee and pastry for breakfast very bland but you get what you pay for. If you are not after luxury and just want a good, clean basic place which is good value for money then this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here as accommodation was difficult to find. The front desk guys were very helpful & friendly. They did not charge us for the fridge as we had small children & the rooms were quite large. A little noisy as next to a main road, but otherwise the loop bus right out the front which was very handy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A good place to stay was quite expensive though, free parking and close to sights, not sure what made it a botique, recommend riding on the trams, bit of a wait in the cold... but great fun. good city to drive around, bus trip was good but took ages to go across the bridge and we had to get off and get a taxi for the alcatraz boat trip,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.