We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for comfort stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for comfort stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our 2010 trip to SanFran. The accomodation is simple but clean. There are vendor machines in the aisles and a parking lot. You also have a breakfast with muffins and coffee every morning. The location is great.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    219
    134
    27
    14
See reviews for
113
207
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a family. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable. The complementary breakfast included pastries, fruit, tea and coffee. The breakfast area is in the Lobby, there are no tables to eat at, so be early, so you can sit on one of the three seat lounge suites. Free parking in central San Francisco is a very good feature. It is a 20-25 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. There are a number of good restaurants nearby. Can't get much better value in central San Francisco.we would stay again. The photo of the Golden Gate bridge from the upper level, must have been taken from the top rung of a step ladder, however this is of little issue, the hotel is well located.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLO
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed at the Buena Vista Mtor Inn many times over the years. I've always liked it because it has great staff and a very personal, down home feeling, and is in a great location with good pricing. It is a great spot for International travelers, and I alwways meet interesting people there.
But this place REALLY NEEDS to be updated and cleaned up - the wear and tear on the place is more than obvious - and there is so much that is outdated, and really just down right dirty - that I would never stay there again. I'm sure I can find a similiar place at the same rate - but one that is clean with new towels and linens and beds and rugs - and clean windows, etc., etc.
The staff was still exceptional and the continential breakfast and coffee are very nice - but the other faults outweight the positive for me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Buena Vista. San was amazing with check in, bookings of tours, information on local restaurants, what and where to see San francisco's best, photocopying maps and making sure i was aok. My back room was quaint clean and roomy and so quiet. Breakfast is basic and quite adequate - juice coffee pastries and fruit.
San Francisco tour bus stops at the front door of the hotel. local restaurants 2 minute walk to Union street, Italian restaurant sensational dining.
San Francisco is such a friendly city and my first visit started off with such smiles and welcomes at Buena Vista motor inn. The rate for accommodation was so reasonable considering I stayed the first round of America's cup trials.
Make sure you visit Union square, Chinese gardens, Haight Ashbury and wear a flower in your hair, cross the Golden gate bridge, ride the cable car and start that early as the queues get so long after lunch even week days, the incredible seafood restaurants at Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39 and be mesmerised by the local seals and buy some of the freshest tastiest fruit ever from the local market at the Pier. Many wonderful memories from this welcoming city.

Room Tip: Always ask for a back room as Lombard Street so busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buena Vista Motor Inn recently and we were very disappointed as we were expecting more due to the images and hotel description. We know that it is considered an affordable hotel so we weren't expecting the Ritz but it we were expecting more of a lobby since they described it as "elegant" on their site - its basically a 1980's room.

The room had a very strong perfume smell that didn't go away throughout our stay. The toiletries were minimal and they had small thin blankets to keep you warm. There were no screens on our windows so we couldn't open them - the hotel did offer A/C (wall unit). We stayed with a "street view" but bushes were impeding any type of view that we had.

The staff at the lobby was fairly accommodating - very dull personality though. The sink is disconnected from the shower so when I got ready, I would ultimately wake up my boyfriend since the bathroom wasn't in a separate room.

SF is an expensive city - would I stay there again? No, I would rather save my money and look for a different option.

**Pros: Free parking, convenient location (not much to do though).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wasn't sure when I would arrive in The City since I was driving down the coastline from Washington State, so didn't book any room. I knew I wanted to stay in the Marina so drove on Lombard Street. As expected there are tons of hotels/motels so chose this property since it looked nice and was conveniently located. The room was OK, but definitely needed some paint since there was multiple scruff marks on the walls and one outlet didn't work since it was barely attached to the wall. No refrigerator or microwave. Guess my expectations were too high. Free parking was a nice bonus unlike properties downtown which charge an arm and a leg. Breakfast consisted of juices, coffee/tea, and store-bought pastries. Oh and some fresh fruit. You are in walking distance of the Fillmore, Union, and Chestnut Street areas, all containing very hip shops and eateries. The front desk folks weren't very knowledgeable about the area which was a bit surprising, since this is a big tourist town. Overall I would recommend, basically for OK rooms and convenience sake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside since rooms facing Lombard can be rather loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Sept 2012 as the cost was less than hotels located at Fisherman's Wharf. The room was comfortable, clean and good value. We found the staff helpful and the inclusive breakfast of orange juice, fruit, coffee and a variety of pastries was an added bonus. It was, also, only a short walk to the crooked street, Fishermans Wharf and local bus services. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel would be quieter, although we were directly overlooking Lomba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.