We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bonner Springs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location very reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I travel with the kids I usually use VRBO, but the responce rate in San Francisco was terrible. This was the first time I used the TripAdvisor vacation rentals. Everyone I contacted on TripAdvisor responded right back. The Canterbury was the best deal I could find. The hotel room was spacious and close enough to Powell and Union Square so you could use all of the MUNI to get all over the city.

Stop by the Walgreens two blocks down on Powell and Sutter to buy you MUNI pass for your stay. It works on all of the mass transit but the BART. Avoid using the Powell cable car to get around it is slow and crazily over crowded. If you do want to ride it, avoid trying to catch it a Powell and Market unless you have a couple of hours to kill, just catch it on Powell and Sutter.

The front desk was extremely helpful and provided guides, recommendations to nearby reasonably priced restaurants, even some with coupons. They don't provide daily maid service, but we were there 5 nights and it was not a problem. The gym is adequately equipped for a workout: free weights, CYBEX treadmill, ellipticals, and weight machines.

The nice thing is it is just as convenient to downtown as the hotels on Powell, just 2 1/2 blocks from the Marriott or Sir Francis Drake, at about 1/2 the price for a room that comfortably sleeps 4 with a small kitchenette. The room was nicely appointed and up to date. It is technically in Nob Hill, but it is two blocks north of the Tenderloin. The neighborhood is extremely safe, however, if you go even one block south to Post and west towards Van Ness you will run into some ladies/men of the evening after the sun goes down. I would recommend it for both business and families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Stealaway71,

We want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Canterbury. You offer some great tips to our future guests. Thank you for that!

We also want to thank you for the nice comments on the Front Desk staff. We were happy to read that they were of help in offering you information.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future. If you have any questions upon your next arrival, please feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    74
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
110
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed a week in the 2 bedroom presidential suite. It was a corner room with unbelievable views of the City. Many luxuries including appliances, sheets, artwork. The staff here is the best we have experienced in a long time. They do everything possible to make sure you love your stay. We were in the heart of the City. A car is not necessary, although we did have one. They valet park with unlimited in and out for a fee of about $33/day. You can walk to many attractions/dining options. Public transportation/cabs are available. This was a fabulous resort.

Room Tip: Go for the presidential if possible or a high floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Aventuravisitor,

Thank you for the very kind words on your stay here at the Canterbury. We love to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us! I will be sure to pass on your praise to the staff. We work hard to provide a COUNT ON ME! service and it looks like we succeeded at that for your stay!

As you pointed out, there is really no need for a car when touring the city. Transporation is convenient to get you to where you want to go.

We hope to see you again in the future. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a first class timeshare. We had a one bedroom with a queen bed. The living room area is spacious and comfortable. The kitchenette is more than adequate. The bathroom and shower are very nice. There isn't really a view, but that seems to be pretty much standard for all hotels in the area. There are some great restaurants within a short walking distance. The biggest downside is the parking fee. It's $31 plus tax per day. We attended the dreaded presentation and got a voucher to pay for the parking. I have to agree with ANH779 about the aggressive sales people. We had attended a similar presentation the week before at the Wyndham Harbor Lights in San Diego and made it clear to the Canterbury sales person that we were not interested in anything that would require us to spend money. That didn't stop her, though. We finally had to just get up and tell her we were leaving. But that's how the timeshare industry works. Doesn't bother us anymore. We love our timeshare and the ability it gives us to stay at places like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Satxgrillguy,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the rooms and the resort. I was sorry to hear the comment on the staff. I would be happy to speak with you about it if you would like to contact me. We want to provide a COUNT ON ME! service to our guests and would like to hear when this doesn't happen.

We hope that we will be seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco! Please feel free to contact me prior to your next visit if there is anything that we can assist with.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
(415)345-3202
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wyndham Canterbury is a time share resort in the heart of downtown San Francisco. This remodel of an old hotel is luxurious, comfortable and convenient. The staff at this resort is always ready to please and very accommodating. The location lends itself to walking to many downtown sights or the cable cars. Virtually anyplace in San Francisco is available by public transportation easily from the resort within one hour. The concierge will gladly book tours of the city or wine country. This is a really comfortable and convenient place to anchor a visit tot he "city by the bay".

Room Tip: Rooms on the east will get good city views, but a very bright morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Danny D!
Thank you for your kind review of the Canterbury. We always love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay! I will be sure to pass along your very nice comments on the staff, they love to hear them.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments are who make us who we are today! We hope that you will be coming out to visit us again soon!

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was the only Disney Timeshare in the area, so we tried the Canterbury. I was surprised at the neighborhood upon arrival. I've never been to SF so didn't picture it except for the website. In reality it has shabby housing across the street...but thankfully not a bad area. I was actually nervous to leave the hotel as I'd never been to a city!!! Ends up we were in a great location! We could walk to the Powell Trolley in a few minutes as well as new and old Chinatown(s). We also could take a short walk to Market Street...so ends up it went pretty well. Definitely get the Muni pass right away if you are staying any length of time. It was a money saver for us.
The accomodations were very nice. I'd say a remodeled apartment complex. We were in the very front apartment next to the CANTERBURY sign and I did wish there was a shade on the window to keep the bright light out. You can hear the street sounds all night, but after hiking SF I was too tired to care. The people made the stay very nice. They could not have been more accomodating. Hoping in the future they add a hot tub to their weight room as there is no pool. They say they're adding a breakfast restaurant, which would be nice, although we had a small kitchen.
Pump the concierge for info about what to do in the area. DON'T miss Alcatraz and if a Diz fan DO go to the Disney Museum at the Presidio.
All in all it was a very good stay because of the staff A+, room A, location A+....BUT do not compare it to staying at Disney Resorts. If you expect that, you;ll be disappointed.
I really, really, really loved SF and recommend going!~!!!

Room Tip: I liked the front for the windows....ask for a blanket, at least, if you need LR sleeper couch as sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Wnyroute66,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Canterbury. Overall, we were glad that you enjoyed the resort. Our proximity to Union Square is definitely convenient. I am glad that you took advantage of the Muni Pass. We have had several guests comment on how convenient it is during their stay.

I can also appreciate your comment regarding the shade on the window for the front. I will pass along that information to see if something we are able to accommodate. We are gearing up for our 6 year renovation next year and this is a good time to make those comments!

We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Canterbury whilst on our honeymoon. The hotel itself is nice and the condos were very modern/well equipped. There's even a washing machine and tumble dryer available on floors 3,5 and 7 which came in very handy. As soon as we checked in we were booked in for free breakfast and a 'presentation' at 8.30am plus a tempting promise of $100 on an American Express card for you to spend as you please, no strings attached. Needless to say we didn't fancy getting up that early whilst on honeymoon and with just two full days in the city we didn't want to waste time listening to a timeshare presentation. The next day the lady called us persistently (3 times!!) and when we finally gave in and answered she tried to book us in for breakfast the next day. We politely declined as we had already booked the early bird tour to Alcatraz, which was fine. We did feel that they were annoyingly persistent though! Timeshare is not for us and we only stayed there because it was a nice hotel in a great location. I would stay there again but next time I would be more explicit about not being interested in their timeshare offering. The rooms were nice
Although we were right next to an outside air vent of some sort which was incredibly noisy... As a consequence we didn't get much sleep so I'd probably ask for a better room if I stayed there again! They were told that we were on honeymoon so it's a shame they didn't give us a better/quieter room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello ANH779,

Congratulations on your wedding! We were glad that you chose to stay with us here at the Canterbury. We appreciate the time that you took to comment on your stay while here. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the staff. I will be sharing those comments with our management. We appreciate that you want to enjoy your vacation. Especially when on a Honeymoon!

Thank you for your comment regarding the noise factor. I will be speaking with our Maintenance Team to see if there is anything out of the ordinary happening or something that we can do so our guests do not experience this type of disturbance.

It is through comments such as yours that we ar able to improve our product and services! Thanks for sharing!!

Enjoy your life together!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spotless. Thoughtful touches. Nice amenities in kitchen. Ideal location in terms of proximity to public transportation (10 min walk) , Union Square and decent restaurants. The only improvement required to move it to excellent is to upgrade to a kingsize bed (lots of room in bedroom to accommodate a ks bed) with better mattress & pillows ie. memory foam. We had read a number of negative reviews about the staff not taking 'no' for an answer regarding selling time shares. We politely declined and this was respected by staff, so were pleasantly surprised to not experience this. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello Muckeye!

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Canterbury. We appreciate your kind words and were happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are getting ready for our 6 year renovation early next year. At that time, all the mattress and soft goods will be changed out of the rooms. You will see a new look in our rooms which we are sure you will be pleased with.

I was pleased to read your comments regarding the staff. Our goal is to provide a COUNT ON ME! experience and it sounds as if the staff did just that. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

We hope that we will see you again! Please feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.