We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco to your Saves list
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Discount
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Wyndham Canterbury in San Francisco was not a disappointment! We were in a one bedroom deluxe unit, with a king sized comfortable bed and fully furnished kitchen. The location was great--close to Union Square, Chinatown, and streetcar/bus/cable car/BART. The staff was very helpful and congenial. Also, we did the tour of Alcatraz and enjoyed that. Our arrangements were made through a timeshare exchange with Wyndham. In speaking with the concierge, she suggested a 45 minute breakfast, which ended up being at least two hours, to update us with information on our timeshare. Although it was somewhat informative, it was a sales pitch and used up a lot of our precious time in a great city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    96
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
121
134
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Wyndham Resort is nice and the rooms are nicely decorated, however because it is right in the center of town it is noisy. In addition there is no pool or hot tub!The location makes all the city attractions easy to get to. Walking or buying the city pass works best.
Now.... Comes the part you need to WATCH OUT for! Stay away from ALL their sales people because they are as crooked as a jay bird! THey will feed you crap and tell you anything for a sale or up-grade.They promise you things that don't exist. WE got burned for thousands of dollars to become platinum members which didn't help our families in the least. THese sales people are called "Condo Aliens". You will be sorry!! Families from Colorado

Room Tip: Stay away from Sutter Street side of building. Don't go near back area of the main lobby or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel (time share) has been renovated very nicely. Our room had one bedroom and a combo eat in kitchen/living room with a foldout couch. Everything was very nice, maybe a little small. The lobby areas were very nice as well. The room faces Sutter St. and was quite noisy at night, even with the new windows they had installed with the renovation. The common areas were also very nice, and the entire hotel was very clean. The location is pretty good, within walking distance to Union Square and Chinatown. My relative was a time share owner and as a guest it was disconcerting to watch the sales tactics they placed upon even current owners. A real turn off and the reason I give service a poor rating - as it otherwise was good. Parking is about $35/day.

Room Tip: High up and/or away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here with a couple of friends and we loved it! The room was spacious, the location is very near the shopping area and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Pack your walking shoes and a jacket as this is a city that using public transportation and walking are the only way to see the sites. This hotel is 2 1/2 blocks up Sutter from Powell St. The hotel is recently refurbished and is very comfortable. Don't expect a room with a view, this is a city hotel and views are blocked by the surrounding buildings. More than likely your view will be of an air shaft. The condo rooms do not have a stove/oven; only refridgerator, microwave, coffee pot and toaster. With all the great foods in SF who wants to stay in the room to cook. You'll need to ride public transportion because parking is very expensive or doesn't exist, so don't think of renting a car except to get out of the city (Napa?). Pick up a "Passport", which is used for unlimited rides on the MUNI System (Cable Cars, Trolleys, Buses and MUNI subway). The Passport and a good route map can be purchased for 1, 3 or 7 days at the Vistor's Center at Market & Powell.
We rode the BART from the Oakland Airport to Market & Powell for $6.80 ($3.00 for Air-Bart and $3.80 for the BART). Cheaper and quicker than a cab or shuttle.
Union Square is about a 3 block walk from the hotel and Chinatown is about 10 blocks. Groceries and breakfast items can be purchased from Walgrens or the 7-11 at Powell & Sutter. The Mom & Pop grocery stores in the area are very expensive. Resturants in the area of the hotel are limited, so plan to eat at the Wharf, Chinatown, North Beach or any of the other ethnic districts.

Room Tip: We took a room overlooking Sutter, had street noise but more of a view than an airshaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Recently stayed a week at the Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco. The location was great as long as you don’t walk west from the Canterbury. More on that later...

Check in was efficient and the clerk was courteous. We were assigned to an interior suite on the 3rd floor. It was quiet and everything we needed was there. At the end of the hallway was a laundry room. It had one washer and one dryer. I believe there are laundry rooms on every odd floor. There are two elevators and both seemed to function properly. In the basement, there is an ice machine that is self served along with a soda vending machine. On the main floor there is a nice workout room with several machines and free weights. Two TV’s are mounted on the wall. Towels and water are provided. There is also a lounge for timeshare members.

The one bedroom suite was clean and it had a large bathroom. The bedroom was really small, but the decent sized living room made up for it. There was plenty of storage available. The queen sized bed was comfortable, however the sleeper sofa was not so. I would not recommend an adult sleep on the sofa bed. It might be better for a kid. There is a microwave however no stove. There is a counter sized refrigerator enough for left overs and soda pop. There is a small compartment on top for an ice tray. We didn’t’ do any cooking as we ate out most of the time. There are several great restaurants nearby. Make sure you try Sanraku, the Japanese restaurant next door. They had good sushi and the service was friendly.

We checked in on Friday for a timeshare stay and a mid week cleaning was offered on Monday. All the staff seemed friendly and courteous.

We bought a weekly transit pass for $27 which allowed us to travel throughout the city. We made the mistake of getting off the bus at Jones Street near the hotel and was accosted by a “bum” threatening me and my young son while walking to the Canterbury. That was a first for me in San Francisco, actually in any city. The city needs to “take care’ of their homeless problem better. We go to San Francisco every year and this year it seems like there were more homeless people and they were more aggressive.

Overall a great timeshare in the city. Definitely would stay here again…….

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We are a family of four and Wyndham owners. This was our first visit, but not our last. We had very comfortable accommodations in a spacious 3BR, 3BA presidential suite. The suite is well furnished with modern decor. There were flat screens in every room. Beds and sheets were very comfortable. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious.

Visiting from NYC, but I am formerly of SF, the suite was perfect for hosting friends and family in the area dropping by to pay us visit. There was a full kitchen, so it was easy to serve guests coffee, tea, drinks and snacks. Space is a premium. Our suite gave each of us privacy and reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the city. Upon our every return to our suite, we all felt a relaxed ambience. Our suite was home away from home.

The location can't be beat. We were within walking distance to Union Square, Nob Hill, Chinatown. There's plenty of public transit available. Valet parking is $30/day.

The game room and gym were a treat. We spent late hours playing foos ball.

Thank you, JT, at the front desk! He was always smiling, knowledgable and very helpful. Thank you also, Michelle G of member services! She provided me with owner updates. All the employees at Wyndham Canterbury were kind and accommodating during my family's stay. We are very pleased with the attention and service. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Parking is $30+/day. Don't miss California Academy of Science @ Golden Gate Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.