We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big menu. Nice atmosphere for sports” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
(415) 268-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #763 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Financial District
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big menu. Nice atmosphere for sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not a normal set up for a sports bar but they had a 5-6 big flat screens around the place. There was a 49ers game and Giant playoffs while I was in town. Good crowd, not too crazy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seekonk, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Quick dinner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose to eat here because of the location across the street from Le Meridien where we were staying.

We both had chicken pie and it was okay...the chicken tasted a bit "left over" like they had used previously cooked chicken to make the pie but it wasn't horrible, but I've had better.

Not sure we would eat here again if we weren't staying across the street.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“convenient for a quick refreshment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Happy hour was hopping and offered decent appetizer options along with a good selection of beers. Seemed like whatever we ordered though, the keg had just run out and we had to select something else.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant was very convenient as it was attached to our hotel...Club Quarters, SF. I ordered fish (cod) and chips and an iced tea to go. The fish and chips tasted good but the fish was greasy. I did not care for the coleslaw which I normally like at other places. The iced tea was very small (in a styrofoam coffee style cup). I thought the price was a little high ($16 and change) for the portion size and quality of the food. Good in a pinch but you could probably find better for the money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Attached to Club Quarters Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice place to unwind within the hotel at the end of a long day of sight-seeeing. Also loved the hotel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.