We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just... Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ghirardelli Getaway
Ranked #9 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just... Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I had to travel to San Francisco for business on short notice. All hotels were sold out due to a citywide event. I usually stay at the Fairmont San Francisco, so thought I would try their new property.

The hotel did not have any single rooms available due to the event. My two colleagues and I decided to book a three bedroom apartment. Since we are all pretty private, we were hesitant to do so. We should not have worried. This apartment was absolutey stunning. Each guestroom was humungous and featured a king bed and bathroom. The living room and kitchen were sleek and modern and perfect for entertaining. The best part of the apartment was the balcony - it had the most amazing view, overlooking Alcatraz. There was also a fire pit. Absolutely wonderful.

The service was great as well. I arrived really late in the evening due to a flight delay and was exhausted. I told the front desk this and they refrained from giving me a brief overview of their services, delivering me and my bags to my room quickly and offering an overview in the morning.

Additional perks - there is a free continental breakfast AND the business center is free. What a rarity in a luxury hotel! Other hotels should take notice. Your guests are willing to pay a good rate for a good hotel, but they would rather not feel as if they're being "nickled and dimed".

Although I usually prefer to stay in a more central location (this hotel was located in Fisherman's Wharf), I would certainly return given the chance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    67
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
259
135
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

There is little more to say about this hotel other than it is absolutely superb. For some reason they gave me a unit with two rooms, and one could easily get lost... State of the art appliances, first class amenities, helpful and unobtrusive staff. And the view of Alcatraz from my room was amazing!
It must be said that their free breakfast is a real continental offer with fresh juices, cereals and fruit, not the ordinary coffee and pastries offered at some other places. Fisherman Wharf itself is not that attractive, with an endless row of souvenir stores. But you do get a wide choice of very good restaurants nearby, on all price ranges, which the staff will be happy to reserve for you. Would love to go back here anytime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

My sister and our boyfriends shared a two bedroom suite over Valentines day and were very pleasantly surprised. I am a travel agent so I do have the opportunity to see many properties all around the world. We took a risk trying this hotel as it had just opened a couple months earlier and we didn't have any feedback on it. The taxi's did not know exactly where it was (thinking we were referring to the downtown Fairmont)- Just mentioned Ghirardelli Square and they found their way.

The unit was very spacious with two bedrooms. There is enough privacy as one bedroom is lofted on the 2nd floor, and the 2nd bedroom is on the main floor. Both have full bathrooms connected to the bedroom- plus an extra ensuite off the foyer. There is a fully equipped kitchen (not kitchenette..KITCHEN along with all the utensils/ dishes), a large 8 person table and a living room with large couches, flat screen tvs and a great view of the Bay.

The hotel did have some amenities however we didn't use these as the weather didn't permit. There is a nice fire pit outside, that looks like it would be a great relaxing spot in the warmer months. One stairwell takes you right out to Ghirardelli Square, amongst all the shops, restaurants, coffee shops... you have a short cut just for Fairmont Guests that makes walking in and out very easy.

Overall- we had a great time. We barely left our "apartment for the weekend" and will definitely return to San Fran, specifically just to stay at Fairmont Heritage Place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My husband and I recently spent 3 days here on our way back from Hawaii and we now know why this hotel is rated #1 on this site. My husband and I are frequent discerning travelers and we found this to be one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. The staff: Courteous and accommodating, everyone from management to housekeeping made us feel welcome and were all very polite. The suite: we were upgraded from a one to a two bedroom city view upon arrival and although when we booked we had wanted the sold out bay view, I doubt there's a bad room in the place. Previous reviews noted city views to be a bit noisy but we didn't find this to be the case at all. The suite was large and well appointed with top of the line appliances and amenities including Bosch washer and dryer. Full kitchen, plush robes, Ghirardelli chocolates, flat screen TVs in every room, a large modern bathroom in each bedroom, fireplace and fab surround sound system. Note, the pictures from the website were a very accurate depiction of the hotel. The experience: the billiards lounge offered continental breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks late afternoons. On our second day we were informed that a bay view suite would be available for our final night and scooped it up. The staff looked after transferring our belongings while we were out taking a tour of Alcatraz. The view from this suite was spectacular. The harbour, Hyde Street Pier, Alcatraz and of course Ghirardelli Square, great for people watching. The location: we were easily within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the cruise boats; we did enjoy the use of the complimentary Maserati on our last night to go for a romantic dinner. It was also nice to have convenience stores right across the street from the hotel to purchase snacks and liquor and wine. As well there are great little shops right in the square along with some great restaurants. I bought rose petal jelly at Cellar360 and the ambiance and the food at McCormick’s was great. The only regret my husband and I had about our stay at Fairmont Ghirardelli was that we didn’t stay longer. Well done Fairmont, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed here for 8 nights on our trip to San Francisco from Australia, and we absolutely loved it. From our arrival and check-in, to check-out, service was faultless and facilities were wonderful. We got a 2 bedroom apartment, with 2 bathrooms, and a fully equipped kitchen. All appliances were state of the art, and our room also had a Bosch washer and a separate dryer, which was really helpful. The apartment itself was very spacious, with large windows, automatic blinds, 3 large high-def LCD screens, cable TV with 100's of channels, DVD players - as well as a gas heater in the living area!

We loved it so much we wished that we lived at Fairmong Heritage Place Ghirardelli Square. Also downstairs, there are 3 or 4 Ghirardelli chocolate cafe's and shops, which were fantastic. There are several restaurants as well as specialty shops at the Square, and it's only a short walk from the Fisherman's Wharf itself.

Staff were fantastic, with the concierge doing everything he could to accommodate to our requests, from in-room dining, to arranging a in-residence masseuse for my wife. The Maserati town car was absolutely fantastic as well, as it took us to Union Square, shopping areas, or other restaurants that are a just a bit too far to walk to.

There's a guest lounge area as well, with a high quality pool table and daily breakfast in the morning. We loved it, and so will you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Unsold timeshares being rented by the night at this point. Best points: HUGE space (12' ceilings, full dining room, well-stocked kitchen including wine cooler and dishwasher, living room with fireplace, huge terrace, enormous marble & glass bath and ample bedroom, Bosch washer/dryer). Stylish decor and lighting. Nice staff, albeit young and not always practiced. Very convenient location - next door to Gary Danko, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and cable cars, right on bus line (N. Point St.) to GG Park. Could be better: not exactly soundproof, as evidenced by the small child upstairs (who lets a little kid stay up until 1AM?). If you want a foam pillow or other housekeeping service, ask them directly (seems to be a communications gap with the friendly kids at the front desk). If you pay the hefty extra for a "bay view" room, be sure to get the 3rd or 4th floor - otherwise, your bay "view" is between the other buildings in Ghirardelli Square (and the people in those buildings look right back into your bedroom). Overall, not really a Fairmont but still a great place for a break, especially if you prefer self-catering.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed two nights in bay facing two bed appartment. Terrific views modern state of the art fixtures and fittings. Ghirardelli is busy during day but quiet at night however you can buy a one day pass for the trams and go to the terminus two blocks away getting on and off all day - great fun. The block is really time share, oops, shared ownership !, and so when enough sold will cease to be hotel as well so stay - whilst you can. Enjoyed 4 p.m. cheese and biscuits but this is mainly for time share sales but free for guests as is pleasant complimenrary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.