We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the right ingredients, exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ghirardelli Getaway
Ranked #9 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“All the right ingredients, exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Location is excellent right on Ghirardelli Square with direct access through the hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom suite + living room + kitchen, very high standards throughout. Free internet and breakfast. Complimentary Maseratti Quatropporte to drive or pick you up to a 2 miles radius. Small, less than 100 apartments. Unbelievable value. I will not even bother writing further. Take my word for it, this is the place to stay in San Francisco.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    67
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
259
135
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We loved the location, service, breakfast, room, wine, and everything about the Fairmont. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We had a city room on the first floor and never had any problem with noise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. Also take advantage of the car it was nice!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Hotel:

We were welcomed at the Fairmont Ghirardelli relatively late on a weeknight by the two concierge/check-in hosts who man the desks just inside the lobby. We got a quick tour of the property, which includes two terraces, one of which has a "fire pit" and daily wine/cocktail hours, as well as a lounge that serves a complimentary continental breakfast. The lobby is small but tastefully appointed, as are the common areas. The elevators are freight car size and quick and responsive.

The Room:

All of these "hotel rooms" were originally built as condominium units, and the size of each room is truly apartment like. Our one bedroom had a full chef's kitchen as you walk in, complete with Bosch dishwasher and Sub-Zero drawer fridge/freezer. A living area has a large exposed brick wall and large windows facing out onto SF Bay and Alcatraz. Flatscreen mounted TV with DirectTV and a surround sound system (there is probably $2000 of AV equipment built into the wall). The bedroom is a good size, with the same view and there is a large bathroom. The bathroom, however, was probably my only complaint about the room itself - there is a lot of wasted space that could have been used to create a larger shower or a sitting area, at least in my unit. More importantly, for one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in - this shower stunk. No door, so it was freezing when you weren't under the water - pressure was just so/so, as well. The beds were incredibly comfortable, as expected. Oh yeah, and a washer/dryer, which we used (they provide detergent and dryer sheets).

The Perks:
A concierge contacted me a few weeks in advance of our trip to see if I would need any help planning an itinerary. They were kind enough to book multiple lunch/dinner reservations as well as a guided wine tour through Napa. New York Times delivered to the door every day. House Car (Maserati) which will take you anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel if it is available, and it was every time we needed it. Chocolates on the pillow (Ghirardelli, natch) and they will do grocery shopping for you in advance of your arrival (if you want them to pick up a bottle of wine, etc.). 500 movie DVD library which we took advantage of on a night we stayed in.

Hotel Location:
Ghirardelli Square is very touristy, next to Fisherman's Wharf. It is not a happening part of town, and gets quiet early at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in - and we've been to many 5+ star properties over the years! We originally booked for 1 wk and extended it for a 2nd week. The property is beautiful and so nicely appointed. The units have high ceilings, original brick- accented walls, lots of natural light, exquisite and beautifully-equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds and the most comfortable pillows and softest sheets you've ever slept on! There are several very nice and expansive decks with views of Alcatraz and the GG Bridge. There is a gas fireplace that is lit every afternoon - wonderful place to sip wine and visit or read. The staff couldn't be nicer or more professioinal. And, the complimentary house car will take you anywhere you want to go within several miles of the hotel. The location is really fun - Ghirardelli Square has been totally revamped over the last several years by its new owners. Good restaurants, classy shops, 2 excellent wine bars, and a very nice ambience throughout. And, the proximity to the Bay with very nice walking trails, Fisherman's Wharf with all of its excellent seafood, and the cable cars make the Fairmont Heritage Place a primo spot. It is also a close walk to Polk Street in Russian Hill where there are lots of good shops and restaurants. We'd recommend one restaurant in particular - "Street" on Polk. Intimate, fun restaurant with excellent, fresh CA cuisine, moderately priced. We had a wonderful time at Fairmont Heritage Place at Ghirardelli Square and can't wait to go back. And, they welcome small dogs - an added plus.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We had a 2 bedroom city view, the nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in. The room was huge, bigger than our own home. The full kitchen and dining area were very nice and perfect for warming up leftovers from our dinner at Fisherman's Wharf. The location is amazing, within walking distance of everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys quality and excellent service. We liked it so much we're going back next weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Having read other reviews of this hotel on this site, I was very pleased to discover this hotel totally exceeded my expectations in every respect. Everything from the check-in experience to the rooms, the friendly staff, the design concept of the property were simply just world class. There are a number of good restaurants within this complex and also an excellent wine merchant who offers daily wine tasting sessions....the hotel's own free cheese and wine sessions at 4pm are a nice touch too...as is the free breakfast....looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is the best for a San Francisco sightseeing vacation!

First, the accommodations - absolutely beautiful. From the Sub Zero refridgerator, Bosch washing machine and dryer, to the spacious bedrooms this condo was nicer than our house! Complimentary car service (a Maserati) to take you to places a little too far to walk. We especially appreciated the collection of over 500 complimentary DVDs (with DVD players in all the rooms) since our 2 year old goes to bed at 7:30. The hotel is almost brand new and was spotless. The service was very attentive and helpful. Even though our room was on the ground floor facing the street, the windows have some AMAZING noise insulation making it very quiet.

Second, the location - it is, itself, a tourist attraction since it is the old Ghirardelli Chocolate Factory. The decks have views of the Golden Gate bridget and Alcatraz. It is right across the street from a beach and National Park, 1 block from the main cable car line (ride early to avoid the 1+ hour wait!), and a short walk to Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, and the aquarium. We walked just about everywhere with our 2 year old in tow. This hotel is in a VERY touristy part of town so if you are looking for great shopping or a quaint vacation, you might look elsewhere, but for a family vacation it was perfect. Dining at the hotel is mostly chains (a diner and a steakhouse) but the full kitchen and beautiful dining area made us want to eat in anyway!

The only drawback is that the Ghirardelli Chocolate Shop gives out free chocolate samples which were just too hard to resist. I gained way too much weight on this trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.