We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels! Especially with kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels! Especially with kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have never before written a review on trip advisor but I rely a lot on others' reviews - and well... this hotel deserves one. I was not expecting anything spectacular - just a good location and for a decent rate. We have stayed in many many Four Seasons, Ty-Warner, Fairmonts, Ritz, etc and almost every time with our kids (they all really cater to our kids and our crazy requests even at 3am for glasses of milk or diapers!). We normally book suites or at least two connecting rooms, probably should mention we have four chidren all 7 and under. I was surprised when booking this hotel that we only needed one and were paying FAR less than other hotels for suites (or in this case apartments). We had 1800 sf in the heart of everything San Francisco has to offer a tourist! We walked everywhere! And where we didn't, we had the house car take us. We had a two bedroom and the room sizes were huge! They each had a massive bathroom in addition to a full size kitchen, dining table, and living room - and everything was in great almost brand new shape. We don't cook while we are on vacation but it was nice to have a fridge (which they stocked with two bottles of Napa white wines and a 6 pack of Anchor Steam before our arrival). One day we asked for a few nannies and a car to take us up to Napa - within hours we had two college students at our room with games ready to hang out with our kids while we were taken in a private s550 an hour up to some of the most amazing wineries! You asked, they delivered, every single time. This hotel had the feeling of a small boutique hotel. You had one person with which all of your requests were handled (babysitters, car service, reservations, room service, etc) so it made it a lot easier. We ended up extending out our stay for two more nights because it was so great! And a side note: We budget quite a bit for vacations as our family is quite large, but this hotel doesn't mark up ANYHTHING. You have a list of menus from restaurants in the area and they add $25 for delivery and $5 for tip (there is not even a check to sign to tip more so you don't feel obligated) - for us, having a full breakfast with our family size (and even a cousin!), having an $80 meal was unheard of! They are always north of $300 each time. They do also have a really great free breakfast in the morning (it was just easier to keep all of the kids in the room to eat). After my husband checked us out he had this puzzled look on his face and normally it's a look of fear because he just paid the bill, however he was convinced we should have paid twice as much for that trip! Upon leaving we went down to So Cal and stayed at the Montage in Laguna Beach, and while this was now our 5th stay and we really love the Montage, it just didn't compare to the Fairmont Heritage Place as crazy as that sounds. We even contemplated buying an ownership interest but we are just not up there enough - but as soon as the opportunity presents itself you can bet we will!

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    65
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
256
134
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is great! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic, they are huge!, decorated amazingly the standard of the rooms and furnishings is incredible, like living in a millionaires mansion.

The staff are very friendly from, sitting down and checking in while eating the ghiradelli chocolates, to the 'butlers', drivers and turn down service staff. We requested a few things over the stay and staff were straight to the room with ice, coffee or whatever we required.

Breakfast was fantastic different foods everyday plus the same basics and essentials, cheese and wine seemed poor, I popped down about half way through to grab a couple of wines to take back to the room however the options were very limited.

Back to the rooms, and they are fully equipped with, ipad, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer etc etc etc. the best part being Bose speakers built into the ceiling throughout with individual controls for each room.

Would definetly return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We would go back to the Fairmont Ghiradelli Square in a flash if we were able to. Our apartment was incredibly spacious and clean, and comfortable. The staff were some of the most helpful that we came across on our US trip, and we particularly appreciated the complimentary car shuttle around the Bay area. The nearby restaurants were great and breakfast at the hotel was plentiful in quantity and number of choices. We had a city view room but as we were out most of the day this was not an issue. Next time, we'll try a bay view room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fairmont Heritage Place is a residence club which mean on site amenities are limited but in exchange you get spacious accommodations to have quiet time away from the kids or vice versa. But amenities are not necessary when you can walk/run/bike the 3 miles to Golden Gate Bridge or sit on the expansive private deck to watch the fireworks away from the crowds. These are front row seats for fireworks because the residence is steps from Aquatic Park. You can swim in the Aquatic Park along side the hardy SF natives. The sandy beach is a great spot for the kids to play and the adults to people watch.

Across from the residence in the plaza is McCormick and Kuletto's, they have incredible seafood and more great views. The bar is cozy and serves quick bites better than most hotel restaurants. Close by are many other great dining choices.

If you want to cook in the gourmet kitchen, Alito's, is the go to place for fresh Dungeness crab and is only a few blocks way. Go early, they only keep morning hours. You really do not need to cook or keep food on hand with the residence providing breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese.

The only real draw back is the many stairs like the rest of SF. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask where all the elevators are located. Transportation options abound from the free house car service to the trolley to the free/rental bike choices.

Room Tip: Each condo/suite unit is designed to provide different amenities. Let the staff know your preference...
See more room tips
Green Features: For owners, house keeping comes only every 3 days which is great for the environment and privacy. Daily maid service is upon request. Check with the hotel if you are renting.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fairmont Ghiradelli Square Huge Rooms and Amazing Views! Stayed February 2011.

Extremely delightful staff, complimentary Cadillac Escalade hotel transportation around hotel, amazing views of the Bay and Alcatraz, huge 2-bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, fully equipped kitchen, living, apartment-sized stacked washer & dryer, complimentary can of coffee, all in the heart of Ghiradelli Square. We stayed during President's Day weekend and had the cable cars, shops and piers within walking distance. We did utilize the complimentary Escalade to a recommended nearby brunch cafe.

The location is ideal to the stated areas, the hotel staff rated 5 stars for customer service and our room was much larger than I expected. Complimentary continental breakfast is included for all guests. It's enough to get your energy before the daily tourist activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylye
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a place! Beautiful apartment, fantastic views, great location, helpful staff. We were upgraded from a city view suite to a bay view (thank you). The spacious suite was perfect for our family group, the beds were comfortable, the showers efficient. One small point was that, although there were plenty of bath towels, flannels and small hand towels, there were no towels of an appropriate size to use as a turban on my wet hair.

My daughter used the laundry facilities but the tumble drier kept stopping a couple of minutes into its cycle resulting in us having to carry wet clothes with us. This did not stop our enjoyment of this superb apart hotel. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. all-in-all a great find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Second time we stayed here and although there were some changes to offerings from our stay in 2009 when hotel was brand new, it is still a wonderful home away from home when visiting San Francisco. The suites are really like condos with modern fully equipped kitchens. Ours was a two bedroom. Both with king beds. The one surprise was the second bedroom didn't have a bureau, so the person using that room had to live out of her suitcase for three nights. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast each morning and in the afternoon, wine and cheese. There is a courtesy car which we took advantage of. Staff is top notch and friendly. Location is great ... easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf or in the opposite direction to Fort Mason Park.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms over looking Ghirardelli Square in the back. These are much quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: All of San Francisco is environmentally friendly. This hotel had separate baskets for recycle and trash
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.