We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ghirardelli Getaway
Ranked #9 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place blew my mind away! Outstanding rooms, service and view. Amazing. 5-stars. It's quality is unrivaled and pristine. The other reviews are accurate and I feel totally pampered. There is so much that I can describe and not ruin the fun of experiencing this first hand. This time to wind down and relish this luxury now, on the patio with some cheese and champagne while the sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    66
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
259
135
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is incredible! We went to San Francisco for a lowkey bachelorette party and we wanted to stay at a hotel where we would feel pampered. Definitely chose the right place!! Every staff member was completely courteous and accommodating. Never once did we encounter anyone that didn't have a smile on their face.

The residences are fantastic! Clean spacious rooms, full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer. Everything you need!

They have a complimentary car service available which we certainly utilized throughout our stay.

You also get a complimentary continental breakfast daily. There are some reviews on here complaining about the breakfast not being up to par. The breakfast was great! There was coffee, teas, juices, cereal, breakfast burritos or sandwiches, pastries, oatmeal and fruits. Not much else needed.

The location is perfect and the views amazing. I can't recommend this place enough! We had such an amazing weekend and can't wait to come back! Thank you to the manager, Clay, for the tour and taking care of us. Also thank you to staff members Gio, Dean, Dustin, Matthew and Diogo for driving us around, bringing us more blankets, being totally adorable and putting up with us 7 girls!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Ghirardelli for 6 nights as our base for our first visit to San Francisco in April 2014 and we were not disappointed. We chose an apartment rather than a hotel as it gave us more flexability.
The hotel is in a good location near Fishermans wharf , but far enough away not to get any noise disturbance
We were lucky to be upgraded to a bay view apartment which was a very good size with fantastic views of the bay and alcatraz. The apartment was well equiped and pre ordered groceries were their on our arrival.
The staff were very friendly and the overall service was excellent.
Small negatives were , Breakfast selection could have been more varied and the cheese and wine hour we found to be disapointing.
This hotel is not cheap, but if you can afford their prices I would definitely recommend a stay

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view if they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom with full kitchen. The room is outstanding and the beds extremely comfortable. The location is a bit touristy, but if visiting San Francisco for a vacation, it is fine. convenient to the Cable Cars and Fisherman's Wharf. Views of the Golden Gate and Alcatraz. The think I can't get out of my mind was the outstanding continental breakfast. The best fruits and pastries I ever had. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at two hotels for a total of 5 nights during our visit to San Francisco in March 2014. We stayed at the Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square for 2 nights we wished if we stayed there more. Great location with walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. They have deluxe apartments and exceptional service. Some apartments have great view of the bay. We really enjoyed it and we highly recommend it specially if you are travelling with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 406 it has the perfect view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Loved this place. Huge 1 bedroom apartment! Full Kitchen, fireplace, flat screen tv, sound system, great patio overlooking Ghirardelli Square. Great location, steps to Fisherman's Wharf . Wish we could have stayed longer. Absolutely the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family of two adults and three kids stayed at the Fairmont at Ghiradelli Square for four nights over spring break. From the start this was an exceptional experience with a warm welcome and a concierge-guided tour of the property. Our two bedroom suite was well appointed with a complete kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and a beautiful view of the bay. Having a washer/dryer in our suite was a big asset.

The property is very charming with restaurants and shops just steps away. The cable car stop is close by and made it very easy to get up to Union Square for shopping. The house car service was an added bonus and helped us get to restaurants and museums. I was initially worried that we would be too close to the craziness of Fisherman's Wharf but it is a couple of blocks away from the hustle and bustle and felt quite peaceful.

We all enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast. The fact that there was no restaurant at the hotel was not a problem for us as we were happy to enjoy all the wonderful dining options in the city for lunch and dinner.

All the staff were incredibly helpful. When the concierge discovered that we were doing the Alcatraz tour the next day she sent up the Escape from Alcatraz DVD for us to watch the evening before, along with a bag of popcorn.

We look forward to staying at this wonderful hotel again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.