We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stay every summer in fairmont heritage place for many reasons : it has the best location , best service and best rooms . I always travel with my kids and in room washer /dryer help me a lot . The concierge is very helpful as well . The rooms are spacious and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    63
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
255
132
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel by taxi from San Francisco airport $52 exc tip!

Quickly helped with all our luggage and went to check in.

Very friendly and helpful staff took us on a quick walk through of the hotel and then to our room.

We had booked a 2 bedroom suite and had made a request that the kids room was set up as a twin.
The suite itself was very impressive, but the kids room had a double bed that couldn't be changed.
We hadn't received any reply to our request about twin beds but we called reception and asked to change to a suite with a master bedroom an a kids twin - which the hotel DOESN'T HAVE!!!????

We eventually had to upgrade at $200 per night extra to a 3 bedroom suite.
Once we got there is was a great apartment and very well appointed - so it should be at the price!

There are no restaurants in the hotel.
A hot buffet breakfast is available and is decent enough although inadequate seating available and on the last day the only table we could get was filthy, obviously a child had dropped the majority of its bread and boiled egg all over the floor which hasn't been cleaned up.

If you want to eat in there are menus from all the restaurants from around the square in your room which the hotel will bring to your room. But be careful - you'll be charged at $25 delivery fee for what is less than a 2 minute walk!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Just sat here after a five night stay
and have to mention how noisy it is just when you get back to the room to relax . Our apartment is a bay view one , great views. In the square below every evening a musician sets up and plays for up to 2 hours. It's either an electric violin/ drums or electric sax . It's nice for the first 10 minutes then drives you nuts. You can't relax ! Glad to be leaving tomorrow . Staff here are excellent , accommodation high standard but the surrounding area is a bit run down around fisherman's wharf. I've never seen so many homeless people. Two other things to mention if you have teenage children not many apartments have twin rooms . The only option is an air mattress, not great when the accommodation is so expensive and one of the kids has to sleep on the floor. Secondly if you rent from an owner check the small print , no housekeeping included!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent location, luxurious decor, large room... very good staying experience. It offers all your need, airport shuttle, babysitting/ child services, laundry, dry cleaning, a full equipped kitchen. What else you can expect?

The staff are friendly. They showed us around the hotel and the room in very friendly way. More importantly, the hotel is very room-feel. Unlike most of the other hotels, the decor, lighting, all the things together.... made us feel like staying in home. I could stay in this hotel for months~~

The only thing imperfect was the breakfast. They hotel didn't offer much choice. However, when considering this is not a big hotel, it is understandable and acceptable.

Overall, this is definitely one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for families with kids as there is a flat screen in every bedroom and the house cleaners leave little chocolates on the pillows!!

Also the hotel has the only room that I have stayed in that has a set of stairs

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Few places in North America have impressed me as much as the Fairmont heritage
in San Francisco thanks to their management's investment in intellectual property. Getting the right people for the job is central to any apart d'hôtel. Think Citadines service apartments in London and amp their customer service hundred fold to get a taste for the kind of customer service you are in for at the Fairmont Ghiraderelli square apart d'hôtel. Whether it is the valet, bell hop or the concierge they are right up there with the folks at the Peninsula group of hotels: courteous, attentive without being overbearing and racially non discriminatory. We only had the opportunity of interacting with Jeromie who I can safely state is a star concierge. He helped out making our transportation arrangements besides recommending Gary Danko's fine dine place to us which is only like a hop skip and jump away from the property, and were we glad to take him up on it or what?!

The downsides are not that many. With all due respect, breakfast is a joke with
scant options available and limited seating so that the early bird gets the worm has a special ring to it staying at the Fairmont Heritage. They have efficient house keeping and maid service but it is a challenge to keep them coming knocking to your door for service as early as 8.30. Not ideal for visitors who like to have a lie-in when on holiday.We also found it impossible to
connect with the concierge services in the evening for the 4 nights we were staying

Other than that, this is a faultless property and it helps that it's conveniently located near Fisherman's wharf and within walking distance of another San Fran landmark: Lombard Street.
I think I am beginning to understand where Rudy Kipling was coming from.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are to die for. Am reasonably certain the city view rooms are guaranteed not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our stay here. As a family of 6 it provided the perfect option for us....we had a 3 bedroom suite, with a large kitchen/dining/general area. The location is spot on...Ghirardelli Square provides you with a nice sanctuary from the noise and hussle of Fisherman's Wharf, which is only a few minutes walk away. The shops in the Square are good...a couple of OK restaurants (expensive, but easy), a wine shop (good to take a bottle back to the room!) and amazing sundaes at the Ghirardelli Market shop!

The staff at the hotel were great...the concierge desk was always helpful and had some good ideas for restaurants. The house car was a great service that we used several times. The car took all 6 of us, which was great. The drivers were all knowledgable and helpful.

It's worth noting that this is not a "full service" style hotel, as the rooms are privately owned and "rented" out to people staying there. The services offered are full concierge service, drivers in the house car, and room service using menus from various nearby restaurants. All services provided are very good though.

The Fairmont Heritage Place was perfect for us and made our stay in San Fran even more memorable! Loved it! If you have a family or large party, it's a must!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bay. Three bed room didn't have that, but it didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.