We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I rented a three bedroom and a two bedroom apartment for a family weekend and couldn't have asked for a better setup than at Heritage Place. Great location near Fisherman's Wharf with wonderful views, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and great rooms.
The only downside I found with our stay was the relatively mediocre breakfast spread for such a costly and high profile location. I can get various eggs, waffles, and several cereals at a place like Holiday Inn, but not so at Heritage. Basic continental items only. However, just a fairly minor point.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments typically have better views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    59
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
246
131
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a vacation rental of a unit in the Fairmont Heritage Place in Ghirardelli Square in San Francisco. Where do I even begin? This place was... heaven! The location is amazing - literally in the old factory buildings of Ghirardelli Square, with all the shops and restaurants you could want right outside the door. Just a block up from the Bay, a few blocks away from Fisherman's Wharf, etc. You really can just walk to everything, since it's a block away from the end of the trolley line too.
The bellhop met us at the front door and took the car (and unloaded it for us!) and we went inside the small but luxurious lobby and got our keys. The concierge showed us around the amenities - breakfast/afternoon wine tasting area, patio that overlooks the bay, individual business rooms (with computers to print out boarding passes for flights - very convenient), access to Ghirardelli Square shops, etc. Then we went to our room. We were supposed to be in a one bedroom, one bathroom with a pullout couch. What we got was a 2 bedroom, 2 full bathroom (5 piece bathroom each!), full kitchen, a dining area, comfy living room, modern steam laundry machines, huge closets, free Ghirardelli chocolates, big HD tv's in every room, and amazing views of the bay and Alcatraz. And this was all for $450 a night from our vacation rental!!!!!! HOLY MOLY! The beds were both king size and amazingly comfortable. We had a baby with us and requested a crib. They gave us a full size, completely safe, modern portable wooden crib, and a little kit of baby toiletries and a little stuffed animal too! Breakfast was much more than the standard continental breakfast, with lots of hot things too. Free wi-fi in the unit that was pretty fast. Our parking (which would have been $50/day) was included in the rental price! This was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, and with location and amenities, I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is nowhere else I will think of going the next time that I am here.. The whole experience was too good! The staff was very very good. The rooms were perfect. The house car compensates very well for the cost of the rooms. The location could not have been better and the concierge do a lot for you too..

Room Tip: The two bedroom one is the best! Nothing can beat that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

How is this place rated #1 on Trip Advisor for SanFran hotels??? The woman at the front desk couldn't have been any less friendly! The hallway and room smelled of stale urine. Our coffee maker broke on morning of checkout. And to top it off, they had ONE person on duty at 6AM on a Saturday morning who was left to run all over to get a replacement coffee pot, get our car, help with our luggage, and get us checked out! She was actually very friendly and did her best (completely opposite from the smug woman that checked us in) but if I'm paying that much for a hotel, I expect much better customer service. They really can't afford to add one more staff member on off hours????????

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Let's start with the good.

The people are first rate, they will go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience.
The rooms are appointed with first rate everything.

The not so good.

First, know what you are getting into. This is a resident type hotel that you can buy ownership in. The 'hotel' does not have a restaurant or bar. Room service is slowwww.

The rooms are done in dark tones with a modern look. Too cold for me.

Our bath room was outfitted for handicap use. Normally that is not a problem, but in the case of this room, extended to its full height, I could not fit under the shower. Outside of the handicap assist rails, there was no place to hang wet towels and wash cloths. The entrance to the shower was a cheap plastic curtain held up by a spring rod.

On to things the hotel can not control. We had not been in Ghirardelli Square for over ten years. The area has gone downhill will with many stored empty. Be ready for aggressive panhandling.

The bottom line, is it worth $1,000 a day?...............no

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has modern amenities despite historical undertones. Great location and excellent service. Only complaint is that the kitchen closed too early. Room was. Spacious and very clean. Good location in the city near the cable car. Parking is outrageously expensive (as are most hotels in San Fran).

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Reviewers have pointed out that this is a great place to stay with children. My husband and I found our two bedroom suite was excellent for sharing with adult friends. Each bedroom, with its own large bathroom, is off a wide hallway and provides excellent privacy. The large sitting/dining room was a perfect meeting place. Our suite opened onto the second floor terrace, with its fantastic view of the bay. The terrace is a lovely space to sit, or read or chat.

As this is a small hotel, it is understandable that the 'continental' breakfast is aimed at American guests. I think most people would be able to find something they liked and for me the fruit, yoghurt, toast, bagles and cream cheese were perfectly adequate.

We found that the staff provided amazing service. They really went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel's courtesy car is another asset and we used it on several occasions during our five day stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.