We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has modern amenities despite historical undertones. Great location and excellent service. Only complaint is that the kitchen closed too early. Room was. Spacious and very clean. Good location in the city near the cable car. Parking is outrageously expensive (as are most hotels in San Fran).

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    60
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
254
132
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Reviewers have pointed out that this is a great place to stay with children. My husband and I found our two bedroom suite was excellent for sharing with adult friends. Each bedroom, with its own large bathroom, is off a wide hallway and provides excellent privacy. The large sitting/dining room was a perfect meeting place. Our suite opened onto the second floor terrace, with its fantastic view of the bay. The terrace is a lovely space to sit, or read or chat.

As this is a small hotel, it is understandable that the 'continental' breakfast is aimed at American guests. I think most people would be able to find something they liked and for me the fruit, yoghurt, toast, bagles and cream cheese were perfectly adequate.

We found that the staff provided amazing service. They really went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel's courtesy car is another asset and we used it on several occasions during our five day stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Superb location, we had a 2 bed suite in the renovated Cocoa Mill. High quality furnishings and fully equipped, washer and dryer, excellent sound system and luxurious bathrooms. A lovely buffet breakfast was provided and a welcome glass of wine returning from a day's sightseeing was a lovely gesture. Suite was spotless, staff were friendly, overall an excellent base for a San Francisco holiday.

Room Tip: For us, a room overlooking the bay was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are spending time in San Fran with a family, there is no better place to stay. The location is perfect on the wharf, easy walking to everything. Rooms are spacious with full kitchen and laundry. Breakfast provided in the mornings. Bikes are available and easy to get to wonderful path that takes you to the Presidio. Staff incredibly helpful. As a family, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful property. Initially I was not happy to have a first floor room with a view of the street, but they have sound proofed the windows and installed a privacy shade which allows you to enjoy the city view and maintain privacy. The unit was fabulous - the living area was clean and comfortable. TV with speakers in the ceiling. The bedrooms were laid out very nicely to buffer sound from the hall. Beds were comfortable - with large bathrooms. The breakfast which is listed as continental was more than advertised and the wine hour in combination with the view and comfort of the Mustard Terrace made this the perfect hotel. Oh yeah - the chocolate, everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved this city hotel! We stayed here for 2 nights visiting family in San Francisco and traveled with our 21 month old son. Fabulous rooms: a full kitchen and washer and dryer, tall ceilings, brick walls, a lot of light, great views, very comfy beds and great linens. We had a very spacious 2 bedroom 3 bath "apartment" with bay views. Our friends and family who live in the city were all very impressed with the size of the rooms and the views even though they were hesitant to come to Fisherman's Wharf ("the only reason to go down there is for In N'Out!"). I enjoyed it as I grew up getting ice cream at Ghiridelli and eating at Scoma's. Our son loved all the activity to watch- the boats going in and out of the harbor, all the people in Ghiradelli Square. We enjoyed breakfast- casual and nothing fancy- but great for kids. And an afternoon glass of wine on their outdoor terrace facing the bay. Our son got a little stuffed animal when we checked in, which he thought was great. And we appreciated all the chocolates!!

A big negative for us was no bath tub!! Our son takes a bath every night so that was a challenge. It can be a little noisy at night but nothing terrible.

We will stay here again next time we are in San Francisco. While in SF I have tried the other Fairmont, St. Regis, Four Seasons, Mark Hopkins, Ritz Carlton.... this is the best option with kids!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Walking into the lobby was like stepping back into another era. The classical opulence is just something you don't see nowadays. The staff was very attentive, the rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The restaurant in the lobby was really good, with stellar service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.