We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury serviced apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful luxury serviced apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

A real treat for your next family get away. Beautiful open living area with fully equipped kitchen. Luxury furnishings and decor make it feel more like a home than a generic hotel. Common Breakfast room a bit too small. Staff amazing, thanks

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    59
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
239
130
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The marina area is usually where I try to stay when I am the best kept and most attractive major city in America. The Fairmont properties are well kept, centrally located and perfectly appointed. The neighborhood is mixed between touristy spots, not my favorite, and glimpses of what San Francisco so compelling. The Fairmont belongs in the latter and not the former category.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved our room, especially the comfortable beds and modern kitchen. Staff was pleasant, free breakfast was much nicer than expected. The location is fantastic-less "cheesy" than the rest of Fisherman's Wharf but still in a fun, family friendly area. Walked to the crooked street and other nearby restaurants. The outdoor balcony overlooking the square had a very VIP feel. We took advantage of the free car-nice touch!

Unfortunately, there was continuous loud thumping for 8+ hours a day coming from below our room-including at 10pm. The staff seemed clueless about the noise and didn't provide much more than a "will look into it" We are very laid back people who are used to city noises, so trust me when I say the sound was really annoying! Plus, the stopper was broken in the tub in our room and when I fixed it and filled the tub, it was filled with dirt & hair. Ew.

Not sure it deserves the 5 star ranking.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2 story corner room above the chocolate shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I felt like a king staying at this establishment. The service was great, the room was great. I have never had a bad experience at any Fairmont location. I am lost for words as i cant find anything i didnt like about this hotel. I will definetly make this my "go to" hotel when im in SF. Keep up the great work and i will see you in March!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Even with the old world and everything, the property is not worth 1000/night/two bedroom.

So if you really like the location, to go the next door Kimberly hotel, that's better and much cheaper (1/3).

The service and all are good like any 5 star hotels. Breaksfast, wine and cheess receipton are nothing to get excited about.

Room Tip: ocean view costs 100 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont Ghiardelli Square over Christmas with our children. The location of the hotel was suburb. Right near the wharf with plenty to do in the area. The service at the hotel was very attentive, and the hotel car service was a huge help. The concierge recommended a few restaurants for our family, none of which we liked, unfortunately. One of the restaurants, in fact, was an upscale Chinese restaurant, pre-fix, and not at ALL a place for children. My kids are foodies and very well behaved, however, I think the concierge should always take into account the needs of the family, which was certainly not the case for us. Our room was disappointingly dirty, with hair in the bathroom and on the shower walls.....ugh. The wallpaper was also peeling off the walls in the bathroom. For $800/night, I was definitely disappointed. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful, although the area you ate in was also dirty. There was food and crumbs everywhere. Our family travels often, both luxury and for travel hockey. I have stayed at very upscale resorts, and Hapmton Inns for travel hockey. This was definitely not a 5 star property in my eyes. Location: great. Everything else: fair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Awesome free breeakfaat daily. Free car service (2 mile radius). Extremely convenient & beautiful location. We slways stay here when visiting SF! We have the 2 bedroom city view, & it has 2.5 bathrooms too!!! Ghirardelli Square is safe & convenient--3 restaurants & shops & even an ice cream shop!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.