We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property with a Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Property with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We absolutely loved our trip to San Francisco and our stay at the Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square as a stop over on the way back from our honeymoon. The service and hotel experience was out of this world. We cooked dinner, watched a movie, went to the roof top for a drink, enjoyed the wine and cheese and light breakfast in the lounge and finally a ride in the hotel car. It is the perfect location and hotel to just unwind and relax in San Fran either with your significant other or the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    61
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
254
132
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is truly my home away from home. The apartments (they are not rooms) are spacious, well appointed and sumptous. THe only problem is that everyone else has discovered this place.

The views from the bay side rooms are incredible. You see the Golden Gate bridge as well as Alcatraz.

The only drawback is that there is no room service. There is no restaurant attached to the hotel. THey offer a generous complimentary breakfast and wine at 5 o'clock but if you get hungry after dinner you are out of luck.

Isn't a great place for small children either and the gym is still years away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

From the friendly, relaxed greeting to the beautiful but totally unpretentious way the Fairmont Heritage conducts itself, I give this hotel a big ole' thumbs up. We were pleasantly greeted with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to celebrate our 38th anniversary on our arrival.
Sarah & Spencer, the concierges, were down to earth and so pleasant. The use of the hotel car was a nice perk as well as the practical washer/dryers. You just cannot beat the location, which is close to all local attractions. We enjoyed visiting, Alcatraz, seeing the GG Bridge, the Coit Museum, Muir Woods and having lunch with the Sea Lions on Pier 39. We just had an absolute ball. Carl Sandburg is correct. The worst thing about SF is leaving it. I felt the same about the Fairmont Heritage.

Room Tip: Ask and you will most likely receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Recently visited the Fairmont Heritage and was suitably impressed.
Wonderful location, close to Pier 39 and Alcatraz Landing. The hotel has a car service that can take you the short trip into Union Square for shopping, eating etc. This was very handy indeed. The staff were all very professional, helpful and polite.
We were very lucky in that we booked a 1br apt and to our surprise and glee upgraded to a to a 2br. Maginificent appartment with huge balcony looking out toward Alcatraz. Ghirardelli Square below added to the enjoyment of the facilites. Kitchen was also handy. If we ever get back to San Fran, this will be our Plan A.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We just had a fantastic 3 night stay in this hotel with our three teenaged kids. This is a beautifully converted old red tile chocolate factory with a great modern decor. The hotel belongs to the same family as the Fairmont luxury chain, but this is a more relaxed and modern version with elegantly furnished two bedroom suites. More relaxed but with nice touches such as Miller Harris toiletries, free Illy coffee at the lobby and smart but very sweet staff starting from hotel maids and drivers. The hotel is attached to a small chic out door mall with niceties such as wine tasting bars for the grown ups and Kara s cup cakes and Ghirardelli ice cream bar for the kids. You will be at the bay just two steps from the Fishermans Wharf buzzle. Close enough but at the nicer end of the Golden Gate bridge end close to a park. The bay view is worth the investment. We had an appartment with a view to the Golden Gate Bridge and the Alcatraz. It seems that the bay views from the main building and the upper floor of the Mustard building are the best. All hotel guest have access to the great Mustard lounge terrace with a bay view, whatever room they have, which is a great extra. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh rasberries and blueberries in abundance. There is free coffee and tea served all day and a free house car with an excellently friendly staff to drop you to a restaurants etc locations within a reasonable distance.
All staff were fantastically devoted and helpful and very friendly. I should mention Sandra at the reception, who saved no effort to ensure a truly unforgettable stay for our family. Very, very professional.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at The Fairmont with my wife, and have to say that is one of the best hotel experiences we have had anywhere in the world.

The hotel is perfectly located near to the tourist area (5 mins) of Fishermans Wharf, and about 10-15 minutes cab ride from the centre/Union Square area of SF. We had debated whether to stay more central to the city but we were really pleased that we decided on this location instead.

The hotel standards are extremely high throughout the building and the room was superb. We had a room on the 3rd floor and we were upgraded from a one bedroom room/suite to a two bedroom suite (I think due to availability). The room was perfect with a great kitchen and lounge area and great bedrooms - very plush, contemporary and extremely clean. The only issue we found was a little bit of road noise in the room given we were on a road side section. Although this was not a major problem, if guests could swing a bay side room then this would not be a problem at all.

The complimentary breakfasts were excellent - coffees/teas, pastries, bagels, cereals, fruit etc 7am - 10am. Very laid back and leisurely to start off the day and they could be enjoyed on the terrace.

The staff were all superb and extremely helpful from the desk staff to the concierge team - all very, very good.

This hotel was simply excellent and whilst it might be a few dollars more than the next one, it is worth it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a bit of quality, a great location, and likes the service and the staff to be there when you need them, but in the background.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Fairmont staff was so efficient and accomodated our early check-in request; they even upgraded us to a 2BR residence with views of the Bay and City from the 1BR City view residence we initially booked. It's a great place if you are accustomed to a spacious layout; modern with a loft-like feel. Super clean, excellent surround sound throughout the entire residence, perfect sized kitchen and dining area. Nice bathrooms too. Location is centralized to Ferry Building by car. Generally, really a great escape from the Pier area, which is a dichotomy from Ghiradelli Square. Totally recommend this experience as we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.