We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatory of Flowers

Conservatory of Flowers
John F. Kennedy Drive, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, CA 94118 (Golden Gate Park)
415-831-2090
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$58*
and up
Ranked #33 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest existing building in Golden Gate Park, this Victorian-era greenhouse showcases a wide variety of tropical and seasonal flowers.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We came in here to get away from the busy park and do something a bit unusual (for us).

The flowers are stunning and the staff must work very hard to get such amazing flowers.

The area is very intimate.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    66
    18
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was the last thing we did, during our week long visit to San Francisco, and it was another place we liked. We spent about an hour and a half in there, wandering around, and came away happy we went. Kids will like the exhibit on carnivorous plants.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here with a friend. We really enjoyed the variety and the displays. There was a great display of carnivorous plants that we really enjoyed. I think it would be a great place to bring the family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historically elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The interior of these three connected Victorian greenhouses filled with exotic flowers and trees is a must. It is steamy, but every leaf, flower, and tree trunk is a picture unto itself. If you are one for beauty, and the intricate metal work of the drainage grills, it is worth every penny! In addition, there currently is an exhibit of carnivorous plants. That was an eye opener!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sweet smelling and sensuous....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This fabulous building is quite a sight. From a distance you can hardly get the whole thing in a frame, but it is unbelievable. Owned by the richest man in California, James Lick, he died before setting it up and was found in his estate still in boxes. This 12,000 sq. ft. Victorian wonder is made of wood and glass! Yes, wood and glass! It must be a maintainence nightmare but it even survived the 1906 earthquake. Don't miss this sight full of exotic and beautiful trees, plants and foliage not to mention the building that houses it all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conservatory of Flowers also viewed

 

Been to Conservatory of Flowers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatory of Flowers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.