We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Trek USA

Urban Trek USA
across from SF Visitors Center, (lower level of Hallidie Plaza), San Francisco, CA (Downtown)
+1 415-265-8229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Urban Trek USA's - small group (maximum of 7 people)- urban trek is an experience better than being aboard a tour bus or shuttle. An urban trek is a sightseeing & walking tour experience where you will use the city's public transportation system and walk around and learn about the different neighborhoods, see great views around the city, and have lunch or a coffee break at the best places in the neighborhood. You will feel almost like a local San Franciscan after your urban trek. Check the customized urban trek for a party of four or more.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I just took a tour with Anton yesterday and decided that we had to write a review since we enjoyed it so much! Anton's tour was the highlight of our vacation! It was just the 3 of us and it felt much more like we were traveling with a friend rather than being just a number in a large tour group. Anton showed us all the secret spots in San Fran that we would not have discovered on our own! We did Urban Trek #2 which was from 9:30 am-4:30 pm. I was really surprised at how quickly the time passed. Anton is so friendly and knows A LOT about his city! Our aim when we travel is to get a glimpse of "local life" while of course hitting the top "must see places." Anton's tour combined this perfectly as we went to see the Coit Tower, Golden Gate bridge, the Marina, Pacific Heights, and the Palace of FIne Arts just to name a few. This is a MUST - my only recommendation is to do this tour at the beginning of your vacation as Anton pointed out several restaurants and places to visit that we wish we had time to go back and explore.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Urban Trek San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fantastic way to see San Francisco with a great, friendly guide who just knows EVERYTHING about his city.
We were on our way from Scotland to San Diago For a cruise and, as we had to change planes in San Francisco, we decided to stop over for 3 nights. A friend told us about Urban Trek USA and we booked and got clear instructions from Anton by email as to where to meet him and what we would do.
Anton is a very knowledgable guide, who really did everything possible to make sure we got exactly what we wanted from the trek. By the end of the trek we had accumulated a huge amount of knowledge about San Franciso and were also fully orientated and able to find our way around with confidence. His meal recommendations were also great and he told us where to eat in China Town, so that was another new experience which we would not otherwise have had.
We are both over 60, so this is definitely something for all ages and excellent value for money.
Thanks again Anton.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Spectacular tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The highlight of our trip to San Francisco was this tour with Anton on 11/4/12. We booked a private trek and he listened to our must-do's and what was most important to us in order to develop the perfect itinerary. He pointed out things that we as tourist would have missed and threw in some interesting history that even fascinated our 13 year old son. Not only did he give a fun, informative tour, but he also gave us tips on things to do on our own. He was also helpful in acquainting us with the bus MUNI system. He was careful to point of the perfect picture spots which he knew was important to me. As a result, we have wonderful family photos. I highly recommend Anton and Urban Trek USA!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History, food, and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As we toured the city, Anton gave us the history and shared interesting stories about the places and people that lived there. It was fascinating! Anton is also a foodie and will show you the best places to eat. He loves and is passionate about what he does, making Urban Trek a great experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“thumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have been to SF a couple of times but the first for my husband. Since we were only around for a short period and I am not really a local myself, we decided to join the Urban Treck USA. Firstly, we picked this tour to help us get a bearing of the city and learn the enormous history behind the beautiful city. Secondly, we were not really keen on taking the hop on hop off tourist trap bus and preferred exploring by foot (bicycle was not really a great option because SF is quite hilly to cycle around). Thirdly, we read a lot of excellent reviews about Anton and Urban Trek USA so we signed up with him for Trek #1. Lucky for us we were the only one touring/learning from him that day. Anton took us to all the places we would not otherwise know and taught us history of the city we would otherwise not really learn easier and in actual places. We also love the fact that his facts ie statistics and news are current to help us get the whole picture. We also appreciate his scrumptious food suggestions and even made and extra effort to print out a list for us to use. Anton was also very patient with our questions and extremely lovely for snapping our photos. Lastly, Anton took his time to explain us many information about each places and did not rush through our tour. Overall, it was an A+ experience with Anton and Urban Trek USA. Highly recommend him to all who wants to visit SF and leave with tons of appreciation of the city.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Trek USA also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Urban Trek USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Trek USA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.