We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Urban Safari

The Urban Safari
San Francisco, CA (SoMa)
415 282 5555; 866 697 2327
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #37 of 298 activities in San Francisco
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We took a half day tour of the city with a trip to Alcatraz included in the afternoon. This was a fantastic way to see San Francisco, the tour takes you to many parts of the city that you just don't see on one of the "hop-on, hop-off" tour buses. Our tour guide Aaron was funny and enthusiastic, you really got the impression that the tour company genuinely cared about ensuring that your experience is the best ever. The bus had open sides but rugs and jackets were provided if you got too cold. Highlights were the view from Twin Peaks and lunch in the Castro at a beautiful deli. Aaron was very knowledgeable about the city and gave plenty of advice as to where to dine, and how to get around for the duration of our stay. Highly recommended for first-time visitors like us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    42
    28
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Around San Francisco, by Dave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Only had a short time in San Francisco and figured this would be a fun way to see the city. Proved right in every respect; our guide (Erin) kept has laughing AND showed us many sights with good insider info as we spent 4 hours around the city. They even carried spare coats for people who expect Califnia to be warm in July, but are caught out in the Bay. Had a blast !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goleta, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour and secured Alcatraz tickets just days ahead!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went on a last minute weekend trip to SF with one of the attractions being Alcatraz. I had no idea the tickets were sold out a month in advance. I looked online and saw the reviews for urban safari and decided to give it a try. It was sold out online but when I called to check as suggested they had space for me! It was a great tour with super friendly people! As and added bonus I got the wonderful tour along with the interesting and exciting trip to Alcatraz. VERY well organized and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is a great day out very fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a whole day tour of San Fran with Urban Safari company and wow did they deliver we had the best tour guide Eric he was a amazing very funny aswell as the great bus driver i cant remember his name but he had super long dreads. This trip takes you through all of the great parts of the city and though some awesome spots. With the safari hats and the cool blankets this is surely a day everyone will enjoy the guide gets everyone involved in the tour and certainly makes it a stand out day!!

If your in San Francisco and looking at a tour do not go past the Urban Safari

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Recommend this we did the city expedition fun an enjoyable. Enjoyed seeing all the sites. The guide and driver. Made the day excellent. Fun for all ages.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Urban Safari also viewed

 

Been to The Urban Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Urban Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Urban Safari to your Saves list