We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night - Perfect location, no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“One night - Perfect location, no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I chose the Chancellor due to trip advisor reviews, and recommendations to stay near Union Square as we were only in SF for 24 hours and the price suited out budget. I have no complaints at all. Excellent location, clean, friendly hotel - we were given a suite on the top floor - maybe because it was for one night and it was vacant..... excellent if you were staying a few days - or had more than a couple staying. I concur with previous posts - close to everything - we didn't have a problem with noise from next door - although our room was at the end of the hall, and the other adjoining wall to the bedroom was our sitting room. Bathrooms (2) were extremely clean. The building is an older style, but everything has been done up very nicely. they had free wi-fi, which whilst travelling I found to be an excellent convenience (used it via my iphone), so much so that wherever I book in the future will have free wi-fi (in all the hotel, not just the lobby).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    1,398
    223
    46
    18
See reviews for
387
1,982
239
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My partner and me stayed at The Chancellor from 9 - 20 Feb.

Location wise, the Chancellor was absolutely fantastic. Just minutes away from the main shopping area and with the cable car stop right outside, we were able to get to most of the must-see destinations and do our shopping easily. Even when we needed to take the buses, it was very convenient as the bus stops were within walking distance (five minutes on average).

However, do note that as the hotel has rather thin walls so you might occasionally be awakened at night if other guests return late at night and make lots of chatter in the common corridor way. We were aware of the thin walls from previous reviews so we were prepared for it. There were a few nights when other guests came in late at night and we were woken up by the chatter.

There were previous reviews about the room being small but it was good enough for us. The closet room was big enough for 2 our big suitcases. There was a safe deposit box in the closet room as well. Hot coffee, teas and cookies available 24 hours at the lobby. The tea selection is quite good.

For those who want to explore the city and beyond, you definitely have to speak to Susan from the Tour Desk. Susan is a GEM! She is a friendly lady who always smiles and greeted us everytime we passed by her when we headed out. She is very knowledgeable on the tours and will help you to book tours to Monterey Bay, Yosemite, Napa Valley and many others. We signed up for almost all the tours available and had a fantastic time.

The customer service at Chancellor Hotel before we arrived were splendid. My gf keyed in the wrong expiry date for our credit card during reservation and Mike McConnell (reservations agent) helped to rectify it very quickly. As we were staying for more than 10 days, we requested for a high floor room with a view of Union Square. Mr. Kevin Vossen (reservations manager) was superb in answering all our enquiries via email before our arrival and did helped to arrange a high-floor room with excellent view of Union Square for us!

Unfortunately, our final day stay was marred somewhat by some hiccups. We were woken up at 7:30am twice by phone calls from the front desk who mistook us as the ones who had an airport pickup at that time. We checked with the front desk after we woke up and found it strange as the guest who arranged for the pickup had a totally different surnname from ours. We were quite disappointed as the staff didn't make any apologies for their mistake. This is strange as they are in the service industry.

A second hiccup followed later in the afternoon. We had earlier twice informed and confirmed with the front desk during arrival and also the day before our check-out that we will be extending our check-out time to 4pm and were well aware that we will be paying extra for the late checkout. While we were catching on our sleep (having been woken by the front desk in morning at 7:30am), we were woken up again at 2pm by the front desk telling us it's time to check out.

These are just minor issues but it's good to note as guests will still review the hotel based on overall experience. Other than this, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Chancellor and will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2010
First, let me apologize for the hiccups. I am sorry about our sloppiness. I don't know what happened, but I can promise that I will be speaking with the front desk staff about being more careful when calling people early (or late for that matter) for things. I will also reiterate that when we make a mistake, the very least we can do is say we are sorry. I will also work on our internal communication so we aren't calling people about things we have already been told. I appreciate the comments. We will work on these things.

I am glad that over all it was a good stay and you would stay with us again.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Have stay in plenty of downtown hotels, the Chancellor is at the top of the list.

I email the hotel in advance for a rate and booking, Wes the Manager himself emailed me back to say all was in order and room confirmed. I got the room I asked for (low and to the front) without fuss. Better hotel than many who charge two or three times the price.

Helpful staff, clean rooms, good price, good location, no reason to stay anywhere else. My girlfriend already wants to stay there on our next visit.

Thankyou Wes and staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
You're very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Old, but really well maintained. Spotlessly clean, rooms are small but not cramped and the location can't be beaten! Friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010 via mobile

Chancellor provides good service and excellent location with a modest price. Breakfast was a bit pricey but otherwise excellent order-from-menu type cafe. In Feb time quiet and nice although very near to Market Street and Union Square shops & restaurants.
O.K. Finland

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Chancellor in mid-February 2010. Just 4 or 5 blocks up Powell from the Powell St. BART station, the Chancellor was easy to find. Our room was ready for us even though we checked in at noon. The room was modern, very clean, quiet and reasonably sized. The staff were helpful, and the free coffee and cookies in the lobby were great after a day of sightseeing in the cold. You just can't beat the value of the Chancellor in San Francisco.

The location is ideal for seeing the major sights and you don't need a car to see 'em. We walked to Chinatown and North Beach but if you don't feel like walking we discovered the #30 bus on Stockton will take you to Chinatown, North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, the Palace of Fine Arts and the marina green on it's route. Jump on any Powell St cable car heading up the hill just outside the lobby, and arrive at Fisherman's Wharf in style and grab an Irish coffee at the Buena Vista right at the end of the Powell/Hyde St line.

We had a terrific stay and I will definitely return here again and would not hesitate to recommend this fine hotel to my friends considering traveling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Great loacation, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms small but very comfortable, great value for money, free Wifi.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.