We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent room and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. My room was on the 12th floor facing the street and was probably the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed in--and I have stayed in many. Not sure why that is the case but it was. Bed very comfortable and the room was clean. I liked the character of the room--very American West Coast! Would recommend. Given the season I thought the room rate represented good value.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view from an upper floor
See more room tips
Green Features: They are keen to encourage good practices by providing re-cycling bags in the room
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much. Being a good value is the most important thing. It is the sum of service, product and quality compared to parting with one's hard earned money. We strive for it to be an uneven trade in the guest's favor.

I am glad they found the room so quiet. Funny thing...I guarantee that is the same room that others have said was so noisy they will never come back to the Chancellor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,358
    218
    43
    18
See reviews for
377
1,932
231
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haute Savoie, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location is excellent for visiting all the bay area sights and we did not even need to use public transport as it is so easy to walk to everywhere. The only time we took the BART was from the airport to Powell Station and then it was about 10 mins walk to the hotel. It is right on a busy street so it was quite noisy. The rooms are fairly small and the decor, furniture a little outdatted. We had to have the window opened because there was no air condition and it can get quite stuffy . As our room was at the side of the hotel , the noise from the street was more bearable even with the window opened. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Eco friendly. They have separately recyling bins for plastics and paper
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Old worldly and friendly. Rooms spotlessly clean a bit small but with such a great location not in the room much. Free tea, coffee, water, apples and cookies in the lobby was a nice touch. Was really noisy with building work in Union square on 4th floor at the front but staff very accommodating and moved us to 7th floor rm at the back of the hotel which was quieter. Planned to go to seers next door for breakfast but there was a large queue so we tried luques in the hotel and it was so good we went back there the next day. Would definitely stay here again for clean comfortable convenience.

Room Tip: When the union square building work finishes all should be good but until then ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you. I am glad you asked us about moving rooms. We are always happy to do that.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed Luques Restaurant at the hotel. You didn't miss anything next door. I will put our restaurant up against any breakfast place in the neighborhood any day.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at the Chancellor for 4 nights and had an excellent stay. Rooms are small-ish (not enough floor space in my two-twin room for floor exercise) but clean and well-maintained. Location is superb. I had a 15th floor room facing south (that is to say, not overlooking any street) and room was quiet enough. The absolutely outstanding aspect of my visit, however, was the exceptional staff. Everyone was friendly. The desk staff in particular are pro-actively helpful as well as very knowledgeable about local transportation. They answered every "how best to get there" question with a map, detailed instructions, and consistent enthusiasm. Lots of hotels have friendly, professional staff but the Chancellor's staff somehow sets itself apart. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Go high to minimize street noise. Hotel isn't air conditioned so you may want your windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, right on the corner of Union square, and a short 5-10 minute walk away from the Powell Dart station. It is also around a 40 minute walk to the waterfront, or it is right near the trolley turnaround point. Great location that couldn't have suited us better! On arrival, we were treated to that wonderful American hospitality that we have come to expect with stays in the USA. The staff on the desk were friendly, welcoming and efficient, remembering to wish us happy anniversary, and give us helpful hints for the neighbourhood. When we realised that we had left our glasses on the dart from the airport, they helped us to fill in a form to get them back (although sadly, they never appeared!) and then helped us to find a great local neighbourhood optician to sort us out. They also looked into different events around the area for us. The whole time, they displayed great smiles and interest in our plans that made us feel like valued guests. The free cookies, apples, coffee and iced water is a bonus too! There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but this didn't affect us too much due to the facilities in the lobby.

Our room, although small by American standards was excellently appointed, and compared with most European hotels was actually quite spacious! The style of the hotel is very Art Deco and vintage, it isn't necessarily the most modern and sleek, but we really enjoyed the decor and the real American feel of the place. We asked for a high room away from the street and were a bit worried when we came in as we could hear all of the street noise, including the bells of the trollies. However, as soon as we closed the window, it was like we has been transported. The room still had a little traffic noise but nothing at all to disturb our sleep. There is no air conditioning in the room which may be a problem on warmer nights, however, there is a ceiling fan above the bed and this was absolutely fine for temperatures in August! The bed was incredibly comfortable with a choice of pillows and soft duvets. The bathroom is very small with a small step up into it which you need to remember in the middle of the night. However, the bath and shower themselves are great and the rubber duck in the bathroom was a lovely, individual touch. The free wifi was fast and reliable too! Overall, this was an excellent stay and we would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of July. We're not the sort to spend much time in hotels but tend to use them as a base to explore. For that the Chancellor is superb.

The location is brilliant. Just up from Macy's on Union Square, I think it would be great for every city explorer and pretty good for those who want to enjoy time in the hotel too.

San Francisco itself is a fun place to wander around, however visitors should know that there are a lot of homeless people who can be a little disconcerting sometimes so perhaps be a little aware.

When we visited the city was basking in a heat wave. Unaccustomed to 30+ Celsius temperatures, we struggled a bit with the Chancellor. The rooms have fans but no air conditioning. However opening a window brings its own perils - the city isn't a quiet place! Earplugs on the nightstand should have been our clue... The first night was so noisy we asked reception if we could move to a quieter room, and they couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. They said we were on the "noisy side" and would be moved. We asked about bags but were told it would be dealt with while we were out enjoying the city. We went out for the morning and housekeeping promptly moved our bags to a (slightly) quieter room.

Alcatraz was fascinating, walking the Golden Gate a must. We walked down to Sausalito at the far end and enjoyed great food there, then took the ferry back. Perhaps we'd bicycle if we visit again but the walk was great.

All the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful with even the smallest request, the rooms themselves were lovely, the city fascinating. I knew there was no aircon but the rooms did have ceiling fans and ice makers on each floor.

It was a shame it was so hot and we were given such a noisy room to start with, since otherwise this would have been a five star review, but I can only rate it on our experience so four stars it is. I'd happily stay here again though and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms not facing the square are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel is right in the middle, close to everything, tours buses etc. 2 mins walk to Macey's (great and cheap for English shoppers)

Room was nice and spacious and bed was very comfy. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.