We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Save Saved
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pros:
1) Fantastic location!!
- Located at Union Square, close to shops, BART (convenient access to airport), restaurants
- Cable car stop is nearby
2) Affordable: one of the less expensive hotels given location/cleanliness
3) Clean: rooms are very clean and well maintained
4) Staff are very nice
5) Pretty decent restaurant for breakfast
6) Cucumber water in the lounge is great for quenching thirst

Cons
1) No a/c, though the ceiling fan was adequate
2) Soundproofing not 100% - sometimes I was woken up by neighbouring doors closing
3) Elevators can be slow

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,971
    1,268
    205
    41
    18
See reviews for
351
1828
224
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at the Chancellor Hotel at Union Square SF in May 2014 and it was a very comfortable stay. The Chancellor was conveniently located and was surprisingly quiet. I had a single room on the second floor which also had a balcony/fire escape with two windows which were great to additional airflow.

The front desk staff as well as the concierge staff were very helpful and were able to answer my questions without any difficulty.

Only problem was that there was no air conditioning and the ceiling fan was not very strong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a perfect hotel! We stayed here as part of a trip for my husbands 30th birthday surprise for 3 nights.
Such a perfect location for exploring the wonders of San Francisco!
The rooms are small but have such comfortable beds that even come with a pillow menu! The hotel also provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine and a jar of boiled sweets as a treat for my husbands birthday.
There's complimentary tea/coffee in the hotel lobby with cookies and fresh popcorn throughout the day.
The hotel is located on Powell street so it's perfect for catching the historic trams down to fishermans wharf!
There's a lot more atmosphere around the hotel than fishermans wharf at night!
We would definitely go back to this hotel just perfect!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Chancellor Hotel for that special occasion trip. We appreciate that and take that honor very seriously.

Please come back for the 40th and 50th and several times in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our first stop on our California trip brilliantly located in the centre of San Francisco with local transport and the cable car on the doorstep to explore this magical city. Reception staff were always extremely helpful and the services of Mike Singh the tour adviser in the reception was first class . Rooms were good although there didn't seem to be AC but we visited in April and wasn't needed. Next door is one of the best places in the city for breakfast Sears which offered a superb range of food and so popular that there was often a wait before being allocated a table , even the queues were 20 deep on the street on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Number 1 : The Staff.
Number 2: The Staff.
Number 3 The Staff.
.....and I mean ALL the staff in All departments.
From the moment I arrived on April 9th. till I departed on April the 23rd every member of staff I dealt with did their utmost to ensure I had a wonderful holiday. And always with a broad smile.
Take a bow Guys !!!! You are one in a million.

You already know everything else about the Chancellor from reading a selection of other reviews. My advice on using this site is read at least 5 reviews in each category from excellent to terrible and then make a balanced judgement.
A few extra things I appreciated in The Chancellor:three chairs in the room( ___all too often I find only 1 office chair in a twin/double room , even in 5-star hotels
___an umbrella in the wardrobe should you need one
___a fridge instead of those ridiculous minibars.....in thChancellor you can go to the bar,enjoy a drink at affordable prices,strike up a friendship with a fellow guest and swop must-see tips for San Francisco AND meet the best barman(Rory) .
___plenty glasses in room.

___being able to buy Muni passes at the Tour Desk.

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and I will stay here again as soon as my travels take me back to THE CITY.

Room Tip: High floor,side-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
On behalf of the staff, I only have three things to say:
Thank you!
Thank you!!
Thank you!!!

Maybe one more...Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just spent 7 days in San Francisco at the Chancellor Hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else! Hubby and I have stayed here so many times that I don't plan our 2 yearly trips to San Francisco unless I know we have a room at the Chancellor.

It just feels like our 2nd home when we walk through the doors! Some people have complained even after reading the reviews that the rooms and bathrooms are small, there is no air conditioning, the elevator is slow and you hear the cable cars and musicians playing in Union Square. Well guess what, that is what we like about the Chancellor Hotel! I love having our room face Powell Street and the ability to look out at Union Square to see what is going on. The beds at the Chancellor are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! I don't usually fall fast asleep in a hotel but as soon as my head hits the pillows at the Chancellor, I am out like a light and the sound of the cable cars and the musicians playing fade into the background.

The staff have always been professional, friendly and helpful. Our rooms have always been clean and we love the cookies, coffee, water and evening popcorn in the bar.

A trip to San Francisco would not be complete without a stay at the Chancellor Hotel! Oh, and you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper or excessive noise bothers you like cable cars and musicians playing, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you! We truly appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Picked this hotel because of reviews. Hotels can be costly in San Francisco. I felt this older Hotel was a bargain. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. There is no airconditioning. We were in San Fran during 60 degree weather days and 50 degree nights. We left the window open and ran the overhead fan. It was very comfortable. We were on the 15th floor. We could hear music coming from the square. We loved it. Breakfast is available in a nicely decorated restaurant tucked away from the street. Food was good. The cable car stops just across the street. Bus transportation is also nearby. All staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I am glad you found us to be a bargain. We try to be a great value because things are costly in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.