We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My partner and stayed at the Chancellor Hotel for 2 nights in January 2014. Booking was seamless, check in quick (room was ready when we arrived). Fantastic location right next to Union Square (great shopping). The room was spacious and clean with lots of hangers in the cupboard. Staff were friendly (when we first got to our floor the cleaner noticed us not knowing where to find our room and directed us). Cannot make a complaint about this hotel. The only reason I have given it 4 instead of 5/5 is because it met all of our expectations rather than exceeding them (which we didn't expect). True score 4.5 out of 5. Thank you for a lovely stay, if we find ourselves in SF again we'll stay there and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you. In the future...go ahead and round up on your score.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    1,489
    239
    45
    18
See reviews for
418
2,095
252
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sartell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The location is located centrally to many SF "must see's" and shopping. We were concerned it would be loud as it is older and on a busy street...not the case. Very quiet! Staff was friendly, rooms clean and loved that there was a Starbucks on the corner. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
What is "loud" and "too noisy" is subjective. Not to mention, can depend on the location of the room. We definitely try to provide a quiet sleep experience, but between the building noises, City noises and other guest noises we do not guarantee a noise free environment. However, this guest, and many like her, stay with us and find they can have a great stay and not be negatively affected by noise. You never know! I would suggest light sleepers and people that can be annoyed by noises that can not be controlled skip the Chancellor.

If one is bothered by noise, we are always willing to do what we can to mitigate the situation by room moves, ear plugs, white noise machines or whatever we can. Just let us know.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I booked this hotel thanks to TripAdvisor on the say-so of its many reviews. The reviews were spot on: the service is great, the location is fantastic and the rooms are small but clean. Our logic when booking this is we're going to be out the whole time and we want somewhere central. The money we saved on accommodation we poured into dinner. And it was worth it. Parking is more expensive than in LA but when you follow their advice it works well. (We were able to pull up out the front no problem and we asked for our car in 30 minutes while we ate breakfast so it was there when we were ready. If you want somewhere comfy to rest your head in a central location, for not too much money, this is your hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up or on the far side of the property (or keep your windows shut!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I couldn't agree more! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while on our honeymoon.

Firstly the hotel is in a great location. You can get to it easily from the airport and then walk to a lot of the San Fran attractions from it. As we were on our honeymoon the hotel gave us a small bottle of Cava and chocolates in our room which was a really nice touch.

The room itself was clean and tastefully decorated. It was perhaps a little small, but nothing worth complaining about.

The staff were also really friendly. Offering us tips on what to do in the area, letting us use their phone and having lots of free cookies and apples in reception.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Fran and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Chancellor for a few days in August 2013. The location of the hotel is almost perfect, right by Union Square, although the walk up the hill from the BART stop is not ideal when you have a lot of luggage!

The rooms are not huge but they are still reasonable sized and there's plenty of storage space. The lift's a little "rustic" but works OK, even if it doesn't hold too many people.

We had a delicious breakfast next door at Sears - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family spent four nights at Christmas and loved this hotel. Friendly staff, convenient tour desk, clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent location and reasonable price. Free fresh fruit, coffee and wifi added our pleasant days.

Room Tip: out two rooms on the south corner were so quiet even though no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A nice quaint hotel that is well positioned in the city. The rooms are small and a little old, but they were pretty and had lots of facilities. No air conditioning, but it didn't need it - the window was ajar for the whole of our stay, which kept the temperature perfect and it was actually really quiet for a major city. The free wifi was a bit hit-and-miss, often dropping out and requiring you to sign in again, but it was good when it was working. The breakfasts were nice and had a lot of variety, but there were no dinners offered by the hotel other than a small and uninteresting selection of bar foods, which was quite curious, and meant that we had to go elsewhere for dinner. The hotel is very well positioned, with the cable car stop literally outside the front door, lots of bus routes very close by, and the metro rail only a few blocks down the hill. A short stroll from several major shopping centers, restaurants, and other locations meant it was always pretty easy to find somewhere for dinner and somewhere to shop. The staff at the hotel were generally friendly and helpful, but note that we had to pay cash for all the tours we booked through the hotel, and the same with the MUNI travel cards. Free coffee and biscuits every day is always a positive too. Overall a fine stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.