We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Save Saved
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed her for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are really comfortable and clean with plenty of space. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is in an amazing location, right by Union Square which is perfect for shopping and getting around town. The tour buses stop at Union Sq too and you can buy tickets from the concierge in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,010
    1,288
    214
    45
    19
See reviews for
348
1810
223
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We selected this Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, and was very pleased.
The location was excellent just a short walk up from the San Francisco "Powell Street" BART train station and the Cable Car start point and right in the centre of San Francisco. The room was not large like many modern hotels, but very comfortable, well equipped and clean. The bathroom, again quite small, but did have a bath and there was plenty of towels and a duck! The reception and foyer staff as reviewed were very friendly and helpful. Available in the reception was complimentary coffee/Tea, water, apples and cookies. The hotel had a small bar, again the staff very friendly but didn't stay open very long, and the restaurant, quite small but served good food and was reasonably priced but was only open for Breakfast and lunch.
Travelling around SF, was very easy with the BART (Bay Area Rail Train) reaching out of the city (From the Airport to Powell Street cost $8.25 per person), but within the city you have the choice of Buses, Trams and Cable cars. A single trip on the Cable car costs $6, but you can get a MUNI pass, which gives you unlimited use of all the city transport types (not BART). You could purchase this in the hotel foyer at a cost of $14 per day or we purchased a 3 day pass for only $22 (I think the 7 day pass was $28). The Cable Cars were good fun, but sometimes very busy. Apparently you could get on/off at each cross roads, but often they would fill at the start points so it was worth taking the short walk to the Cable Car start points. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for our first time in San Francisco. Very welcoming place and quite helpful staff. It's handy for shopping and eating. I would certainly stay here again. We preferred this hotel to the one we stayed at in New York. It was much more homely and we didn't have a problem with noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. We are both used to staying in luxury hotels and decided to be more adventurous and go the budget route. We have no regrets. It was by far one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! And the fact that I am comparing this experience to a 5 star luxury hotel in Bora Bora must astound you.
This place was everything we asked for and more.
We stayed at the very top romantic suite that had two bathrooms, champagne and chocolates upon arrival and the BEST view of Union Square.
Despite many mix ups the hotel staff were very prompt in fixing these and offering us compensation in many forms, e.g. Free parking, food vouchers etc.
If you want great service, prime location, good food then this is the place for you!
This will definitely be the hotel we will always stay in San Fran for as long as it stands.

Room Tip: Get the very top romantic suite, it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Smooth check in, complimentary cookies, coffee, tea, apples were great, room was a little dated, bed uncomfortable. Perfect location for shopping, chilling on union square ( although a saxophonist did our head in most evenings til 10/11pm just after a bagpiper!!) Cable cars stop just outside, try Sears or the Golden Gate Grill for brekkie, overall good stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Chancellor for 3 nights as part of a road trip and found it to be a lovely welcoming hotel with lots of character.
We had a long journey from the UK and were tired, so the friendly staff on reception was a great start. Our travel agent had mentioned that we were celebrating birthdays during our stay and there was a card, wine and chocolates in the room which was a really lovely touch. The room was good, not overly small as mentioned in some reviews, modern touches but still fairly traditional and perfectly clean. There was no air-con in our room but we managed fine with the fan.
We didn't eat or have drinks in the hotel but found the staff to be friendly and the lady who sits at the tour desk is very helpful. The free cookies by reception are great!
Overall great hotel with some character, great location (just near Union Square which is lovely)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in August for five nights and it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Mike and his mother at the tour desk. Nothing was a problem and everything went smoothly. We would certainly stay there again next we are in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.