We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Save Saved
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great hotel! Centrally located about 20 steps from Union Square, great price and great service. Everything we could have wanted. We had a Suite and we had 2 full bathrooms! Everything was spotless and comfortable. We also had one of those fancy coffee makers that you put the cup in and out comes whatever kind of coffee you chose. And there were cookies in the lobby daily . . . a lifesaver on the days of those early morning tours to Alcatraz and the wine country.

I can also say that the brunch in Luques was terrrific.

The only issue we ever had was when one of the 2 TVs we had wouldn't turn on and someone came to fix it immediately.

I have already recommended this hotel to a friend and I will certainly stay again if I get back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter since the trolley, that you will want to take a ride on, passes ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,925
    1,217
    205
    43
    19
See reviews for
335
1696
216
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was only here for a short 1 night stopover in San Francisco, and chose the hotel based on the positive tripadvisor comments. The staff were friendly and the bed was clean and comfortable, free wifi is always a bonus.
However, the entire building is tired and feels quite downmarket. You can tell by the fittings and fixtures, the old / threadbare carpets and wallpaper, and although it was comfortable enough, I wouldn't go back. They don't even offer room service mid-week. After a long flight, it's not the kind of hotel I would want to kick back in and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I don't think we are tired, but we do have blemishes that we chase down from time to time. If you are looking for perfection, we are not it.

While we are always trying to correct our blemishes, they should not take away from our great service, outstanding location and thoughtful amenities - and they don't. As our reviews show, most people agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The first time we visited SFO in August 2009 we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days. The location of this hotel is fantastic close to Union Square, shopping and major tourist attractions in SFO. Rooms are clean, small but just adequate for 2 people. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Staffs were pleasant and helpful. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Overall, we find this hotel a good value for money. We greatly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Unbeatable location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Sure, the rooms are tiny and outdated. But this place boasts charm, location and affordability. And location. We stayed on a lower floor, so had no view whatsoever. Nice touches included the complimentary cookies and drink specials. Staff was helpful and polite. Tip: skip breakfast here and go next door to Sears...not that the breakfast is bad, it's just unfairly good competition next door.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I was with you all the way until the last line. Our breakfast and far superior and the only competition they offer is the name recognition.

Come back and try them both and if you don't think our breakfast is better, we'll refund ours and pay for the one next door.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in June. We found the hotel to be in a top location right on Union Square. The rooms are slightly dated but clean and well equipped. The hotel laid on some sparkling wine for our honeymoon, and the free cookies/tea downstairs in the lobby are a nice touch. Luques restaurant in the hotel is good for breakfast.
Overall good value, perfect for a short break.

Room Tip: Get high room for views and to help with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been staying at the Chancellor since I was a child...The rooms are small but comfortable...The location is great and the staff is very helpful...If you want quality, affordability, location, then this is the place...

Room Tip: Rooms up high are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am pretty sure that chancellor is a right choice in San Francisco. The hotel location is perfect to know the main tourist points, very easy access to cable car and regular buses!

The Hotel is very nice and can offer a very nice stay to your guests!
I did not have the opportunitty to try the hotel food but your employees and front desk agents are always ready to serve you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.