We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay - wish it had been longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles CA USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay - wish it had been longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Chancellor hotel was a lucky find. Centrally located near Union Square, but just far enough away that we didn't have hordes of tourists walking by.

The hotel itself was charming and ultra clean. The staff was very nice and attentive, from the desk clerks to the room maids. The room was big enough with a giant walk-inc closet and something I never see, even in the finest hotels - TWO LUGGAGE RACKS!!! For that alone I would go back. There is also an extensive pillow menu.

The bar and restaurant in the hotel were very good with excellent service. There are fresh-made cookies, fruit, coffee and tea available 24 hours. The hotel is next door to the fantastic Sears restaurant and within a couple of blocks from many others. The cable car goes right past the door - you just get off at the corner and you are home.

My only complaint - and this is minor - the weekend was unusually hot for SF - 90 degrees, and the room was warm and stuffy at night unless you opened the window, and then you had noise from traffic, trash pickup and late-night revelers. There is no A/C like many SF hotels. Other than that - it was an excellent place that I would visit again.

Room Tip: I would expect that a room on the rear of the hotel would pickup less noise if you want the window o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice touches here - a separate bag for recyclables and the option to advise the maid to leave the sheets on for another day.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,323
    1,586
    261
    47
    18
See reviews for
455
2,217
269
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My father has stayed at the Chancellor a few times - pretty much every time he goes to San Francisco - and always raves about its location. So, when he recently decided to take his wife there over his birthday, I called and asked if they could help me "surprise" him with something nice. I spoke with Nate, Director of Sales and Marketing, who helped organized a wine and cupcake amenity for him - and even personally went to pick up the cupcakes and deliver them to the room on the day of their arrival. My dad called and said he "got a little choked up" by the thoughtfulness! Apparently he didn't realize Nate did all of the work! I'm so thankful for the Chancellor and their outstanding customer service. I can only imagine how well they treat their customers who are staying there, if this is how they treat their customer's daughters over the phone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

i recently stayed at the Chancellor to be close to it all. And It sure is!
The hotel is in an excellent location close to great shopping. We arrived pretty late at night and had quite a few options for dining late.
The hotel rooms are on the smaller side-but enough room to be comfortable. The beds are ok-however, I did enjoyed the "Pillow Menu". it was a nice touch.
The washroom amenities are nice and the rubber ducky and bath salts add a whimsical feel to the room and gives you encouragement to want to take a bath after a long day of walking the city.
Another plus is the complimentary coffee, tea, cookies and water available in the lobby.

We also used the assistance of the concierge who was incredibly knowledgeable on where to go. They also sell 1,3, and 7 day Muni Public Transport passes in the hotel to get around the city(you really do not need a car-especially with the high parking prices.)
For the price and location, i recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No A/C, however, we left the windows open the whole stay:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here on business for five nights. The location was great and given that we were on a higher floor, the noise from Union Square was hardly noticeable, even with a window open. The front desk staff/concierge/bellman/restaurant and bar staff were excellent -- attentive, professional, courteous, and helpful. We arrived early and the person at check in searched until she found a room that was open for us. We greatly appreciated that after a 13 hour flight. The free wifi was a big plus. The coffee/tea/ice water/cookies/apples in the lobby were nice touches.

We had breakfast twice and the food was very good. The prices were low compared to other hotel breakfasts in the area, too.

Housekeeping was a bit sporadic. It was hit-or-miss whether our shampoo and soap were replenished, even when they were obviously used. One morning, all of our toiletries were simply pushed to the side of the bathroom shelf.

The biggest down side to the Chancellor was the room. It was easy to see that perhaps 50 years ago, the room would have been outstanding; not anymore. Ours had a queen bed and there was almost no room to move around it. The room was also very dark, with only three lamps (two provided low light on the nightstands/one was adequate on the desk) and a ceiling light/fan that was not very bright.There was one electrical outlet on the lamp on the desk and two in the bathroom--not sufficient for two people who needed to charge computers/mobile phones and iron clothes, etc. The bathroom was tiny and the tub was very deep with old non-stick strips. Getting in and out had to be done carefully to avoid slipping. The shower would have been better if the shower head had been on a slider and not fixed in a high position.

However, the room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable.

If you don't mind a quaint room, the value for the price here is good and the outstanding staff make it all work.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid noise from Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I liked the 'vibe' of the hotel. Rooms were clean, the bathroom was however a bit dated. I had a room on the Union Square corner and it is not very quiet. It was better when the windows were closed, but since there is no AC it tends to get a bit warm. Hotel is nicely located near Union Square and within walking distance of public transport.

Three other points that you might want to know:
- wifi is not very stable
- restaurant has a dinner show every night so you can not just walk in (you can for breakfast and lunch)
- bar closes at 9.30 on weekdays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Columbia Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Chancellor on my second trip to San Francisco while on vacation with my boyfriend for our ten year anniversary. We ended up booking the Chancellor on a whim through a Hotwire deal. I am so glad we did! The location is perfect--right next to Union Square. It also had a charm and character that is so unique to San Francisco. The room was relatively small, but very clean and cute. The last time I stayed in San Francisco, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and I found the Chancellor to be far superior. While the rooms at the Holiday Inn were much bigger, I didn't feel like they had any of that old world charm that you want in SF. Our room at the Chancellor faced right on to Powell St. and we could hear the cable cars going by. You know your in San Francisco when you hear those bells! We also enjoyed the free cookies and refreshments in the lobby, as well as the pillow menu! I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing Powell St. We really enjoyed the noise of the street and hearing...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. I have stayed in other hotels which claim to be environmentally-friendly, and you can't find a recycling bin anywhere on the premises. Not so at the Chancellor, every room is appointed with a separate bad just for recycling materials.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed for one night but the hotel worked out great. It's the old classic San Fran hotel with smaller but functional rooms. We stored our bags with the bell staff seamlessly while we toured Alcatraz and had lunch. We took the 8X bus to the wharf only $2 and got to see China town on the way. If you go Alcatraz is worth the time, watch the movie first and the use the audio tour. We hit some of the warmest weather and it was amazing. We took the bus back and stopped in North Beach "Italy" and had a great lunch at Pinnichio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#5 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.