We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at the Chancellor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Truckee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the Chancellor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I wanted a safe, reasonable, convenient place to stay in S.F. and the Chancellor was IT! We were on the 14th floor, which was very quiet from any city noises. The beds were very comfortable, and everything was clean. The downstairs restaurant was great for breakfast, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Not having a lot of city maneuvering experience, the best part for us was having the Tour Desk in the lobby! Michael was extremely helpful in helping us get from Point A to Point B and organized a tour based on what our interests were. When we needed to get to the Amtrak station very early, he arranged it all for us. The total experience was terrific, and we hope to make it back there! Sandy and Kelly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,303
    1,567
    255
    47
    18
See reviews for
444
2,192
267
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Chancellor this past weekend and loved the hotel. Had the big 5 - great location, comfortable bed, good water pressure in the shower (heaven!!), room was quiet and super clean. Customer service was excellent and Rory at the bar was great to chat to and gave us some great tips on Vegas where we were heading to next. As written by others, cable car is right out the front but being the weekend it was crazy busy, lines were long and we just hopped a cab instead. We had both purchased a 3 day travel pass which I wouldn't do again as it was much faster and quite cheap to get cabs instead and didn't end up getting the value from the passes. Would definitely recommend the Chancellor to anyone visiting San Fran.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The Chancellor is an old hotel with very minor updates, but in an awesome location. The bed is small with very odd blankets, a plasticky comforter with lumps of foam sandwiched with sheets. Odd. The bathroom needs updating, very ugly white tile with green splotches, and the tub is really tall/hard to get in and out of but then the shower head is really short (I'm only 5'5 and had to duck down to get my hair wet.). The cookies and coffee in the lobby are nice and the location is really unbeatable, which is why I rated it average.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am sorry these folks didn't really understand what the Chancellor Hotel is. Yes, the hotel is old. It will be 100 years old next year. We try to maintain the character and historic nature of the building on purpose. It is not an accident that the bathrooms are pokey, the rooms are small, the tubs are the original deep claw foot type, the halls, stairs, doors and everything is quirky. We have purposely maintained it that way over the years. If people want to have everything "normal" they should stick with brand hotels and chains. The Chancellor is NOT normal. Of course, it is the historic nature and character that most people like about it, but every once in a while we get folks that don't get it and end up with us by mistake. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This 'old world' hotel has all the modern conveniences in a short block up from Union Square. Free wi-fi, helpful staff, complementary fitness studio around the block and free cookies/coffee all day in the lobby make this a stand-out in service. Yes, rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. We had an upper floor room on the backside and it was quiet for its mid-city location. Their business assistance was exceptional with good access to computer/printer.
We'll stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the U S A. Our time in San Francisco was memorable because of the Chancellor Hotel. Upon arrival we were told the Chinese New Year parade would be in full swing at 6pm right outside our hotel, we were asked to be guests of the hotel management to view the parade. The staff ushered us to front row seat to view a very entertaining experience. I noted no other hotel had given the same service to their guests. We arrived early at the hotel and to our surprise our hotel room was ready for us. After a long flight the sight of a deep bath was just what I was looking for. Easy access to the hotel computer, coffee in the lobby all day, fruit, biscuits and on Saturday evening a Popcorn machine what fun. And always friendly staff, front of house and cleaning staff. I can highly recommend the Chancellor Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location! We found it easy to catch public transportation from the Union Square area to all parts of the City. The staff is friendly and helpful! The tour desk offers helpful maps and information on getting around San Francisco. Luques, the restaurant, has a great breakfast! The rooms are comfortable with extra details. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the proximity to Union Square, restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellarine Peninsula Vic Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Advertised as an old worldie Hotel and that is what you got - absolutely charming building, small floors but very comfortable and happy smiling staff who want to look after you. Roses to Miss Helen who looked after me and my room so well. Location is great and made me feel homesick for Melbourne (Aust) hearing the trams trundle past all the time. Loved the real coffee, cookies and apples readily available in reception. Plenty of eateries nearby but didn't go far from the Sears Restaurant next door whose food was excellent. Chancellor value for money, very central and will be back when next in SFO. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, some might find the tram noise offputting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#85 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,453 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.