We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I arrived to the Chancellor in celebration of our 9th anniversary. When we arrived around 11:00, we were pleased to find that we were able to check into our rooms. Upon entering the room (1404) we were ecstatic to find a bottle of wine and a note in celebration of our anniversary. The Chancellor staff should be commended on their hospitality. We were particulary pleased with the man who assisted us with our tours and much needed information to make our stay in San Francisco a memorable one. Great shopping within walking distance and with Chinatown and Little Italy a stone's throw from the hotel, the location was awesome. The room was cozy and clean. We loved that the closets were big and we were able to store our luggage and shopping bags inside so the room would not be cluttered. This is the hotel for us whenever we visit San Francisco again. By the way, loved the 24 hour coffee, tea and cookies. Great stay for our first visit to San Francisco. We had loads and loads of fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    1,398
    224
    46
    18
See reviews for
388
1,983
239
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had mentally prepared myself for a teeny tiny room, but was pleasantly suprised when we arrived. Apparently I have stayed in some very small rooms other places. Anyhow, there is a large walk in closet to put your suitcases which leaves plenty of room to get around the bed. There is also a small table with two chairs and a fridge. The bathroom is lacking in the way of counter space but it wasn't an issue. Great location on Union Square. Friendly staff as well. Would stay again, especially at this price point!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were charmed by this older hotel. Although our room was small it had everything we needed to be comfortable, right down to a choice of pillows. We loved the view onto Union Square which was buzzing with Christmas activity and decorations. Very handy for the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf and close to lots of places to eat. Sears restaurant next door well recommended. Enjoyed the continuous supply of tea, coffee and homemade cookies in the foyer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small but full of character. Some have great views of Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chancellor Hotel on the 11th floor in March. Overall our stay was good; further information:
Location - excellent. Just 1 block from union square, on the Powell St cablecar line, safe area
Check-in - fine, quick
Hotel - clean, friendly. Complimentary tea, coffee & cookies was a bonus!
Room - comfortable, clean. Bathroom fine; towels very clean but looked a little old. Bed very comfortable. Room very warm, quiet with windows closed but very noisy when the windows were opened.

Scala's restaurant across the road is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while in town for a job interview. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world so I am always a bit nervous about staying in smaller, less expensive places in major cities. I was really pleasantly surprised. The location was ideal and allowed me to squeeze in a ton of sightseeing and meeting up with friends at the beginning and end of my stay. My room was somewhat cramped but comfortable and clean. The hotel has an old feel and could certainly use some updating so don't expect to love the decor or find everything looking pristine. However, if you just want a decent place to stay in a great location from which to explore the city, I recommend this hotel hands down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visit San Francisco annually and will make this our hotel in the city. It's located in a very central area. The rooms are small but well appointed, very clean and comfortable. For an unexpected bonus we watched the Chinese New Year's Parade pass by the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Upon arrival, the front desk was very helpful in getting us set up in a room hours before check-in time. The Bellman did a great job helping us up. The hotel has a unique character. I think it has real class while also maintaining comfort. To me it was like going back in time (old world hotel). When the sun goes down, you can even hear a trumpet being played from the open window that could seduce any evening. I also like that the hotel isn't over sized, you have everything you need. It is centrally located in Union Square. They also provide local organic apples and my wife loved the rubber ducky!

One key note of advice I received from a local is to use Lyft (an alternative taxi system) instead of taxis. It's cheaper, easier and friendlier.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor, room 1501. Don't mess it up because we will be back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.