We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Staff is very helpful and friendly. They don't put on airs like their nearby neighbor. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. I know it is a bit on the small side in regards to bathroom space, but overall the Hotel's historical charm makes up for the tight spaces. My wife and I go there almost every year and enjoy it every time. I believe it is reasonably priced for the area and I will continue to patronize the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    1,398
    224
    46
    18
See reviews for
388
1,983
239
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I visit the Chancellor at least 2 times a year because of it's great location and reasonable price. The rooms are not too small and the personnel are friendly. Also, the rooms are very quiet. You can use public transportation to many locations throughout San Francisco so a car is not necessary and more costly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is old, but the rooms have been renovated, and so they are comfortable.
My room was very quiet, but I think I was lucky with my neighbors, because you could occasionally hear the person next door coughing. The location is great. The bathroom is very small, and the layout is not great for such a small size. The stuff is very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place is a jewel for the price. The room was charming and quiet, although just a bit tight with two twin beds. Fantastic breakfast. Great staff. I visit San Francisco every December for a conference. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back to avoid the hubbub of Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just one block from Union Square and good on all fronts. Relatively cheap parking nearby, the stay itself was not as expensive as many others of its quality and location, and the service was adequate. Our room on the backside of the building was nice and quiet, which is quite amazing considering the location. Whether in SF for business or exploring the city, this place is a safe bet.

Room Tip: Quiet on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We only stayed a couple of nights in San Francisco. Parking outside was easy and once the car was unpacked, it was whisked away within minutes to be safely parked somewhere. My problem was I left my camera in the glove box. No problem, within minutes it was back again and once I retrieved my camera it was away. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

The room was small, but very cosy (And no I'm not a real estate agent). It was clean and you had pillows to die for and what a sellection.

Like a number of hotels in the USA we experienced there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room however there was a coffee machine in the lobby with fresh milk and cream.

The location was good with the Tram stopping literally outside the hotel but I did find that the area was a little quiet at night i.e not that many bars. I know what you are going to say. "I must have been blind", but we honestly could not find a decent bar within walking distance.

There were a lot of homeless on the street but overall I felt very safe. There are plently of police around, mostly outside Starbucks (Probably the safest coffee house in town)

Room Tip: The Chancellor was a great little hotel but if I were to go to San Francisco again I would stay near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Another fabulous stay at the Chancellor! We stay every year in December to shop and take in the city at Christmas. We love that all the rooms are non-smoking, they always smell fresh and are very comfortable. Can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is there. Many long time employess we know and greet by name every year. The food in Luques is always delicious, my fav is the bacon avocado omlete. And try their homemade fries with lunch-to die for. We have already booked our reservation for next year's trip. See you soon Chancellor!

Room Tip: All room ending in 03 have a great view of Union Square. At Christmas the tree is beautiful and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.