We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chancellor Hotel on Union Square to your Saves list
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chancellor hotel about a week ago. San Francisco was the last leg of our road trip and we wanted to stay somewhere comfortable with a good location. We picked the Chancellor due to the very affordable room rates and reviews. We were not dissapointed. As soon as we got there, the staff was friendly and helpful. We valet our car which is a little expensive ($30 a night) but we are in a city and this is the way it is. We were aware of this. We checked in on the highest floor because I had heard it can be a bit noisy. Our room was small, very clean and fit our needs perfectly. The room does have a huge closet where we were able to store our luggage and belongings. The bed was very comfortable! E very morning I went and got free coffee in the lobby which is offered all day. This hotel is very warm and inviting. The only complaint I have, which is not the hotel's fault ,was there is construction going on on Powell St so if you want your windows open, it is all you hear. Generally speaking, we did not spend much time in the room and at night the construction was finished. Wonderful Restaurant across the Street. Delicious Italian!! We did use the cable cars but to be honest, it is great for the experience not if you are on a time schedule! Being that it is "tourist" season, most of them were usually packed and it was tough to get on. By the last day, we decided to take cabs. (which arent easy to get in this city either) Overall, great experience, would go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    1,489
    239
    45
    18
See reviews for
418
2,095
252
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location. We could walk almost everywhere! Would recommend it. When we first arrived we were greeted by the stench of urine outside the door. But that happens in San Fran, we got over that quickly. The staff were polite and courteous. I loved that the hotel (and everyone else in san fran) gave a sh** about the environment. We were given a plastic bag in the hotel room to collect recyclables, and encouraged not to renew towels. The bed was really comfortable, and the room was surprisingly quiet given the busy location. Yes.. I think I would stay there again. The small room really didn't matter. We were literally only there to sleep, shower and change... San fran has too many awesome things to see and do (and eat!)

Room Tip: We used hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Cookies and fruit were supplied daily in the lobby. We were on the 14th flour up above any possible traffic noise. With our window open every night we were serenaded with a saxaphone which only added to the atmosphere. The room was big enough for two with a fridge and a great walk-in closet. The Chancellor even has a pillow menu, which I was happy to try out. We would highly recomend this hotel for anyone to stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is in a great location just off Union Square. It's very central to transit especially if you don't want to have to take a taxi to get to the hotel.
The rooms are European style: small, comfortable, very clean, but over furnished. Our room had far too much bulky furniture. Given the size of the room, they would do better with having one small chair and table. There is no central air / or air conditioning. So if you're travelling in warmer months, you might find your room gets too warm. We were travelling in May (average 18C / 67F) and found it airless. The windows do open, but with the fire escape right there, we didn't feel safe having the windows open wide at night.
The elevators are small and slow. The front desk staff were okay. Nothing special to note there ― they did their job with such lacklustre. But the man offering tour / visitor info opposite the front desk was very helpful. The bartender was also quite friendly.
I think that on our next visit to San Francisco we'll look for other places to stay before returning here. That's not to say we won't return, but we'd like to explore other options offering something with a little more wow factor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend..Due to alte arrival, called the reception adn they could not have been more friendly and accomodating. I understand some rooms may face the back walls, but ours was facing the busy Powell street, and it did not fail to impress us that once the windows were closed, the noise was almost totally blocked. The lack of A/C was no problems at all as it was cold in the city, and there was a ceiling fan available as well. Bear in mind that it is a building almost 100 years old, but rooms have renovated and modern/boutique look...Great services at the reception and by the concierge..A great touch was the always available coffee and tea pots in the lobby...And the location!!!!!!!!...That in itself is worth the stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Location, location, location!! The Chancellor Hotel is located conveniently in midst of Union Square with easy access to shopping, dining and transportation. Hopping on a cable car nearly in front of the hotel was not only a fun event for the kids, but the perfect way to reach Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 33 to Alcatraz, Ghirardelli, China Town and so much more. The staff was always friendly and extraordinarily helpful (particularly the bellman!), and yes the cookies were in the lobby and they were warm. No, there is no air conditioning, but a nice ceiling fan made up for that along with windows that open wide to the street below, plus August is usually cool with foggy days and evening.

While I enjoyed the sounds of the city late into the evening, my husband was frustrated with the noise and had trouble sleeping. I've read that a request for a high floor on the back of the hotel may eliminate this problem. The room was appealing with a comfortable bed, and the candy dish made the kids smile. The hotel is lined with old fashioned fire escapes and I was heard to quickly proclaim "NO!" as my 12 year old daughter asked "Is that our balcony and can I go out there??"

Luques was marginal... pricey for Dennys-like fare, I would not return. My recommendation is to try Honey Honey Crepery just down the street and around the corner.

Charming hotel at a wonderful price in a very desirable location. My hotel of choice for trips to SF!

To read more visit:
http://livlifetoo.blogspot.com/2011/08/san-francisco-tourist-union-square.html

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Location was great right at Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf ran right in front of hotel. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. The free coffee & cookies in the lobby was a nice touch. The water pressure in the shower was the best I've ever had in a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.