We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Save Saved
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay!
Ranked #46 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old fashioned class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Huntington is a hotel as we used to know them. The rooms could use some updating but maintained well. The concierge takes time to help and the hotel employs a friendly and knowledgeable driver who will transport you to your destination. The restaurant has a great breakfast and in the evening it is a lively bar. I've stayed there three times and would be happy to return

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    198
    60
    34
    17
See reviews for
78
328
39
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for just a couple of nights and had a very good time. It is not too big a hotel, which I like, and one of the best features for my taste is the fact that you can open the windows in the room!
The room was comfortable, with nice views of the city. They have a coy bar with fireplace and live piano music. We did not have the time to check the spa which is supposedly real good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival, and were pleasantly surprised to have a 600+ square ft room in San Francisco. I expect some of the rooms must have great views from the top of Nob Hill, but we did not. This was fine as the room was extremely comfortable. Housekeeping and room service were very good. Breakfast was pricey as expected, but the cooking was excellent. I recommend eating at least one meal in the hotel restaurant (Big Four). I didn't try the spa, but noted the gym was a little small. Maybe this is because climbing up and down the hill is enough exercise for most people.

The location was good- I mostly walked everywhere so I'm not sure how accessible public transportation was compared to other locations. There seemed to be bus stops a few blocks away and one of the trolley lines passes the hotel. There was not too much shopping nearby, other then the stores in Union Square. There were many good restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk.

Parking was expensive- about $50 per day. I think that has more to do with San Francisco than this specific hotel. There was some street parking and a public garage one block from the hotel that was $35 per day.

In my opinion, the only downside to this hotel was that the in-room wifi was unreliable. It was about $10/day and often did not work, which was a problem being on a business trip. The free wifi in the lobby was better but the lobby was very small and not a good area to get work done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Two years ago we stayed down the street at the Mark Hopkins and were unhappy, not here.
We were upgraded, without asking, to a suite on the top floor. The large rooms had fine views, older furniture a bit shabby but still comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive. The exercise room was on the small side but it was enough for a quick work-out. We stopped for a drink at the
restaurant, The Big 4, and liked the clubby atmosphere. The solo piano player was skilled in his
presentation of music from the Great American Songbook. The location was excellent, only a short walk to the major retail sections of the city. Although I preferred the amenities of The Fairmount this is still a hotel to consider.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was here for a quick stay (one night).

Service was very good, from the reception to the bartender at Big Four to James, the doorman. They refer to fellow colleagues by their first names which was refreshing and makes you feel at home. With that said, the Concierge was rather aloof and did not maintain the high standards of other employees (I had spoken with her phone prior to arrival and also during my stay).

The bar was lively and there were locals who seemed to be regulars. They also have a courtesy car that takes guests to destinations close by.

The building is old and somewhat musty but ironically, that adds to the charm. My room was HUGE but felt that it needed a simple interior decorating upgrade. The bathroom was high class. Huge and well laid out. It gave me ideas for redoing my bathroom at home.

One negative which is beyond the hotel's control, there are renovations being made at the church across the street which my room overlooked. The workers start early and I could hear the drilling and other construction noise. The bathroom has an acoustics window which I cut out the sound but that was not the case in the bedroom.

Overall, a nice decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear 007B,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here at the Huntington Hotel. I'm pleased that you were happy with our service level and the sincerity of our staff, along with the size of our guest rooms. I'm also happy that you got some great ideas for bathroom renovations in your own home!

It's unfortunate that your otherwise pleasurable stay with us was diminished somewhat by your interaction with our Concierge. It's certainly our intent for all of our guests to feel that the Huntington is their home away from home, and I'm sorry that this experience during your stay didn't live up to that standard. I do hope that upon your next visit to San Francisco you'll give us another chance to improve upon your impression of us.

Wishing you safe and happy future travels...

Cheers,
Kellie
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our own timeshare hotels were all booked up, so we were offered the Huntington for twice what we would have used in points. After having looked at the website for the Huntington, we were ready with tip money in our pockets. . . .for the valet (there is NO free parking - $52/day w/taxes), then for the gentleman who took our suitcases to the room. Since the bar/dining area is a "business casual dress", we had to change from our day-around-the-city attire. Went to the piano bar after 5:30 to enjoy a stiff drink. :) You have to PAY for internet service in the room, but it's free in the lobby; or if you want, there are 2 computers in the business center. Of course, when I was using the computer, someone was in a hurry to use mine!! Scaaaary--but from the 9th floor, you can stick your head out the window and fall out. I wouldn't leave children unattended! No coffee pot in the room. Room service for coffee will cost you. However, Grace Cathedral across the street has a Peet's coffee vendor open from 7:30(?) to 4:00. They sell sandwiches and treats. The Huntington Park across the street is also a nice little park to unwind and enjoy a sunny day. Sorry, but I didn't dare ask about the spa services. . . .kaching, kaching, I think. We tipped going in and tipped going out.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask about the safety of wide opening windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite for a getaway weekend. The hotel is a little on the dearer side price wise but is a lovely almost traditional "English hotel". The staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious with a generously sized bathroom. We had dinner and breakfast and although the menu is not extensive the food was very attractively presented and of a high quality. The wine list is excellent.

Room Tip: We went for a higher level room which gave lovely views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.