We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat in a bustling city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Play!
Ranked #21 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in a bustling city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

All the staff at the Huntington Hotel are incredibly accommodating and friendly! The hotel is rich in historical elegance and nostalgia. The rooms are large and spacious. Beds comfortable. The bathroom in my room was very large and a bit dated, however it was spotless. The best part is how quiet the rooms are - no city noises makes for a pleasant night's sleep. They still have turn down service, leaving a chocolate on the pillow and a bottle of water every night of my stay. My room was on the 9th floor and the City view was beautiful. Compared to other hotels in the city, it's great value and very pleasant experience!

As a business traveller, I did notice that electric outlets we not conveniently located at your fingertips, but easily accessible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    241
    68
    36
    17
See reviews for
102
404
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our room was very spacious with elegant touches and tasteful decor. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The meals we had at the hotel were excellent. Our room was very quiet and the blackout curtains and comfortable beds ensured a great sleep. We appreciated the piano music while dining and the lack of annoying cell phones ringing. After our days of exploring and walking, the pool and hot tub were just the ticket. They were uncrowded and quiet. We'd stay here again....San Francisco was an impulse destination but we'll visit again for sure....and the Nob Hill Cafe is close by for great Italian food (especially their lasagne and gelato).

Room Tip: We were on the eleventh floor and it was very quiet....never had to wait long for an elevator...but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the room was very clean and roomy, by luck we got what was called a junior suite. The price was more than we wanted to spend ($214/night), but the SF International Film Festival was also going on when we were there, so might be less expensive when there is not a huge event close by. We don't usually eat in the hotels b/c of price and quality inconsistency, but we were very tired when we arrived. There is nothing worse than getting waxed on price and then the food is mediocre or worse, but the food was excellent!! Staff very helpful and courteous. I would park in a deck near the hotel and save $$$.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After having made our reservations three months ago...was first concerned to see our two requests - two beds and feather free room were not met. After making the manager aware, still no accommodation, apology or service recovery provided. Very disappointing...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Vicky D.,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I'm incredibly sorry that you were so disappointed in your experience here at the Huntington. It certainly is not the norm for our guests to leave the hotel feeling very disappointed, and I'm in the process of researching your stay to see what communication issues on our end might have resulted in your needs not being met.

Again, I'm very sorry that you weren't happy with your Huntington Hotel experience. We definitely pride ourselves on our service, and we appreciate guests such as yourself telling us when you're not happy, so we can identify areas for improvement. We do hope that you'll give us a chance to change your impression of us in the future upon your next visit to San Francisco.

Thank you again, Vicky.

Wishing you safe and happy travels,

Kellie
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Small, friendly hotel in quiet corner of San Francisco. Received room upgrade to incredibly spacious suite with great views of the bay. The hotel has a comfortable, lived in but old money feel. Yes, the carpet is a bit stained but the bed is so comfortable, the living area so spacious and the staff so helpful that I could overlook this. This is a very quiet and pleasant area of the city and quite safe to walk around . Doorman seemed to know neighborhood dogs by name!

The restaurant is is evocative of private supper club and quite busy. There is piano music in lounge. The food is not cutting edge but satisfactory. Excellent onion soup.
I have heard the Spa is wonderful as well but did not get to try it.
This hotel is not for those seeking trendy mood lighting or high tech amenities. It is for those seeking to feel at home in a city that is not.
Would love to return there!

Room Tip: try to get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's expensive but then it's Nob Hill. But a wonderful place to stay. Helpful and professional staff. Simply awesome breakfast (if you have it included - very pricey otherwise!) The spa is lovely and a great place to hang out with a balcony in the sunshine plus the pools, sauna, steam room, gym and relaxation room. The location is perfect. Highly recommmended especially if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel for a romantic couples getaway. Upon arrival at The Huntington, you are greeted by a very accommodating doorman and front desk staff. They are most interested in making you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay. This is an understated hotel with a small but very elegant lobby. My friend and I were given a spacious room with a marvelous view of Huntington Park. This is not a hotel for those looking for over the top luxury. The rooms are very clean but the interior design could be updated a bit. We did not take advantage of the Spa due to limited time, but look forward to another longer visit which would include this aspect. Breakfast at the Big 4 Restaurant was very well executed except for wait staff who were a bit slow and made some small mistakes with the food orders.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.