We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A posh grand hotel but comfy & relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Play!
Ranked #14 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A posh grand hotel but comfy & relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our teenage kids would have found the grandeur, elegance and romance of this hotel a little too stifling however we were enthralled by it and felt terribly spoilt and lucky to be staying here on business as was just what we needed. Tranquil, peaceful, impressive with views to die for and the buffet breakfast in The Big Four Restaurant was worth every penny, a total spoilt foodies heaven with everything you could imagine to indulge on. The beauty of this hotel is that it's out of the way but still within walking distance of everything. The rooms were spacious and light with loads of cupboard space and room to spread out. However weirdly they didn't have tea and coffee making facilities which is disappointing for a 5 star hotel. We hired a conference room for meeting and the staff were excellent and interestingly it was incredibly impressive for our clients but not expensive. Infact our travel agent got us a great deal for the hotel and if want to really spoil yourself and feel a part of San Francisco history you'll feel it here. Avoid eating in their basement Asian themed restaurant which has a floating band on their disused swimming pool it's full of teenage girls celebrating their birthdays and the food was appalling. Apart from that the hotel was our little bit of luxury for the year without our kids! Go for it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    259
    71
    37
    17
See reviews for
109
445
48
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived at the Huntington after having our car broken in to and a little out of sorts.We were met by Jason,the bellman, who helped calm us down,then we talked to Chris at the concierge,who had our car fixed in less than 2 hours! The front desk staff got our rooms ready and they were beautiful. Needless to say the staff at The Huntington is the best. The location at the top of Nob Hill is perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime.

Room Tip: 604 for a King bed and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA, CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This 90 year old hotel is in great condition with plenty of san-fran-vintage charm. Not only did they let us check in early, but we were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite. The bathroom was huge with wall to wall marble tile & mirrors. We had a comfy bed with soft sheets. The location is great, about 3 blocks north of Union Square. There is a cable car running on California BLVD that stops close to the hotel. Staff was amazing. Our first stay in Nob Hill & we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent location, easy to visit different areas of the city in short order. Decided not to rent a car this time in SF and found we didn't need one. The doormen were always ready with a cab and the cable car is accessible one block from the hotel.

The staff is very pleasant and moves quickly to assist you with any problem or answer any question you might have. I think the hotel has had some renovation recently and many rooms were upgraded. We had a fabulous view from just the 5th floor, I can't imagine what the view would be from the 10th floor. It was overcast the first day and gorgeous sunny days for the next two. The room was spacious and well appointed.

Very accommodating maid service and room service was very, very fast. We had lunch once; it was simple and delicious. The bar seems to be very popular. We stopped in several times for cocktails after returning from dinner and usually most of the tables were taken. There is also an excellent pianist.

We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed at the Huntington Hotel several times in the past and have always enjoyed the understated quiet and elegance of the Old Gal. Traveling as much as I do, one gets a bit weary of the modern, hard edged design and it's a sweet reminder, when staying at the Huntington, of an era of softer design and quieter times. Service has always been good; parking cost is reasonable for SF an Nob Hill. Convenient public transport is all around and you can end up with wonderful views. Make sure to enjoy the small park nearby for morning Tai Chi.

Room Tip: Ask for a front, higher room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just came back from a lovely 2 night stay at The Huntington Hotel. The hotel is charming and the staff was extremely helpful with any requests. The breakfast at the Big 4 was very fresh and every part of the hotel was extremely clean. The pool and gym area is slightly small but still very relaxing with huge windows to let the sun shine in. I almost missed the sauna but glad I found it. They also have an elevator that takes you straight to the spa so no need to run through the lobby in your robe. It's on top of a hill, so do your stretching!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a excellent location. I booked the room through Hotwire, so the hotel was a surprise for me. It comes under the preferred hotels group, which includes some of the most luxurious properties around the globe.

The hotel had a convenient location and easy walkability to the Union square area. Where is it was just around the corner of the tenderloin district of Sfo, which scared me at the first look. Stay away from that area.

The staff and the concierge of the hotel is amazing, you can not imagine the level of service they provide. The doorman and bellman were very helpful in guiding directions. The concierge can get to discount coupons and suggest you excellent restaurants to dine in. (Oriental Pearl - Chinese)

The breakfast at the Big4 restaurant was excellent. The egg-huntington was the best egg-dish i have ever had. The rooms were of classic styling, and very welcoming and comfortable. Its was just like home. I was not able to use the spa but the facility looked amazing. All the toiletries in the hotel are of L'occitane.

Overall i would recommend staying at this classic heritage hotel, for their extreme level of service offered towards the guest, and the pampering that is offered at that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.