We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and relaxing slice of luxury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Save Saved
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat. Stay. Love.
Ranked #38 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful and relaxing slice of luxury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites for our honeymoon and cannot wait to return. The staff is amazing, location is great and the spa facilities were a nice treat to return to each night. This hotel is a pricey stay but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello aisland84,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us here in San Francisco (and congratulations!). We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you visit the city!

Cheers,
Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    203
    60
    34
    16
See reviews for
85
341
41
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For San Francisco, this hotel has some really large, luminous, and beautifully decorated rooms. We had a gorgeous view of the cathedral and the entire square. I suspect that we got a much better room than what we had reserved because the hotel was overbooked that night. The service wasn't great - all the receptionists I spoke with were unfriendly and some of them outright condescending.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Ski22345,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your large room and the view of Grace Cathedral and Huntington Park across from the hotel. I'm very sorry however to hear that you had sub-par interactions with our staff. What you described is certainly uncharacteristic of what we typically hear about the service level at the Huntington. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate staff and be taken swiftly into account. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to improve your overall impression of the Huntington upon your next visit to San Francisco. Again, thank you for the review.

All the best,
Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Huntington this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity I was able to get for my money in a city such as San Francisco!

The hotel had a nice old fashioned charm with modern upgrades. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I loved how the staff dressed in the same upscale/old elegance way that they would have back in the 1920s just a great ambiance to the whole overall hotel. On arrival I was told they had an upgraded room for me without requesting it and free of charge which was such a win because the room was HUGE.

The only reason I'm giving the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because although the room was great there were some obvious signs of wear and tear such as a VERY old mini fridge, and slight rust in the large tub as well as some stains on the carpet, nothing that was a major turn off but just obvious little signs that maybe its time to change out just a few minor things. Also, there wasn't free wifi, for a fee per DAY we could access internet or go down the street for free wifi.

The hotel is in a great location and pretty centrally located where everything is a trolley ride or bus ride away which is great. The spa is absolutely beautiful with an indoor pool and sauna. Overall this is a great hotel and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at The Huntington Hotel during my stay in San Francisco last week. The staff was very welcoming, helpful and attentive. The staff makes this hotel a wonderful place to stay. This hotel was very clean and quiet. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to be pampered. The pool area was beautiful and very clean. This hotel is also located in a nice area, with beautiful views of the city. The hotel is also very close to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Huntington on our way home to Australia after a ski holiday. I was very happy with our stay here. The staff was incredibly friendly/helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. The spa area is great and the bar is fantastic. The pianist even started playing 'Waltzing Matilda' having overhead our Australian accents! The hotel is quiet but centrally located spot (about 15 mins walk from union sq). Our rooms were very spacious and tastefully appointed. We loved the charm of this hotel. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My adult daughter had stayed here several months ago and raved about the hotel. When we reserved two rooms way in advance you would think that they would give us very nice rooms. Her first room was quit dated and unattractive....she was disappointed and asked for a room change. Her new room was spectacular. Our room was half the size but nice with a view. The staff was very nice . The dinningroom left a lot to be desired. Food was just average.

Room Tip: Be specific....want a remodeled room....view rooms are not always the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Huntington revealed as the gem of Nob Hill. Our room was very big, very classy, with excellent bath and great toiletries, L'Occitane!!! The service is always attentive and helpful.
And the Spa is incredible! Please reserve time to spend in it, because is the only thing I regret from my trip to SF!The restaurant is like a British Club, dark oak, green leather, and the service excellent, Didier is a gentleman!!! The location is good, close to Union Sq but in a nicer and quieter neighborhood. A wonderful week in SF!!! We definitely will come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.