We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned hotel with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat. Stay. Love.
Ranked #22 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned hotel with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were a family of four travelling and were upgraded to two suite rooms on check in. The facilities were spacious and the staff were very curteous. Would happily stay again on business and pleasure. Pool is a little small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    228
    66
    35
    17
See reviews for
95
388
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Lovely old style hotel with amazing staff, we received a complimentary bottle of champagne and gifts from the spa as it was our anniversary so that was a lovely touch. The spa are is great, just what u need after a day around San Fran. Be warned the hotel is on top of a steep steep hill, but it can be reached by cable car so it's all good, however San Francisco is foggy and chilly so come prepared, unlike us, it can be a bit of a shock at first, but the city is amazing, cultured and uniquely diverse, do treat yourself to a bit of luxury, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This review is overdue - I stayed at the Huntington Hotel just after the 4th of July. I stayed in a city view suite for the first time - it is well worth the extra cost and my mother agreed. The views are phenomenal - I could see Grace Cathedral and the park.

The flawless service keeps me returning to the Huntington time after time. It was close to my birthday and I found a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne with a red rose in a vase. Prompty upon arrival, the front desk staff checked if our room was ready ahead of time and offered us coffee/tea. Service is always performed with a smile and you feel genuinely welcome.

I also like the quiet atmosphere - you are taking a risk when you sleep overnight in San Francisco, but I have never experienced this problem at the Huntington - I am a light sleeper. The bed is extremely comfortable and the bathroom has a lovely deep bathtub which is perfect for a long hot soak.The Huntington's rooms run large by San Francisco standards - another plus.

The room service is very reasonably priced and delicious. I had a cheese omelet for dinner with a side of potatoes and it was under $16 - along with the complimentary bottle of champagne I felt well fed. I also enjoyed breakfast immensely in the lobby - the Big 4 restaurant has the feel of an exclusive gentleman's club and has retained the quality of a classier era in San Francisco. I strongly recommend any egg dish - I have tried their poached eggs and they were done perfectly.
Coffee was delicious. The breakfast prices are not low, but with the wonderful atmosphere and delicious food/beverages, I didn't mind.

I always leave the Huntington vowing to come back whenever possible. The experience is always memorable.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a superior room and the city view suite and although you will pay more for a city s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location at the top of Nob Hill in San Francisco, but the hotel is so old in need of repair, serious repair. We stayed on the 7th floor overlooking Grace Cathedral and the Fairmont Hotel and Mark Hopkins hotels. But the room was so old that the chrome was falling off the crome shink handles. The toilet was so small we barely fit on the seat and I only weigh 160 pounds. The walls are so thin that when the apartment next to us came in at 10 pm we would clearly hear every word they said as if they were in our room just having a conversation. I told the front desk and they knew of the problems and said the hotel had just been sold and the new owners would address these problems. The consierge was busy on the phone and would not very helpful and did not know where a restaruant was located and gave us the wrong directions. The restuarant on site was wonderful and had wonderful breakfast. Breakfast for 2 came to $38.00 before the tip. The parking is $ 45.00 per night before a tip to the door man. The beds were nice, room had a refrigerator but no coffee maker and no coffee in the room. You have to go downstairs and buy a coffee for $5.00. The real plus for the hotel is the spa and indoor pool. Wonderful, but you need reservations and not sure of the costs. I would not return to this hotel unless they update the hotel and make it consistent with the other great hotels in San Francisco. It is way overpriced for what you receive. Stay at the Fairmont and Mark Hopkins just down the street if you want the Nob Hill experience and are willing to pay for the experience.

Room Tip: stayed in room 703 which is one of the smaller rooms. They first gave us 911 which was next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is so timeless. The original architecture and wood work on the inside is beautiful. The rooms have been renovated and are modern traditional. The best place about the hotel is the nob hill spa, which is definitely one of the best in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel on top of Nob Hill across from Grace Cathedral. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The room was very spacious with a modern bathroom. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment. We had a coupon so it was quite affordable. One note of caution, Parking is very expensive ($44 per night). We parked on the street, but be careful to read all the signs on the block to avoid parking when you shouldn't. Grace Cathedral parking is cheaper (the bell man pointed me in that direction). Also there's a Peet's in Grace Cathedral to get coffee! My wife used the spa and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I just spent five nights at the Huntington. It's a tranquil refuge from downtown SF, and our room was simply delightful. But we did have one significant problem: no wifi throughout our stay. Wifi at the hotel is provided by AT&T; if there is a problem, you call them, not the hotel. I did this, without any success, but with promises that they were going to "escalate" our problem, with the hotel management. Nothing happened, so we told the hotel about our problem. The concierge gave us a cock and bull story about connectivity being a problem throughout San Francisco - this may well be true, but was irrelevant to our problem, evidenced by the fact that the free wifi in the lobby worked fine. So we managed, sitting in the lobby or in a nearby cafe. But it irritates me that a hotel of this quality should completely outsource its wifi service and at the same time outsource any responsibility for the service. ( also find it irritating that they charge for wifi on top of the room charge). But frankly, the hotel management was simply not interested in our connectivity problem, and offered no solution - beyond sitting in the lobby. They made no mention of AT&T escalating the problem with them, and did not even offer to contact AT&T. I find this unacceptable in a hotel that wants to be world class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.