We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent visit to the Huntington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Huntington to your Saves list
The Scarlet Huntington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park&Play!
Ranked #11 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An excellent visit to the Huntington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a first visit to the Huntington this past weekend; and were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite - room 1001 on the tenth floor. Sweeping views over Fisherman's Wharf to Alcatraz and beyond on one side, and out towards the Bay Bridge on the other. Room was so enjoyable, we wanted to hang out in it, and a great place to recover after a day of site seeing.
A quick few blocks downhill to Union Square (or tough climb up) the location worked for us. The California line for the cable cars goes right by the front door, the Fairmont and its Tonga Room just across the square, and the Cathedral and park right in front of us. Chinatown just a short walk away, and North Beach a little further.
Only spent a brief time in the spa - no services, but jumped in the pool and jacuzzi; very relaxing. The staff and service seemed great; we were very well taken care of.
Perhaps not the place for everyone, but our experience was excellent.
Thank you Huntington!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear coastaleddie,
Thank you for your review -- we're glad that we made you feel taken care of! It certainly sounds like you did a lot of sight seeing, and we agree that our Nob Hill Spa is a perfect place to rest after a long day of that. We hope to see you again upon your next visit to San Francisco!
Sincerely,
Kellie
The Huntington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    267
    72
    38
    17
See reviews for
114
468
49
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting San Fran. Great location right by the cable car and only a short walk to Union Square. Friendly staff and large comfortable rooms. Would recommend for people who want a convenient higher end hotel but don't want to splash too much cash.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

For $400 a night I was expecting more than what we got. The bed was terrible. We found it hard to sleep as we both got sore backs from the bed. There is no coffee machine in the room and I need my coffee to get going in the morning. The nearest place to get coffee was a 20 minute round trip. There are no ice machines. Instead there is "ice service" @ $3 & tip ! There is no mini bar... just an old fridge in the room which was not working. Yet on the web site it still says that every room has a mini bar, When I asked I was told "oh we no longer do mini bar service". The food in the restaurant was expensive and of poor quality. The staff were very unfriendly and rather snobbish. Ironic considering we were paying guest and they were working there. Never again!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear AdaLovelace,
We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in us during your recent visit to San Francisco. The Huntington Hotel team prides itself on gracious, genuine service and making our guests feel at home, and we will certainly take your comments to heart. We hope that you'll give us a chance in the future to provide you with the excellent personal service we're known for.
Sincerely,
Kellie
The Huntington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I treated my friend to an overnight at the hotel and spa. It was a wonderful experience. Our spa treatments were heavenly and we had lunch both days at the spa--food was great!! Our room was huge, clean and had a view of Grace Cathedral. It's a perfect location--took a short cab ride to Farralon on Post St. for dinner near Union Square--the concierge recommended it. I want to go back as soon as possible. It was quite a treat!! Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 906 had a wonderful view of Grace Cathedral. Windows, unless opened, keep out noise very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

As a native San Franciscan returning to the "city" The Huntington Hotel is as classic as they come. Rooms are comfortable and clean with city scape views from Nob Hill.The staff is friendly and accomodating from Front Desk, Concierge and Housekeepers. Location is great for all attractions and business locations and the Big Four restaurant is like walking into a piece of San Francisco history. The food and drink are wonderful too

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the park across the street. The cable car line runs right past the property too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Finally was able to take advantage of a deal offered at a Nob Hill Hotel! The Huntington was a former residential apartment hotel when originally opened, When it changed to a regular hotel they did not subdivide the rooms. Because of this, the rooms are much larger than typical SF hotel rooms. Our 8th floor room had a sitting area complete with sofa, coffee table and large writing desk. Some of the furniture was a little worn but it still allowed you to imagine what it might have been like living in a 1st class residential hotel in the 1920's atop of Nob Hill. The room faced Taylor St. and had a partial view of Grace Cathedral. (As we were leaving, the maid had a door open to a room that faced California St. As I peeked in, I realized the room was smaller but the view was fantastic). One problem that I had with our larger room was the TV was on the far wall. It made it perfect if you were sitting in the living room area but was a little too far to enjoy from the bed.

Our package included breakfast. The 1st morning we did venture down to the Big 4 Restaurant. The service was fantastic. Our waiter, gave us many tourist tips. The regular coffee was great. (The restaurant opens at 0700 but the lobby has the same great coffee available before that time. The last morning I decided to get up early. It was nice to be able to get a coffee to go while I took an early morning walk thru the lovely area. I do this every time I go to SF usually stopping at a Starbucks-there are no SBs on the hill, so this is a nice touch to have good coffee available. The rest of the mornings we used our breakfast voucher and splurged on room service-relaxing relaxing relaxing-to start our day that way, All of the entrees we ordered were delicious. Again service impeccable.

Also loved that there is a doorman and only one way into lobby. Not several entrances where people are coming and going. Concierge available and helpful.

Initially was told free Wifi only available in lobby. I brought my tablet down there as I wanted to look something up but couldn't get on. Concierge came over and helped me figure it out. Apparently the Wifi was available and free in the room as I was not charged when I later when I used it in my room.

I had a massage in the spa- a little pricey at $130 for 50 minutes but the spa area is very nice. I loved it because no children under 16 years old are not allowed the in pool or jacuzzi. (for those with children: Handerly, Palace, Sheraton at the wharf, Marriott on Market all allow children at their pools), This made the Spa experience very relaxing. Use of pool, jacuzzi and sun deck free with hotel stay.

The California Cable Car stops right in front of hotel. You can buy an all day pass for the Cable Cars and buses for $14 directly from the Cable Car attendant. You cannot buy these from the busdrivers. Each Cable Car ride is $6 and bus is $2. So if you plan to travel throughout the city, this may be a good option to invest in. No bus lines to my knowledge run in front of the hotel so you have to use the Cable Car (which is fun anyway) or walked to another street to access the busline. (The hotel also says they have a limo that goes to Union Square) The other thing about the California Cable car is that it is not as crowded as the other 2 lines and so I find it more enjoyable to ride. We rode the other line in the evening down to the Wharf area. It was so crowded that you really couldn't see anything if you were inside.

While I love the hustle and bustle of Union Square, it is nice to be in an area that is peaceful. Across the street is Grace Cathedral-looking somewhat like Notre Dame. It has a replica of the Ghilberti Doors. Across the street is Huntington Park. It has a replica of the Tortoise Fountain from Rome.

So to wrap it up, Great Service, great hotel and spa, and great area.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one facing California St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just love the Huntington and look forward to staying there whenever in SF. It is a small but elegant old hotel with a great spa/pool area that is so inviting we use it often to just destress. It overlooks the City from the top of Nob hill with a geat view from the pool and out door terrace. Unfortunately it needs some restoration since the pool overflows when one does laps so they have banned laps which is a MAJOR pity. Hopefully under their new management they can rmedy the situation. Also, it is so annoying to have to pay extra for the wi-fi. But the restaurant, the piano cocktail area and the ambiance more than make up for the inconveniences. Unfortrunately the rooms the sound carries very easily between rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - the front rooms all have a great view of the Huntington Park which is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,436 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,157 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#39 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.