We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Classic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #62 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Poole UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Classic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Booked a 4 night stay with reward points. Double bedded room with view of harbour and Fairmont hotel, reasonably sized room, well furnished and clean, beds super comfy, very large luxurious bathroom.

Breakfast and cocktails at the Top of The Mark, very expensive, but well worth it for the views and the experience.

If you are looking for a huge bling style hotel, with all the "lobby experience" stuff then this hotel is not for you. This is a classic historical hotel, were the luxury is understated, not over the top.

The Mark Hopkins is very centrally located, although you do need to walk up and down hills to get anywhere - but this is San Fancisco! They do however run a free limo service to Union Square.

Overall a very nice hotel, and I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Liked — Super comfy beds
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    594
    235
    110
    49
See reviews for
271
659
102
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I love the Mark Hopkins! My boyfriend and I have stayed there several times and we always enjoy our stay. We have stayed at the Mark twice in December and we always get great rates because of the low season, usually for around $150. The concierge is super helpful with everything, from upgrading us, to making reservations for dinner, to holding a birthday cake in the hotel kitchen for us. The deluxe king rooms are absolutely huge and the beds are really comfortable. Also, sunday brunch at top of the mark cannot be beat!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Stayed one weekend in January with some friends. This property location can't be beaten - adjacent to two (yes, two) cable car lines and easily reached by all forms of transportation. We were upgraded upon our arrival and the staff here are 5 star all the way. I called to have towels sent to us and in less than one minute the doorbell rang - I've never seen such prompt service. The views and access to the Top of the Mark can't be beaten - I see why this place rates so highly. It is smaller than the Fairmont- almost a boutique hotel really, but full of history and charm. This isn't a state of the art place in terms of technology, but it reminds me of an age when hotels were truly grand places. My only gripe was that breakfast (while delicious) was incredibly overpriced. But the bathroom was superb, the bed and linens were excellent and I coudn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Liked — No better location in all of San Francisco - for views, access and charm
  • Disliked — Beware the breakfast buffet - it's delicious but very pricey
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

This is the third time I stayed at the Mark Hopkins - and while I was initially concerned about the 2nd floor room they assigned me, the view was actually pretty cool off of Nob Hill towards Market Street/the South. Room was large and super clean.

The only thing that irked me was the painfully slow wireless internet connection. It was inconsistent, and slow - especially for watching streaming video/music. This is San Fran - center of the tech world - there is no reason why the internet connection should be soooooo slooooow.

Service was fine and location is great - will stay again, but hopefully they will up the connection speed on their wireless routers...

  • Liked — Location and room quality/size
  • Disliked — Slow internet connection
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

So we took advantage of the travel deals currently occurring and chose to stay for a week in early December 2008.

The first thing I did was look out the window where I received my first minor disappointment – our “bay view” room was more like a “city view.” Yes you could see a corner of Alcatraz Island if standing near the window and looking down the street. But if just standing in the middle of the room looking out the window, it was a view of Grace Cathedral, not the bay. The good news is that’s a pretty good view, especially at night in December when the trees in the park all had lights and the interior lights shine out the windows of the cathedral.

The room (a standard room with a king bed) was quite luxurious. It was large, nicely decorated room retaining the historic trim with lush bedding, a walk-in closet, and a marble lined bathroom. Furnishings also included a Radio/CD player and a DVD player, and a mini-bar with room for your own stuff in the armoire that also held the TV. Your choice of newspaper (or newspapers) is/are delivered each morning. There were several items that detracted from the room in my opinion. First, the TV wasn’t a flat-panel TV. To me, you can’t be a “5-star” establishment these days if you haven’t upgraded the TV – they just aren’t that expensive anymore. Second was the internet charge (approximately $10/day). Internet charges just bug me when internet is included almost every “basic” hotel these days and certainly does not cost the hotel anywhere near $10/day to provide internet service to a room. Finally, there was a lack of drawer space – only 2 very small drawers and one medium drawer in the armoire holding the TV and mini-bar.

The public lounge area in the hotel is now very small – they have converted most of it into either a restaurant or the “Executive Club Lounge.” The lounge was nice it had a 42” plasma TV, games, books, newspapers, satellite radio, internet, complementary beverages, a pretty full breakfast (basically a deluxe cold buffet with smoked salmon, nice cheese, fruit, and breads), and other snacks during the day. Plus there is another concierge type person in the lounge to provide assistance. The problem of course is that the Club Lounge isn’t open to general guests – this color and charm will set you back $30 per person per day if you are staying in a “Standard Room” but is included with a “Executive Club Level Room”. We did use lounge extensively one cold and rainy day when we weren’t doing much sight seeing, but I’d be hard pressed to recommend paying for it either as part of the room cost or as a separate charge.

Service is where the Mark Hopkins shines. Every staff member we dealt with was incredibly and went out of their way to help us with what we needed. Especially when dealing with a couple of minor problems and of course getting us to the airport to fly home. In this respect – they achieved perfection.

Hint – the door on California Street marked “Top of the Mark” isn’t just for the restaurant. It will lead you to an elevator to the lobby and the rooms pretty quickly and save you part of the walk up the hill from the Powell Street cable cars.

Hint 2 – Your basic transportation up/down Nob Hill will be the cable cars. They cost $5 each trip. Therefore, you WILL want the muni-passport (1-day $11; 3-day $18; or 7-day $21). See info here: http://www.sfmta.com/cms/mfares/passports.htm Or get the CityPass if you want to include museums too.

  • Liked — The ambiance, Top of the Mark, service
  • Disliked — some noise issues
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed over a weekend for professional meeting.  Location is great and service is outstanding.  Room is somewhat small but the views of the bridge are splendid.  Top floor bar/restaurant is a bit pricey but the exhilarating views of the city and the bay are worth the splurge.  We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rates
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

After many nights researching hotels for this trip I decided on the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins. We were so glad we ended up at the Mark Hopkins. Great location, beautiful hotel in Nob Hill.

ROOM

Booked the Excutive Level King - Room 1422. This room had a grea view of the Golden Gate Bridge/Bay, Grace Cathedral and California Cable Line. Ask for this room.

It is an older hotel like many in San Francisco but well-maintained and nicely decorated. We didn't find the room to be any smaller than a normal hotel we've stayed in during our travels.

CLUB LEVEL A MUST
Make sure you book a Club Level room. Its well worth the extra cost in snack and drinks alone. Its a very nice lounge that serves 5 mini-meals throughout the day starting at 6:30-10:30 I believe. Great for grabbing breakfast, snack or tea in the afternoon, lite appetizers and drinks in the evening. Especially nice if traveling from east coast and haven't adjusted to time difference. I went down and read a few mornings so not to disturb others.

Nancy at the Concierge Desk is very informative and can answer any questions you may have. She was my morning friend each day!

TOP OF THE MARK
The views are great! Dress up and go on up for a drink and dance!

If you book through the website or hotel directly, check back to see if rates drop. We booked and found a reduced rate a few days prior to leaving and hotel matched price. Also check if your company has corporate rates. I was able to get a great price and worth it to stay here.


WARNING: PRINT RESERVATIONS WITH RATES

Make sure you print out your reservation including rates. My only gripe is after calling and speaking directly to a reservationist my new rate was not reflected in the system. Had I not brought along my new confirmation I had been charged the higher price. Even after presenting email confirmation I was second guessed by Front Desk. Not at all how you want to start your trip after traveling several hours. Note to Front Desk staff you are the first impression to your guest. Only gripe about entire trip

I highly recommend getting the City Pass (Citypass.com) with the California and Powell Cable Cars running literally in front of the hotel it makes getting to any place in city a breeze. It includes unlimited cable cars ($5 one-way) and muni buses for $57 for a 7-day pass and includes admissions to attractions and museums.

If you got time also check out Mr. Toads Tours. Sounds corny and 100% touristy but who cares it was well worth the money!

Tadish's on California Street worth the wait.

If your there over a weekend a must is the Farmer's Market at the end of California Street - Take the Cable Car down the hill quick walk to water.

  • Liked — VIEWS AND LOCATON, HISTORIC HOTEL
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.