We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Upscale and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The most important part to me is the room - which was great. Spacious, comfortable bed and showers/bathroom were great. The staff outside was quite humorous and really helped us when our ride back to the airport didn't show up. Very pleased with our stay - the only thing I was disappointed by was that we didn't receive the warmest welcome when we tried to go to the top of the mark. The man greeting us as we got off the elevator was overly snooty and rude to my mother over something so minor and silly , which turned me off to the whole experience and so we left missing what I hear is an amazing view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    593
    235
    110
    49
See reviews for
271
658
102
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MANISTIQUE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I joined my sister for a long weekend and the Mark Hopkins is a beautiful hotel. Gorgeous on the outside & the lobby. Staff was excellent at check-in and concierge very helpful and kind. Our room was nothing spectacular, but then we didn't spend a lot of time in it so it was fine. A lot of money for the room though...but I know the whole city is expensive. That being said, if you stay there or are anywhere near it, the trip to the Top of the Mark to try one of their over 100 martinis is well worth the visit! Spectacular view. I was disappointed that we had a 2nd floor room and absolutely NO view! Just pipes.

Room Tip: We had no view, so if that is important to you, I would recommend you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and toddler in October for a wedding. The location and hotel are beautiful. The staff were very friendly and generally helpful. They did not always have correct information about the wedding but we were able to work around that. The doorman were the most helpful and courteous of all the staff we encountered - getting to and from locations for rehearsals etc with a toddler and car seat via taxi's was challenging at times.

If you and your party are very capable of getting up and and down the hills you are within walking distance of plenty. Pharmacies, restaurants, shopping, etc. There are cable car stops right near the hotel as well. (Look into the Muni passes for the cable cars! They are $6 each ride otherwise.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had read a few mixed reviews on the Mark Hopkins so had lowered my expectations somewhat before our visit. This was a needless precaution as our stay was really enjoyable. Although there was a significant delay gaining access to our room (due to a 100% occupancy the night before), the staff were helpful and we were able to relax and have a coffee in the club lounge. When we did get into our room, it was large, light and airy with lovely large windows and good views. As I would expect in an Intercontinental, the bathroom products were excellent (just a tiny thing I look out for and appreciate). The property is old (which adds to its charm) so there are signs of wear and tear but my partner and I experienced nothing but comfort. We had access to the club lounge, which had been temporarily relocated into a suite on one of the upper floors. The quality of the cocktails bar is noteworthy just for its inclusion of high-end spirits. The canapés … not so much … limited options and not really fresh (maybe this was a function of the temporary location?). That said, we met a few interesting people and it was relaxing to just soak up the views at night. The property is close to good restaurants (and it is worth trying the Top of the Mark while you are in residence) but just be aware that the climb back up the hill is a killer ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place was the worst from trying to check in, getting a room key that worked to them doing repairs at night. Yes they had hammering going on at night(last I looked at the clock it was after11 PM). When I called the desk they said they where working on the lobby yes at night and past 11 PM. AT check are diver could not pull into there lot. We got no help from the bell staff to carry are things in from the street. Also don't go for there up grade room. Are bedroom wall was the wall to the elevator. No need to count sheep you can count the trips the elevator makes. All night long.
It was are first and last time to stay here. Lots of better places to stay in the city. But do go 1 time for drinks at The Top of The Mark. The views are great.

Room Tip: Just don't stay and if you do. Don't do the upgrade if it is room 509.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have liked. I do apologize about the noise you encountered and have shared your feed back with our Management team. I am delighted to hear however that you had an opportunity to enjoy our Top of the Mark Lounge and see the view. Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to contact me at ICMarkHopkins@IHG.com should you like to share any additional comments or experiences from your stay.

Kind Regards,

David Valencia
Assistant Manager – Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved this gorgeous hotel. The front desk, concierge, and room service staff were amazing. We got a great deal on Expedia and upgraded for very reasonable cost at front desk. Convenient to everything. Avis just four blocks away (downhill) for renting car for longer trips, otherwise, use BART, cable car, or cab as overnight parking is $60...! We got Avis at the Avis site for $31 per day, so cheaper to turn in and rerent (note Expedia rate was $70 for Avis car...weird).

The gratuity is included already in the breakfast bill, but well noted so you can't miss it unless you try.
Rooms were exceptionally quiet and well-insulated. It was very cold outside, but our room was never chilly. Would have liked to have been able to make room cooler for sleep, but I think it could only heat or circulate given the outside temp. Wasn't a big deal, just saying.

They had all the toiletries you could need. Anything else small (pain killers, etc.) are available across the street in the other (gaudy) hotel. Walgreens is two steep blocks downhill from the hotel, but nearby at least.
The rooms and bathrooms were lovely and well-appointed, beds very comfortable.
Our itinerary from Friday PM-Tuesday AM included:

Walk down to explore Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradelli's chocolate (skip the famous ice cream shop street side that has a huge line and walk into the complex for a wonderful ice cream shop further in and small lines) with cab ride back uphill to the hotel.

Drive over new part of Oakland bridge at night....an amazing experience.

Breakfast at Blue Mermaid near wharf (very delicious and reasonably priced), afternoon at Muir woods to see the redwoods, followed by dinner in Sausalito at Spinnaker's (great food, very reasonable prices, and fantastic view of the bay).

Drive to Carmel and 17-mile road (Pebble beach) and back (5 hours total) followed byTop of the Mark cocktails and appetizers.

Early morning Alcatraz audio self-tour (excellent). Note: get Alcatraz tickets directly from venue at the wharf ($28-$35) a few days early as they do sell out, and take first or second boat out to avoid crowds...strive for weekday if possible. Much more interesting than I imagined it would be. Ate breakfast at Blue Mermaid near piers, which was fantastic and reasonably priced...very accommodating for dietary requests.

Room Tip: Upgrades are very reasonable. Our room on 11th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Mark Hopkins on two separate visits in Oct/Nov. The check in process on both visits was very efficient. Room was excellent and we were upgraded to a higher floor on our second visit. On our first visit the fridge was not working but another one was provided when we contacted the front desk. Breakfast at the Top of the Mark was excellent but very expensive. $75 for one Light Beginning Buffet and a Mark Hopkins Buffet. After reading a previous review here I am fairly sure we were overcharged. Overall the room was excellent and the views over the city were stunning. The Mark was the only hotel we stayed in during our 5 week visit that did not include Wi Fi. When we checked out on a last visit we left a message at the front desk for the porter but no one came up to the room so my husband had to call again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.