We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT and tired!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“HOT and tired!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room was overly hot for our one night stay. After many complaints, nothing was done to fix this - slept with windows open and a constant longing and hope for a breeze to pass by... The room, while pleasantly accommodated, seems to be dated along with the rest of the property. The elevators are almost reminiscent of a circus act due to their minuscule size and large crowds that feel the need to cram in at every stop.

There are lots of wonderful hotels in San Francisco. This is not one of them. It is average at best and lack the polish and charm that many of the others seem to possess.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JMSinMEM,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    626
    257
    112
    52
See reviews for
293
694
107
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice room with a beautiful view of the Bay, great beds and very quiet. This hotel is like an anomaly compared to most modern hotels - you can tell you're staying in a classic. Service was excellent. Top of the Mark was wonderful for after dinner drinks with a view to die for. Everyone, especially the valet in the front parking lot, was very helpful and eager to please. Seemed like they really enjoyed their jobs which is rare these days. Only disappointment I had (like others) was the charge for Wi-Fi. Not sure how they justify that with the price you're paying for the room. Word to the wise: In your travels in San Francisco, DO NOT GET A PARKING TICKET! We parked down by Pier 39 and came back 2 minutes after our meter expired to find a $84 ticket- Ouch(!) (The parking meters are "smart meters" and notify parking enforcement as soon as they expire...)

Room Tip: As high as you can get and try to get a view of the Bay, of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

After a lovely welcome we were given a room on the fifth floor. Lovely comfortable room. Stunning bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely linens. We dined at the Top of the Mark whilst listening to a jazz band great views and a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

We were a bit disappointed to have to pay for wi fi but found loads of places in the City where it was free

We will return to this Hotel in the future

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I thought this hotel was very nice, for those that like to enjoy the old-fashioned amenities of a hotel: doorman, valet whistling down a cab, rooftop restaurant, thick walls and doors. For instance, I was right outside the elevator on my floor, which I thought would be a disaster, since the hotel was fully booked, but I never heard it during the time I was there.

Keep in mind the other things that come with an older hotel, though: small elevators, creaky floors and doors, lack of water pressure, outlets coming out of the wall. They also still charge for internet, which was slow and disappointing.

Room Tip: Higher the better - you are on Nob Hill after all, and it provides some dramatic views of SF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful building and view. Large, clean, comfortable room. Lovely breakfast. Service was hit or miss: the concierge (older woman with accent) was downright rude. She knew very little about San Francisco, and sighed loudly when I asked her questions about restaurants. She did her best to get rid of us as quickly as possible. Also, our waiter at The Top, was not very good. The rest of the staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Firstly the Mark Hopkins is a beautiful building in a great location. Over a 5 night stay 90% of the service I encountered was superb as you would expect. However there were a couple of occasions with the chaps out front and at reception/concierge where the service was brisk and dismissive. I felt a bit judged as maybe they are used to certain guests. The room on the 12th floor had a nice view. In some places the decor is a little worn. It was great to walk out of the hotel and onto the cable car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

OK I am biased towards IHG properties. Now that the truth is out, let me say that the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins is a better value than the competitor right across the street. Like me I realize that many people are partial to a particular brand of hotel. However, $ to $ the Mark Hopkins provides a tasteful elegance, whether your purpose is business or leisure. The property was clean and quiet. The rooms - the same. Furthermore, its location is right in the heart of it. From here you are not far from anything San Fran has to offer. My suggestion is give it a try to be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.